MSI GTX780 Gaming Review

Conclusion

MSI GTX780 Gaming Review

Conclusion

When you're at the high end of hardware the differences between each model or choice become a case of knowing exactly the features that are important to you and making your decision based upon which satisfies those demands the best.

As you can see from our testing, the MSI GTX780 Gaming has a hell of a lot going for it and was, more often than not, the ultimate performer when it comes to single GPU overclocked benchmarks. So what are the pros and cons then?

Looks are, of course, subjective. One persons hideous abomination is another's aesthetic triumph. How else do we explain those couples we see where it's clear who is slumming it and who has risen above their own level of beauty. We have to say that we very much like the MSI Gaming. It isn't solely a slave to function, and has just enough design touches to make it a pleasant thing to gaze upon. Of course the design is, to some degree, reliant upon the design of the Gaming Motherboards from MSI, but taking its design cue from the best looking 'board on the market isn't a bad thing.

Out of the box performance is very good. It's worth noting that the Gigabyte Windforce did just edge the MSI by a couple of frames in those tests in which a difference could be seen, so if you're very much a plug and forget type gamer then you might, just, be better off with the Gigabyte. Although of course either of them will provide an exceptional experience. Overclocking definitely favours the MSI. Quite often it gave us the highest result we've ever seen from a single GPU solution. The effort required to make the most of the MSI GTX780 Gaming is small, but you unquestionably reap the rewards. The 3D Mark scores were particularly responsive to our overclock and broke new ground in places.

Cooling is very good. By using just two fans, compared to the three of the Windforce, it's not a surprise to see a couple of degrees difference under extreme loading. However, nearly any choice of third party cooler will be better than the reference model and the Twin Frozr is as good as it's ever been here. The most stunning part is the silence. Using auto fans we never saw it spin above 56%, and you'd need to pass 70% before you could hear it, even with no other noise. So it's safe to say that the MSI Gaming will satisfy even the most noise-phobic user.

There is one feature that we couldn't test and that was the software which, when combining the GTX780 Gaming with a MSI Gaming motherboard should enable you to overclock, or power save, your entire system in a single click. We can't recommend the card based upon this because we haven't been able to test it, but if it proves as good as it should be then it might be the edge that tips the balance.

In summary the MSI GTX780 Gaming is an exceptional card, brutally fast, easy to overclock, quiet, looks great and the results back up the paper performance. It would be impossible not to recommend it as it's the best GTX780 around at the moment. For that reason alone it wins the OC3D Gold Award.

    

Thanks to MSI for supplying the GTX780 Gaming for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-07-2013, 07:25:20

tinytomlogan
Today we review the MSI GTX780 Twin Frozr Gaming, a card that perfectly matches their Gaming range of motherboards. Is it any good?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...091148103l.JPG


Continue Reading

26-07-2013, 07:39:46

SieB
Yep, the Titan sure is worth that extra 300

Awesome card from MSI as usual, if this is what the normal OC version performs like I can't wait to see the lightning.

26-07-2013, 08:39:29

antihero
Quote:
It would be impossible not to recommend it as it's the best GTX780 around at the moment.
Performance-wise, this isn't the best 780 at the moment. The Classified scored 1891 points higher in FireStrike when overclocked on air. EVGA claims it was a retail card. However, it still might have been cherry-picked.

26-07-2013, 11:23:47

SHAD3Z
I'd still stick with a windforce any day. But if I were to get an MSI Gaming Board I would definitely get one or two of these!

26-07-2013, 11:35:41

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by antihero View Post
Performance-wise, this isn't the best 780 at the moment. The Classified scored 1891 points higher in FireStrike when overclocked on air. EVGA claims it was a retail card. However, it still might have been cherry-picked.
For reviews i always assume cherry picked cards. Nonetheless great review

26-07-2013, 12:59:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by antihero View Post
Performance-wise, this isn't the best 780 at the moment. The Classified scored 1891 points higher in FireStrike when overclocked on air. EVGA claims it was a retail card. However, it still might have been cherry-picked.
That we have tested doofus. If you want to listen to manu's then why read our reviews.

