nVidia 8600 GTS and 8600 GT - Foxconn and XFX

The Cards - XFX 8600 GTS

XFX 8600GTS "XXX" Edition

XFX have again sent us one of their impressive XXX Edition cards to take a look at. With higher clocks and faster memory this card should be a good performer.

A reminder of how these card stack up:

 XFX "XXX" 8600 GTS
Foxconn 8600 GTSReference 8600 GT XFX 8600 GT
Stream Processors 32 32 32 32
Core Clock (MHz)
730
675 540 620
Shader Clock (MHz)
1595 1450 1130 1355
Memory Clock (MHz) 1130
1000 700 800
Memory Amount 256 GDDR3
256 GDDR3 256mb GDDR3
256mb GDDR3
Memory Interface 128-bit 128-bit 128-bit 128-bit
Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) 32 32 22.4 22.4
Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) 10.8 10.8 8.6 8.6

Packaging

XFX have again gone with the white box portraying their familiar branded Cyberdog on the front. This should stand out on the shelves, especially when coupled with the signature lime green as well.

xfx 8600 gts box xfx 8600 gts box 2

The card is in a plastic see-through moulded covering in the box which should keep it pretty safe during transit.

xfx 8600 gts packaging

Package

The package with the 8600 GTS includes:

* Driver CD
* Manual
* Molex to PCI-e 6 Pin power adapter
* DVI yo VGA adapter
* S-Video to S-Video Cable
* Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter Full Game DVD

xfx 8600 gts package

All in all a pretty decent package for a mid-range card. G.R.A.W. isn't the very best title but it's certainly worth a play with and it's pretty intense and fairly involving, so that's a pretty good deal.

The Card

The card itself is actually pretty small and surprises you when you're used to dealing with the behemoth's that are the top-end of the GPU scale. The 8600 GTS is about the same length as a 6600 GT and is certainly a good size for every normal size PC case and would also do well in an HTPC.

xfx 8800gts card top xfx 8600 gts rear card

XFX have retained their white branding and added a couple of dog-tags for this card. Notice almost all the capacitors on board are solid-state and high-quality parts used throughout the card. The cooler is a single slot affair and I'll give you my impressions of it below. The PCB is green which I was slightly disappointed about as XFX's cards usually stand out by having a black PCB.

Update - Feedback from XFX

"The Stability Board is designed to stop card flexing in transit, and as a result, GPUs popping from the PCB. This is of particular benefit to gamers in general and protects any flex on the board in transit. This is actually an added feature and a benefit to the consumer."

Fair enough - I'm confident this is a benefit to the consumer anyway.

xfx 8600 gts side xfx 8600 gts power

XFX have chosen to add a retention mechanism on the 8600GTS and this is a good thing. I did, however, have some issues with it getting caught on the backplate of the case I used (Silverstone TJ09) so it wasn't all good. Still, this brings a nice touch to the card and for those with a window you can boast having an XFX in your system.

Power is supplied from a 6-Pin PCI-e power connector situated in the normal place making it easy to route to.

dvi ports xfx 8600 gts

The 8600 GTS supports Dual Link DVI - digital output up to 2560x1600. This is also dual HCDP compliant for those of you with plenty of money wanting to hook up two HDMI displays to the card.

Specification

* Game Bundle
GRAW

* Clock rate
730 MHz

* Dual Link DVI - Supporting digital output up to 2560x1600
Dual

* Highlighted Features
HDCP Ready , RoHS , TV Out , SLI ready , HDTV ready , Dual DVI Out

* Chipset
GeForce 8600 GTS

* RAMDACs
400 MHz

* Stream Processors
32

* Shader Clock
1450 MHz

* Memory Clock
2.26 GHz

* Memory
256 MB

* Bus Type
PCI-E

* Memory Type
DDR3

* Memory Bus
128 bit

* Memory Interface
128 bit

* Memory Bandwidth
32 GB/sec

* Fill Rate
10.8 billion/sec


The Cooler

As usual XFX have dressed the stock nVidia cooler up for their 8600 GTS XXX Edition but that's not all a bad thing. The plus point of this cooler is that it does keep the card very cool. Idle temperatures were recorded at 54°C and loading up to 74°C (ambient ~ 21.3°C).

xfx 8600 gts cooler xfx 8600 gts xxx edition cooler

The sound coming off of the card isn't too bad. It's generally pretty quiet but be warned it can get a little whiney when fully spun up. That being said, it's nothing on some of the coolers I've lived with in the past, and certainly has nothing on the X1800 series.

Now onto the Foxconn...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-05-2007, 07:44:42

FarFarAway
We take a hard look at the performance of the new 8600 cards. Two from XFX and one from Foxconn.

Have a read

18-05-2007, 07:52:23

FragTek
Nice roundup Kemp, good show.

