MSI HD5770 HAWK

NFS Shift and Dirt 2

MSI HD5770 HAWK

Benchmarks continued

From the dusty jungles and urban streets, to race tracks and mud.

NFS Shift

Need for Speed Shift is a graphically sumptuous game that, like all racing games, really needs a rock solid frame-rate to make it playable.

With our settings maximised there is no doubt that it looks stunning, but there is equally no doubt that we can't quite hit the steady frame-rate we need. Thankfully we only have to be slightly more realistic with our AA settings to get the overclocked Hawk past 60FPS, but this isn't a test of playable settings, rather pure performance.


Dirt 2

Codemasters Dirt 2 is always a bit of a frustrating game to benchmark. It gives good performance on lower cards and remains playable even at seemingly low framerates. But it also doesn't respond well to clock speed changes as well as many games, and instead rewards architectural adjustments. Therefore despite the healthy overclock the Hawk is capable of, it's not really a help.

Let's wrap this up.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-04-2010, 05:34:52

tinytomlogan
Youve seen the crossfire review, now we take a look at MSI's flagship Hawk 5770.

Continue Reading

02-04-2010, 06:23:00

Diablo
Great review. Amazing overclock on that card, and stil pretty cool. Definitetely the best value card on the block and that heatsink and caps are definitely worth the price hike for that level of overclock...I remember buying processors that had lower clock speeds.

02-04-2010, 09:27:20

ppuff
Killer review of a killer card. Seeing this baby in action makes me drool and getting to see 2 in crossfire would make me ...... Anyway, it looks like a win for MSI and now the 5770 cards have a new master.

02-04-2010, 13:07:30

cl0ck_ed
1050 core!! Well done. Looks a good price for the card. Really like what MSI is doing with all these overclocking cards. That seem to be reasonably priced aswell compared to other manufactures. Nice review...

02-04-2010, 13:14:39

Diablo
The 5000 series as a whole seem very good for ocing, especially the 5770s. Absolute gem of a card. Nvidia really can't bring much to this match at this price point. Closest thing would be a 250GTS or a cheap 260GTX I guess, either way they are totally outclassed.

02-04-2010, 13:21:14

Msm2
Do I upgrade my two HD4850s for two of these!!!!! Really tempted after reading the review.

02-04-2010, 14:03:29

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
Do I upgrade my two HD4850s for two of these!!!!! Really tempted after reading the review.
IMO, these or reference hd5770 in crossfire in the best bang for buck setup atm. Imagine 1050core in xfire would be awesome!!

15-12-2010, 11:38:37

Mr Muggles
This is my card. Any suggestion on overclocking as I can't see any numbers here for a safe OC.

ta
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.