Nvidia 7900 GT and GTX Card Mini Roundup Review

Gainward Bliss Golden Sample 7900GT 512mb

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 18/05/2006
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez)
Hardware Acquired: XFX, Gainward


Meet the Gainward Bliss


With a very long name - the Gainward Bliss Golden Sample 7900GT 512 starts off with something to live up to already.

Specs:

GPU: Geforce 7900GT
GPU Clockspeed: 550 MHz
Memory: 512MB 1,2ns DDR3
Memory Clockspeed: 1400 MHz
Pixels per clock (peak): 24
Bandwidth: 51,2 GB/s
Ramdac: 400 MHz
Bus: PCI-Express
Cooling: Fan (One-Slot)
Video-Features: Component, S-Video & Composite Out
Connectivity: Dvi + Dvi + Video-Out

Packaging

Gainward have done a nice job with the packaging on this card. It's in a huge box with their new cga female character. The card is packed up very well in its white box with a software package that is isn't too bad.

Gainward bliss 7900GT 512mb


Gainward Bliss 7900gt 512mb


The Package

Gainward Bliss 7900GT 512mb


You get:

Quick Start Guide
Driver CD
Expertool overclocking facility
User Manual (PDF on CD)Gainward Muvee auto producer Personal video application
Power DVD 5 Premier
Gainward "Free to Choose" Game voucher x 1 game
2 x DVI-VGA Adaptors
1 x Dual Molex to PCI-E Power Connector
1 x Video out connector with s-video, composite and component video out

The package is actually pretty decent although I would have preferred an AAA title to be in the box. Gainwards "Free to choose" game voucher gives a decent selection of games however, and I feel that this is a better solution than Sapphire's four-title selection offering.

First impressions

The first impressions that you get of the card is that it has the looks to be a performance card. Indeed - it almost looks like a top-spec ATI card. The cooler takes up two slots but I'm not sure if Gainward couldn't have made it take up just one instead.

Installation was easy as usual with graphics cards. The quick start guide is there for those who do not know how to install the card which is a nice touch.

Gainward installed


Above we have it installed in the test setup.

The Card

The card looks very much like an ATI card as I have mentioned above. I'm not so sure this is a good thing as I would have thought an nvidia card should look like an nvidia card. That aside, the card is very good looking.

Gainward Bliss 7900GT 512mb


The back of the card has a decent retention mechanism that looks pretty stable. This seems to keep the card in decent contact with the heatsink.



Gainward Bliss 7900GT 512mb


Nice Red DVI ports on the back...not that you'll look at them much but a nice touch

Gainward Bliss 7900GT 512mb


The side view of the X180......the 7900GT

Gainward Bliss 7900GT 512mb


Noise and Cooling

Before I start on noise I will say that I have not got an actual db rating measure in the test setup. The test setup is quite loud but I throttled all of the fans down to hear the cards whilst testing.

The card isn't as noisy as the stock 7900GT cooler. However I do wonder why Gainward didn't just put on a nice cooler like the stock 7900GTX cooler. That is one of the best stock coolers you can get for a GPU in my opinion. The cooler is not whiney like the one on the XFX but I could still hear it above the noise of my not-so-quiet test setup. Half a thumbs-up for noise

Gainward Bliss 7900GTX 512mb


The cooling on this card is good it has to be said. The 7900GT's do not run hot and even overclocked the highest temperature I recorded the cooler at was 70°C which isn't over the top.

All in all the cooler is good and for most people a replacement would not be needed.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-05-2006, 07:17:01

FarFarAway
We take a look at a couple of nvida's high-end cards

Click Here for the goodness

20-05-2006, 07:27:48

Hyper
Excellent Review Kemp, keep it up

Sam

20-05-2006, 07:42:45

dave87
Yup, nice work

20-05-2006, 07:47:16

MonkeyMeow
Lovely, now i'm dying for my Asus 7900 512MB GTX

20-05-2006, 08:26:24

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MonkeyMeow'
Lovely, now i'm dying for my Asus 7900 512MB GTX
Yep anyone wanting a new card - those are 300ish if you use the SpecialTech Offer

