MSI HD5770 HAWK

The Twin Frozr

MSI HD5770 HAWK

The MSI Hawk

There is no doubting the inspiration on the box, with a frontal view of the F117-A Nighthawk, more commonly called the Stealth Fighter, clearly visible. As a plane nerd I'll ignore the name change and the fact that the card bears absolutely no resemblance at all in either design or colour to anything with stealth technology.

MSI HD5770 HAWK     MSI HD5770 HAWK  

Here we get out look at the Twin Frozr itself. A serious piece of cooling kit with big heatpipes and two large fans.

MSI HD5770 HAWK     MSI HD5770 HAWK  

Here is a much closer look at this Jessica Simpson of the heatpipe world, being both really thick and really easy on the eye. The only issue we have from the looks is the old problem of the heat in non-reference designs not being exhausted out the rear as we'd prefer.

MSI HD5770 HAWK     MSI HD5770 HAWK  

There is no denying it's a big chunk of heatsink and the large twin fan design should keep things cool as well as quiet. Although the ATI designs have moved on from the noise of old, the quieter the better as far as we're concerned.

MSI HD5770 HAWK     MSI HD5770 HAWK

Next, details of our rig and we'll see if this MSI Hawk does give us the extra oomph.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-04-2010, 05:34:52

tinytomlogan
Youve seen the crossfire review, now we take a look at MSI's flagship Hawk 5770.

Continue Reading

02-04-2010, 06:23:00

Diablo
Great review. Amazing overclock on that card, and stil pretty cool. Definitetely the best value card on the block and that heatsink and caps are definitely worth the price hike for that level of overclock...I remember buying processors that had lower clock speeds.

02-04-2010, 09:27:20

ppuff
Killer review of a killer card. Seeing this baby in action makes me drool and getting to see 2 in crossfire would make me ...... Anyway, it looks like a win for MSI and now the 5770 cards have a new master.

02-04-2010, 13:07:30

cl0ck_ed
1050 core!! Well done. Looks a good price for the card. Really like what MSI is doing with all these overclocking cards. That seem to be reasonably priced aswell compared to other manufactures. Nice review...

02-04-2010, 13:14:39

Diablo
The 5000 series as a whole seem very good for ocing, especially the 5770s. Absolute gem of a card. Nvidia really can't bring much to this match at this price point. Closest thing would be a 250GTS or a cheap 260GTX I guess, either way they are totally outclassed.

02-04-2010, 13:21:14

Msm2
Do I upgrade my two HD4850s for two of these!!!!! Really tempted after reading the review.

02-04-2010, 14:03:29

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Msm2'
Do I upgrade my two HD4850s for two of these!!!!! Really tempted after reading the review.
IMO, these or reference hd5770 in crossfire in the best bang for buck setup atm. Imagine 1050core in xfire would be awesome!!

15-12-2010, 11:38:37

Mr Muggles
This is my card. Any suggestion on overclocking as I can't see any numbers here for a safe OC.

ta
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.