MSI GTX560Ti 448 Core Review

Up Close

MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review

Up Close

Considering that the big selling point of this remodelling of the successful GTX560Ti is the 448 Cores part, it's surprising to see it take up so little space on the box. We know that the 448 is a very limited run of cards, but if you've got to make new packaging for a product that is, at first glance, the same, then shout louder.

MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review     MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review  

Unlike the Gigabyte triple-fan arrangement the MSI Twin Frozr III cooler fits much more snugly to the 448, with no unsightly overhangs. We've often remarked how much we like this cooler when used on midrange cards and it has lost none of its charm.

MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review     MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review  

Whereas the Gigabyte is on a blue PCB, the MSI comes on a brown one. An odd colour choice we have to confess. We don't know many people who go "mmm brown".

MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review     MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review  

Further demonstrating the difference between the Gigabyte and MSI cards, the MSI still retains the two 6pin power arrangement, but only has an HDMI and two DVIs.

MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review     MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-11-2011, 08:59:13

tinytomlogan


The second of the two cards we have on test today is from MSI. How does it stack up against the Gigabyte?

Continue Reading

29-11-2011, 09:11:32

silenthill
just buy a 570, please tell me what is Nvidia doing these days

29-11-2011, 09:29:19

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

just buy a 570, please tell me what is Nvidia doing these days
That question needs to be directed at MSI and Gigabyte . Zotac have released a 560TI 448 as well.

29-11-2011, 09:35:43

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

That question needs to be directed at MSI and Gigabyte . Zotac have released a 560TI 448 as well.
Nvidia make the cards the different manufactures just buy them from Nvidia, slap an after market cooler on them and sometimes a custom PCB.

That question is definietly one for Nvidia.

29-11-2011, 09:39:54

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Nvidia make the cards the different manufactures just buy them from Nvidia, slap an after market cooler on them and sometimes a custom PCB.

That question is definietly one for Nvidia.
Ok . I just thought that the companies propose the ideas to Nvidia so they can make more money.

29-11-2011, 09:43:31

Lollipop
Why even bother? I mean jsut buy a 570 and you still get better performance.

29-11-2011, 09:50:11

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

Ok . I just thought that the companies propose the ideas to Nvidia so they can make more money.
Nvidia make the GPUs and make money from Gigabyte, MSI etc and they make their money from releasing different versions of the cards with their own custom PCB or cooler.

29-11-2011, 10:15:27

bladehawk
I know the video isn't up yet, so it might have the answer to my question but still.

just wanted to know why TTL just stopped at 800 Mhz cuz from what i saw on the hardwarecanucks review

they were able to get another 50-80 mhz on the default voltage and it was rock-stable, not to mention they said they could get up to 925Mhz with some tweaking ...

another lucky draw of the lottery?

29-11-2011, 10:43:28

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Nvidia make the GPUs and make money from Gigabyte, MSI etc and they make their money from releasing different versions of the cards with their own custom PCB or cooler.
Cool. Thanks for the clearing that up for me.

29-11-2011, 11:44:45

badtaylorx
im fairly sure that the marketing guys down at Nvidia wanted to avoid calling it a 565 like the plague.....think back to the gtx 465......you really want to be the successor to that P O S ???
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.