20-05-2006, 08:41:02

limqareb
the problem of the gainward is the same i have on my 7800 so that happend after i overclocked it and i think i f**ked the ram, btw great review all the text must have taken you ages to write

20-05-2006, 09:33:00

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
the problem of the gainward is the same i have on my 7800 so that happend after i overclocked it and i think i f**ked the ram, btw great review all the text must have taken you ages to write
Yep the review took a while

Thanks guys - glad you like it

20-05-2006, 13:20:27

Eguy
Nice job as always kemp, I just got a XFX 7900GT for a customer, they are very pleased with it

20-05-2006, 19:46:45

PV5150
Awesome review mate

21-05-2006, 10:27:56

twisted5
Nice review Kemp One question...did you notice any kind of high pitch whine coming from any of the cards at any time? There is a thread going over at XS about this and apparently there are some cards that have an IC that gets VERY hot and starts to whine. The thread can be found HERE. Anyone else with a 7900 series card noticed this? It took a little listening to find it on mine since it is already loud in the room that my comp is in but it is there. I ended up just putting a memory heatsink on it and the 120mm fan in the side of my case takes care of the cooling on it.

21-05-2006, 11:44:54

FarFarAway
Hmm I have been noticing a loud pitched whine coming out of this one yes. didn't notice it during the review though

21-05-2006, 15:44:23

Ham
Just me or is there 2 page 6s? :s

And 10 and 11. May be my browzer...

21-05-2006, 16:11:51

Raven
Ham, your not alone

21-05-2006, 16:52:55

JN
Fixed, just Kemp accidentally re-submitting the same pages after checking them due to a PM from a spelling whore no doubt.

21-05-2006, 16:53:52

FarFarAway
We'll get it sorted. This is due to WC making me go through the entire review. If I submit a page without making changes another page

21-05-2006, 17:35:10

jiffz
I don't read loads of reviews on any site tbh, however I do think that is the best review/comparison I have read. I enjoy a good comparison and all cards are well described, analysed, well pictured with easy to follow results. It's all very well laid out and this must have taken a lot of time. Fair doos mate

21-05-2006, 17:42:11

FarFarAway
Thanks mate that's really appreciated. It did take up quite a fair amount of my spare time but hopefully it'll help out a few people who are wanting to make a decision on what to buy.

21-05-2006, 18:02:08

twisted5
Kemp: Could you look and see if you can find where the whining is coming from?

21-05-2006, 18:05:51

FarFarAway
I aint getting any right now plus i have to go to bed but I will do tomorrow mate ok

21-05-2006, 21:21:31

jiffz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kempez
Thanks mate that's really appreciated. It did take up quite a fair amount of my spare time but hopefully it'll help out a few people who are wanting to make a decision on what to buy.

I'd deffinately have that Club 3D one. Now it's just a case of finding the cash for one of 'em!!!

21-05-2006, 21:56:43

twisted5
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
I aint getting any right now plus i have to go to bed but I will do tomorrow mate ok
I hope I didn't come across as wanting you to do it right then and there, just whenever you get a chance and remember it. I know both of my 7900GTX cards do it when transfering from 2d to 3d things and for awhile after that. It is actually starting to get kind of annoying now that I have noticed it.

22-05-2006, 05:22:22

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
We'll get it sorted. This is due to WC making me go through the entire review. If I submit a page without making changes another page
Yes, I do seem to have become the unofficial review checker. And I prolly bug the frick out of those 2 with it.

Anyways, nice review man

22-05-2006, 06:17:32

FragTek
Awesome, awesome review!

Good job Kemp!

14-06-2006, 05:39:03

FarFarAway
Please note that I have amended this review conclusion after discussion with Gainward.

Thanks

14-06-2006, 05:49:18

twisted5
What was changed? I didn't notice anything or did I just miss it?

EDIT: NM I found it...I am just blind

14-06-2006, 09:32:36

jmke
good review; solid testing method, I like it, thumbs up.

would have loved to see 7900GT 256Mb vs 512Mb shoot-out between XFX and Gainward with both memory/GPU speeds the same; interesting to see how they stack up.

guess that I'll have to check myself Sparkle 512Mb vs Club3D 256Mb
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.