Nvidia 7900 GT and GTX Card Mini Roundup Review

Club 3d 7900GTX 512mb

Meet the Club3d 7900GTX

We have decided to include the Club3d 7900GTX 512mb as it is at a very close price-point to the two 7900GT's that are in our review.

Specs:

GPU: 7900GTX
GPU Speed: 650MHz NVIDIA® G71 GPU
Memory Speed: 1600MHz 256BIT memory
Memory: 512MB GDDR3 memory
RAM: 400MHz RAMDAC
Pipelines: 24 DirectX® 9.0 pixel-pipelines
Special Features: Dual DVI, Dual Link DVI, SLI Ready
1 x Club3d Case Badge Sticker

Packaging

Club 3d have gone for a very basic looking packaging. I do not count this necessarily as a bad thing in all honesty. The card is wrapped up safe and secure and I can't see it getting broken so that's the main thing.

Clib3d 7900gtx 512mb


The Package

Club3d 7900gtx 512mb


You get:

Quick Start Guide
Nvidia Driver CD and Card Manual
WWF Panda Junior in Africa
PowerPack (Power DVD Pack with PowerDVD 5, Power Director, Power Producer and MediaShow)
Colin McRae Ralley 2005
2 x DVI-VGA Convertors
1 x Multiformat Breakout-Box with Dual S-Video, Component Video and Composite Video out
1 x Dual Molex to PCI-E Power dongle

First impressions

I've had a 512mb 7800GTX with this cooler before and it never fails to impress me if I'm honest. The Cooler is huge and has 4 heatpipes for heat dispersion. Its quite with a large cooling fan and it's almost the quietest thing in my test setup. This is the standard 7900GTX cooler but Club3d have stuck some branding onto the card.

Club3d 7900GTX 512mb


Club3d 7900GTX 512mb


Club3d 7900GTX 512mb


Dual DVI out and S-Video once again

Club3d 7900gtx 512mb

Same as the previous two cards - quick installation and a quick start guide is there for those who do not know how to install the card which, again, is a nice touch.

Club3d 7900GTX 512mb

As you can see this card is certainly a dual slot cooled card. No doubt about it.

Noise

This card is barely audible above a performance system and I would suggest that a quiet enthusiast would put up with it quite easily as the fan is very quite. Definately a bonus above the coolers seen on the previous cards.

Club3d 7900gtx 512mb

Once again even with the good OC I got on this card temperatures didn't rise very high with 70°C being the peak that I saw. The cooler is very efficient and you will not need to get an aftermarket cooler at all.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-05-2006, 07:17:01

FarFarAway
We take a look at a couple of nvida's high-end cards

Click Here for the goodness

20-05-2006, 07:27:48

Hyper
Excellent Review Kemp, keep it up

Sam

20-05-2006, 07:42:45

dave87
Yup, nice work

20-05-2006, 07:47:16

MonkeyMeow
Lovely, now i'm dying for my Asus 7900 512MB GTX

20-05-2006, 08:26:24

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MonkeyMeow'
Lovely, now i'm dying for my Asus 7900 512MB GTX
Yep anyone wanting a new card - those are 300ish if you use the SpecialTech Offer

20-05-2006, 08:41:02

limqareb
the problem of the gainward is the same i have on my 7800 so that happend after i overclocked it and i think i f**ked the ram, btw great review all the text must have taken you ages to write

20-05-2006, 09:33:00

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
the problem of the gainward is the same i have on my 7800 so that happend after i overclocked it and i think i f**ked the ram, btw great review all the text must have taken you ages to write
Yep the review took a while

Thanks guys - glad you like it

20-05-2006, 13:20:27

Eguy
Nice job as always kemp, I just got a XFX 7900GT for a customer, they are very pleased with it

20-05-2006, 19:46:45

PV5150
Awesome review mate

21-05-2006, 10:27:56

twisted5
Nice review Kemp One question...did you notice any kind of high pitch whine coming from any of the cards at any time? There is a thread going over at XS about this and apparently there are some cards that have an IC that gets VERY hot and starts to whine. The thread can be found HERE. Anyone else with a 7900 series card noticed this? It took a little listening to find it on mine since it is already loud in the room that my comp is in but it is there. I ended up just putting a memory heatsink on it and the 120mm fan in the side of my case takes care of the cooling on it.

21-05-2006, 11:44:54

FarFarAway
Hmm I have been noticing a loud pitched whine coming out of this one yes. didn't notice it during the review though

21-05-2006, 15:44:23

Ham
Just me or is there 2 page 6s? :s

And 10 and 11. May be my browzer...

21-05-2006, 16:11:51

Raven
Ham, your not alone

21-05-2006, 16:52:55

JN
Fixed, just Kemp accidentally re-submitting the same pages after checking them due to a PM from a spelling whore no doubt.

21-05-2006, 16:53:52

FarFarAway
We'll get it sorted. This is due to WC making me go through the entire review. If I submit a page without making changes another page

21-05-2006, 17:35:10

jiffz
I don't read loads of reviews on any site tbh, however I do think that is the best review/comparison I have read. I enjoy a good comparison and all cards are well described, analysed, well pictured with easy to follow results. It's all very well laid out and this must have taken a lot of time. Fair doos mate

21-05-2006, 17:42:11

FarFarAway
Thanks mate that's really appreciated. It did take up quite a fair amount of my spare time but hopefully it'll help out a few people who are wanting to make a decision on what to buy.

21-05-2006, 18:02:08

twisted5
Kemp: Could you look and see if you can find where the whining is coming from?

21-05-2006, 18:05:51

FarFarAway
I aint getting any right now plus i have to go to bed but I will do tomorrow mate ok

21-05-2006, 21:21:31

jiffz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kempez
Thanks mate that's really appreciated. It did take up quite a fair amount of my spare time but hopefully it'll help out a few people who are wanting to make a decision on what to buy.

I'd deffinately have that Club 3D one. Now it's just a case of finding the cash for one of 'em!!!

21-05-2006, 21:56:43

twisted5
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I aint getting any right now plus i have to go to bed but I will do tomorrow mate ok
I hope I didn't come across as wanting you to do it right then and there, just whenever you get a chance and remember it. I know both of my 7900GTX cards do it when transfering from 2d to 3d things and for awhile after that. It is actually starting to get kind of annoying now that I have noticed it.

22-05-2006, 05:22:22

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
We'll get it sorted. This is due to WC making me go through the entire review. If I submit a page without making changes another page
Yes, I do seem to have become the unofficial review checker. And I prolly bug the frick out of those 2 with it.

Anyways, nice review man

22-05-2006, 06:17:32

FragTek
Awesome, awesome review!

Good job Kemp!

14-06-2006, 05:39:03

FarFarAway
Please note that I have amended this review conclusion after discussion with Gainward.

Thanks

14-06-2006, 05:49:18

twisted5
What was changed? I didn't notice anything or did I just miss it?

EDIT: NM I found it...I am just blind

14-06-2006, 09:32:36

jmke
good review; solid testing method, I like it, thumbs up.

would have loved to see 7900GT 256Mb vs 512Mb shoot-out between XFX and Gainward with both memory/GPU speeds the same; interesting to see how they stack up.

guess that I'll have to check myself Sparkle 512Mb vs Club3D 256Mb
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.