26-07-2013, 13:03:48

Spiderz
Still not a massive fan of the styling of the Msi gaming gear but you can't exactly argue with the performance of them. Another good review TTL

26-07-2013, 17:26:28

GoogalyMoogaly
I'm sure my post in this thread got removed. Not sure why.

I'm sure Tom said EVGA always use reference coolers and I linked to an EVGA ACX card. Not quite sure why that post needed removing (and Tom's post was edited to remove the comment).
Did I miss a forum rule regarding pointing out mistakes? (I maybe could've done it less sarcastically, but was trying to be helpful)

26-07-2013, 17:45:45

antihero
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoogalyMoogaly View Post
I'm sure my post in this thread got removed. Not sure why.

I'm sure Tom said EVGA always use reference coolers and I linked to an EVGA ACX card. Not quite sure why that post needed removing (and Tom's post was edited to remove the comment).
Did I miss a forum rule regarding pointing out mistakes? (I maybe could've done it less sarcastically, but was trying to be helpful)
I always seem to break the "don't correct Tom on anything or give feedback" rule whenever I point something out that I actually read in the review.

26-07-2013, 19:44:42

NeverBackDown
Guys this is a review page. Please leave it posts related to the review. Customers are more apt to not come back to the website if people are arguing in the comment section below a review. Please keep it postitive, thanks

27-07-2013, 02:37:07

kittysniper
Great card extremely good value compared to gtx titan, but im just not sure about the price compared to 7970, you can buy 2 7970 with that price tag(granted amd has xfire driver issue), hopefully amd will put out new drivers along with 8970 cards so I can steal a pair of these cheaply

27-07-2013, 12:47:43

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittysniper View Post
Great card extremely good value compared to gtx titan, but im just not sure about the price compared to 7970, you can buy 2 7970 with that price tag(granted amd has xfire driver issue), hopefully amd will put out new drivers along with 8970 cards so I can steal a pair of these cheaply
The drivers that fix the problem are already out and have fixed it to an extent. New ones should come out by end of this month. But i would still take a 780 over 2 7970s just for resale value and i can always sli the 780 later.

27-07-2013, 14:39:28

MiNo
I'm looking for a 780 with aftermarket cooler (for the nice OC) but I'm not willing to dump 250 watt inside the case. With the vertical cooling fins, perhaps this card actually manages to dump some heat outside.

Will the testers venture a estimate on how much heat goes outside?

27-07-2013, 15:56:16

Vlada011
I will start to bite soon if friends not came from USA soon with my 780.
Because they need to back on work and I think last date is about 20 Avgust.
I will crazy completely but I 'm happy always when I buy exactly model I want.
Some 780, or some 780 with good cooling for me is nothing.
Other models are close to me but not interesting at all.

29-07-2013, 13:55:38

Kaapstad
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post
Yep, the Titan sure is worth that extra 300

Awesome card from MSI as usual, if this is what the normal OC version performs like I can't wait to see the lightning.
I will find out next month when the lightning hits the shelves, I will be getting a pair of lightnings and overvolting them. Then I will see how they go against the Titans.

29-07-2013, 14:12:51

AverageNinja
This card looks neat! Thanks for posting Tom!

22-08-2013, 10:15:38

Ya93sin
Looks good, those Twin Frozr coolers are very effective.

I wish they put the power cable socket on the short side of the card though, I think it would help for the cable management

10-10-2013, 08:04:52

murphy7801
Does anyone know if this is a reference PCB or not?

10-10-2013, 08:16:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post
Does anyone know if this is a reference PCB or not?
Yes matey it is, the only ones they do that are not are the Lightnings

10-10-2013, 12:38:57

murphy7801
Thank you . Though still tempted by a couple of lightings but waterblocks from EK seem to be taking an age.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.