18-05-2007, 08:00:17

ionicle
looks cool, i just wish XFX had done the same with the GTS as the GT, the black PCB does look damn nice

18-05-2007, 08:06:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
looks cool, i just wish XFX had done the same with the GTS as the GT, the black PCB does look damn nice
Agreed. And I'm quire fond of the DVI connectors too

18-05-2007, 08:06:18

FarFarAway
Agreed, it really makes the card feel a little bit more special.

However at a £100 price-point you can't complain about the 8600 GT

18-05-2007, 08:20:05

ExtremeBlizzard
Ye the Black does make it look good maybe in future they will make more cards that use different colours:rotfl: :rotfl:

18-05-2007, 12:36:34

Toxcity
Amazing review! Really good read!

They are very nice cards.. darn small!

18-05-2007, 15:40:09

Rastalovich

An XP driver bringing these capabilities is currently being developed by nVidia.



A certain teacher peering over my shoulder asks if this should read Vista ?

An excellent pov of the midrange cards imo, great point about the performance per $$$ too. Scope for self improvement varying too.

I can see me buying some of these for people, and to be fair based on the review I wouldn`t necessarilly buy the same card for all of them

18-05-2007, 16:00:14

WC Annihilus

Also included is full hardware decoding of H.264 video as well as VC-1 content. I could not test this in this review as I am using Windows XP Professional for the tests and not Vista. An XP driver bringing these capabilities is currently being developed by nVidia.



Nope Trust me, I went through this thing for about an hour

18-05-2007, 16:04:48

Rastalovich
Haha nice1, she won`t like that

EDIT: edited

18-05-2007, 16:06:06

WC Annihilus
For one thing, I think that should be he For another, he asked me to do so (well, look through it anyways)

18-05-2007, 16:12:36

Rastalovich
Meh I`m turning the lappy off, if she wants to post she can get her own freakin account!

18-05-2007, 16:36:36

FarFarAway
Yes thanks to WC who managed to take over an hour reading through and checking the review at 1AM this morning!! Honestly I like my sleep

No really cheers mate

Hope you guys liked the read

18-05-2007, 17:03:11

TJS
I don't know what ATI is doing but nVidia is about to eat into a big portion of their pie. If those prices equate to about $100 to $150 they really are good bang for the buck. That said, I myself wouldn't settle for less than a 8800GTS 320MB, seems like the best card out there for the money; 8600 cards do get a lot chopped off, so while the price is agreeable to the performance it may be a bit too little for a gamer to accept.

TJS

18-05-2007, 17:22:14

ali_james
Nice reviews there

The only thing I don't get is if they really are worth buying? Going from say a 6800gs card and up to 150quid to spend, is it worth going for a 7900ish or 8600gts or even a 8800gts?

I know theres going to be no difinative answer for that, as either card is a big step over my current one. Any thoughts?

Cheers

18-05-2007, 17:27:24

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yes thanks to WC who managed to take over an hour reading through and checking the review at 1AM this morning!! Honestly I like my sleep

No really cheers mate

Hope you guys liked the read
Haha, well you knew what you were getting into when you asked me

18-05-2007, 17:43:05

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ali_james'
Nice reviews there

The only thing I don't get is if they really are worth buying? Going from say a 6800gs card and up to 150quid to spend, is it worth going for a 7900ish or 8600gts or even a 8800gts?

I know theres going to be no difinative answer for that, as either card is a big step over my current one. Any thoughts?

Cheers
DX10 and similar performance to a 7900GT @ 100ish quid? Not too bad imo

18-05-2007, 18:22:20

Rastalovich
What I find interesting, pricewize, is that these cards are hitting the scene @.. well I`ve just had a quick look-see and u can get an MSI 8600 something for £90, up to an XFX XT £150.

Now each step-up in price seems to co-incide with a big of a clock step-up as standard to the cards, and around midway ~£120 - are cards that u could probably pur-chase and clock much better than the more expensive ones.

But - think again - EXPENSIVE, we`re only talking about £30.

It seems to me that market-wize they`re making these cards for a spread of purchasers that would like to say their card is `overclocked` (although straight out of the plastic, but it sounds good) ; overclockers who will buy a kinda midrange and do the rest themselves ; and of course the cheapest I can find section.

What supprizes me most tho is that on release the prices are as low as they are. AND u can see 8800s coming down... is a G90 based card that close ? or are they really trying to spank ATi ?

I`m sorry, but I only see 3 choices of card for machines I may build:

1) heavy gameplayer - 8800

2) likes games, plays quite a bit, nothing intense - on the net alot - 8600

3) desktop - cheapo or onboard tbh. but £90... 8600 over an 8500 ??

Havent even given ATi a thought ??!?

19-05-2007, 11:39:08

youpla
I bought the XFX 8600GTS standard version clocked at 675MHz and it is a big improvement for playing games in 1280x1024 compared to my previous 7800GT.

You can OC the XFX 8600GTS very easily at the same clock as the XXX version 730MHz and even push the GPU up to 775MHz (similar OC Kemp did to the XXX version in the review), thus you can save some bucks on the purchase.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.