MSI GTX560Ti 448 Core Review

Conclusion

MSI GTX560Ti With 448 Cores Review

 

*SEE UPDATED TESTS AND CONCLUSION HERE*

 

Conclusion

If the gap between the stock GTX560Ti and the Gigabyte GTX560Ti 448 was small, then the gap between the MSI and the Gigabyte is even tinier. At points the two cards were separated by half a frame per second or less.

However there are a few key points that swing our choice of the two in favour of the MSI card.

Firstly the looks. The Gigabyte looks like a full-size cooler that has been bolted on to a much smaller PCB. The MSI on the other hand really gives off the aura that the Twin Frozr III cooler has been tailor made to fit perfect on the slightly larger PCB than the GTX560Ti.

Secondly is the cooling. With this MSI we've got a card that is clocked higher at default, clocked the same with our overclock, and has one less fan yet it's a whopping 11°C at stock, and 7°C when overclocked, cooler than the Gigabyte. Those are insane numbers. Not only is it much cooler, but it's quieter too and therefore much easier to live with on a daily basis.

Finally that little extra performance out of the box means the MSI is consistently topping the chart against its Gigabyte rival. Of course it's only by a smidgen here and there, although in some cases it's a little more than a smidgen, but if you're the kind of person who buys a card and just plugs it in, rather than risk your hard-earned with overclocking, then the MSI is clearly the better performing card.

When overclocking the results tend to be too close to call. There are gains and losses to be had from both cards, but none of them are particularly clear cut.

So, just like the Gigabyte, the MSI version of the GTX560Ti With 448 Cores is a card that answers a question nobody really asked, but still performs very well indeed. Although we're awarding it our OC3D Silver Award too, if it was our money on the table then we'd edge to the MSI for the extra performance from the mild factory overclock and those low low temperatures.

Since this review was first written the pricing information is now to hand and, rather than the £210 or so were expecting, the MSI GTX560Ti 448 is an eye-watering £250. This is far too expensive for what it delivers and into GTX570 territory. So if you're on a tight budget the GTX560Ti will serve you equally well and if you want the power the GTX570 is only a tiny bit more expensive. The MSI is still the pick of the two cards, but at these prices we'd buy neither.

*SEE UPDATED TESTS AND CONCLUSION HERE*

  

Thanks to MSI for supplying the GTX560Ti 448 for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-11-2011, 08:59:13

tinytomlogan


The second of the two cards we have on test today is from MSI. How does it stack up against the Gigabyte?

Continue Reading

29-11-2011, 09:11:32

silenthill
just buy a 570, please tell me what is Nvidia doing these days

29-11-2011, 09:29:19

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

just buy a 570, please tell me what is Nvidia doing these days
That question needs to be directed at MSI and Gigabyte . Zotac have released a 560TI 448 as well.

29-11-2011, 09:35:43

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

That question needs to be directed at MSI and Gigabyte . Zotac have released a 560TI 448 as well.
Nvidia make the cards the different manufactures just buy them from Nvidia, slap an after market cooler on them and sometimes a custom PCB.

That question is definietly one for Nvidia.

29-11-2011, 09:39:54

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Nvidia make the cards the different manufactures just buy them from Nvidia, slap an after market cooler on them and sometimes a custom PCB.

That question is definietly one for Nvidia.
Ok . I just thought that the companies propose the ideas to Nvidia so they can make more money.

29-11-2011, 09:43:31

Lollipop
Why even bother? I mean jsut buy a 570 and you still get better performance.

29-11-2011, 09:50:11

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

Ok . I just thought that the companies propose the ideas to Nvidia so they can make more money.
Nvidia make the GPUs and make money from Gigabyte, MSI etc and they make their money from releasing different versions of the cards with their own custom PCB or cooler.

29-11-2011, 10:15:27

bladehawk
I know the video isn't up yet, so it might have the answer to my question but still.

just wanted to know why TTL just stopped at 800 Mhz cuz from what i saw on the hardwarecanucks review

they were able to get another 50-80 mhz on the default voltage and it was rock-stable, not to mention they said they could get up to 925Mhz with some tweaking ...

another lucky draw of the lottery?

29-11-2011, 10:43:28

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Nvidia make the GPUs and make money from Gigabyte, MSI etc and they make their money from releasing different versions of the cards with their own custom PCB or cooler.
Cool. Thanks for the clearing that up for me.

29-11-2011, 11:44:45

badtaylorx
im fairly sure that the marketing guys down at Nvidia wanted to avoid calling it a 565 like the plague.....think back to the gtx 465......you really want to be the successor to that P O S ???
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.