MSI GTX560-Ti OC SLI Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

MSI GTX560-Ti OC SLI Review

Introduction

One of the most popular ways to obtain great performance for a sensible amount of expenditure has been to use two lower priced cards paired up, either as SLI or Crossfire.

There are many options available for this purpose and today we're looking at the GTX560-Ti. No ordinary GTX560s though, these are from MSI and come with the always brilliant Twin Frozr cooler that we love so much here at OC3D Towers.

With the GTX580 being the single-GPU king we're hoping that the combination of these two MSI cards will give us better performance for the same money, whilst still providing the PhysX and CUDA benefits you get with nVidia.

As we've looked at the GTX560 before let's get straight down to it.

Technical Specifications

Heading over to the MSI website we can see the specifications of the cards on test. MSI produce three models of the GTX560, the standard, the OC and the SOC. We have the OC model on hand which boosts the GPU Core speed from 822MHz to 880MHz and the memory is up from the standard 1000MHz to 1050MHz.

Graphics Engine GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Bus Standard PCI Express x16 2.0
Memory Type GDDR5
Memory Size(MB) 1024
Memory Interface 256 bits
Core Clock Speed(MHz) 880
Memory Clock Speed(MHz) 4200
Memory Bandwidth(GB/sec) N/A
Texture Fill Rate(billion/sec) N/A
DVI Output 2
D-SUB Output 2(optional, via DVI to D-Sub adaptor)
HDMI-Output 2(Optional, via Mini HDMI to HDMI dongle)
Mini HDMI-Output 1
DisplayPort N/A
Mini DisplayPort N/A
HDCP Support Y
HDMI Support Y
Dual-link DVI Y
Display Output (Max Resolution) 2560x1600
RAMDACs 400
DirectX Version Support 11
OpenGL Version Support 4.1
SLI Support Y
3-way SLI N/A
Card Dimension(mm) 238 x 111 x 37mm

 

Of course we have to get a look a the cards, so turn over and we'll have a closer look.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-05-2011, 04:25:03

tinytomlogan
What's better than one GTX560? Two of course. Today we take a look at MSI's GTX560-Ti OC, in SLI. Strap em up tight.



Continue Reading

03-05-2011, 04:54:46

dugdiamond
very informative

shows that a single (duo) gtx590 is the way to go... /fps

03-05-2011, 05:27:39

SieB
My review withdrawal systems are cured, thanks, Bryan

So for 400 a whole 150+ less than a 590/6990 you can get similar performance, not bad if you ask me. Sacrificing some AA in one game shouldn't really put you off and anyone with an AMD card can only have up to a maximum of 8x AA anyway.

If you have the money for a 590 that would ideally be the better option in the long run but if you are on a budget SLI MSI 560 TI's is a pretty damn good alternative.

03-05-2011, 05:37:36

Zeals
No tinkering with overclocks?

03-05-2011, 05:53:03

Karlos_the_n00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

very informative

shows that a single (duo) gtx590 is the way to go... /fps
Maybe, but don't forget that two 570's in SLI aren't listed in the bench results and there are many on the forums that speculate that they would be a better alternative to a 590. If your not looking for a single slot solution that is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

My review withdrawal systems are cured, thanks, Bryan
+1

03-05-2011, 18:42:43

piotrekhc
One is enough for 98% of games out there, but who would say No to two of them , good review but I'm missing video.

03-05-2011, 19:46:23

murphy7801
Yer the one problem with two mid ranged cards find myself not having enough shaders but personal gripe. Also Tom did give big thumbs up too sli gtx 570's not too long ago on a forum thread.

03-05-2011, 19:52:19

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

very informative

shows that a single (duo) gtx590 is the way to go... /fps
We were reading the same review ?

10-05-2011, 07:00:53

dugdiamond
awesome - another competition

i better start rubbing my magic wand for good luck!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.