MSI GTX780 Gaming Review

3D Mark 11

MSI GTX780 Gaming Review

3D Mark 11

As a single GPU the MSI Gaming is a beast. The difference the overclock makes is enormous and really seems to free the potential. 500 points in the P score and 300 points in the Extreme preset are the difference between the MSI and the Gigabyte Windforce. Given that a Titan got 14000 and 5000, the 14679 and 5431 of the MSI Gaming really shine.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-07-2013, 07:25:20

tinytomlogan
Today we review the MSI GTX780 Twin Frozr Gaming, a card that perfectly matches their Gaming range of motherboards. Is it any good?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...091148103l.JPG


Continue Reading

26-07-2013, 07:39:46

SieB
Yep, the Titan sure is worth that extra 300

Awesome card from MSI as usual, if this is what the normal OC version performs like I can't wait to see the lightning.

26-07-2013, 08:39:29

antihero
Quote:
It would be impossible not to recommend it as it's the best GTX780 around at the moment.
Performance-wise, this isn't the best 780 at the moment. The Classified scored 1891 points higher in FireStrike when overclocked on air. EVGA claims it was a retail card. However, it still might have been cherry-picked.

26-07-2013, 11:23:47

SHAD3Z
I'd still stick with a windforce any day. But if I were to get an MSI Gaming Board I would definitely get one or two of these!

26-07-2013, 11:35:41

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by antihero View Post
Performance-wise, this isn't the best 780 at the moment. The Classified scored 1891 points higher in FireStrike when overclocked on air. EVGA claims it was a retail card. However, it still might have been cherry-picked.
For reviews i always assume cherry picked cards. Nonetheless great review

26-07-2013, 12:59:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by antihero View Post
Performance-wise, this isn't the best 780 at the moment. The Classified scored 1891 points higher in FireStrike when overclocked on air. EVGA claims it was a retail card. However, it still might have been cherry-picked.
That we have tested doofus. If you want to listen to manu's then why read our reviews.

26-07-2013, 13:03:48

Spiderz
Still not a massive fan of the styling of the Msi gaming gear but you can't exactly argue with the performance of them. Another good review TTL

26-07-2013, 17:26:28

GoogalyMoogaly
I'm sure my post in this thread got removed. Not sure why.

I'm sure Tom said EVGA always use reference coolers and I linked to an EVGA ACX card. Not quite sure why that post needed removing (and Tom's post was edited to remove the comment).
Did I miss a forum rule regarding pointing out mistakes? (I maybe could've done it less sarcastically, but was trying to be helpful)

26-07-2013, 17:45:45

antihero
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoogalyMoogaly View Post
I'm sure my post in this thread got removed. Not sure why.

I'm sure Tom said EVGA always use reference coolers and I linked to an EVGA ACX card. Not quite sure why that post needed removing (and Tom's post was edited to remove the comment).
Did I miss a forum rule regarding pointing out mistakes? (I maybe could've done it less sarcastically, but was trying to be helpful)
I always seem to break the "don't correct Tom on anything or give feedback" rule whenever I point something out that I actually read in the review.

26-07-2013, 19:44:42

NeverBackDown
Guys this is a review page. Please leave it posts related to the review. Customers are more apt to not come back to the website if people are arguing in the comment section below a review. Please keep it postitive, thanks

27-07-2013, 02:37:07

kittysniper
Great card extremely good value compared to gtx titan, but im just not sure about the price compared to 7970, you can buy 2 7970 with that price tag(granted amd has xfire driver issue), hopefully amd will put out new drivers along with 8970 cards so I can steal a pair of these cheaply

27-07-2013, 12:47:43

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittysniper View Post
Great card extremely good value compared to gtx titan, but im just not sure about the price compared to 7970, you can buy 2 7970 with that price tag(granted amd has xfire driver issue), hopefully amd will put out new drivers along with 8970 cards so I can steal a pair of these cheaply
The drivers that fix the problem are already out and have fixed it to an extent. New ones should come out by end of this month. But i would still take a 780 over 2 7970s just for resale value and i can always sli the 780 later.

27-07-2013, 14:39:28

MiNo
I'm looking for a 780 with aftermarket cooler (for the nice OC) but I'm not willing to dump 250 watt inside the case. With the vertical cooling fins, perhaps this card actually manages to dump some heat outside.

Will the testers venture a estimate on how much heat goes outside?

27-07-2013, 15:56:16

Vlada011
I will start to bite soon if friends not came from USA soon with my 780.
Because they need to back on work and I think last date is about 20 Avgust.
I will crazy completely but I 'm happy always when I buy exactly model I want.
Some 780, or some 780 with good cooling for me is nothing.
Other models are close to me but not interesting at all.

29-07-2013, 13:55:38

Kaapstad
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post
Yep, the Titan sure is worth that extra 300

Awesome card from MSI as usual, if this is what the normal OC version performs like I can't wait to see the lightning.
I will find out next month when the lightning hits the shelves, I will be getting a pair of lightnings and overvolting them. Then I will see how they go against the Titans.

29-07-2013, 14:12:51

AverageNinja
This card looks neat! Thanks for posting Tom!

22-08-2013, 10:15:38

Ya93sin
Looks good, those Twin Frozr coolers are very effective.

I wish they put the power cable socket on the short side of the card though, I think it would help for the cable management

10-10-2013, 08:04:52

murphy7801
Does anyone know if this is a reference PCB or not?

10-10-2013, 08:16:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post
Does anyone know if this is a reference PCB or not?
Yes matey it is, the only ones they do that are not are the Lightnings

10-10-2013, 12:38:57

murphy7801
Thank you . Though still tempted by a couple of lightings but waterblocks from EK seem to be taking an age.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.