iiyama Prolite E2403WS 24" TFT

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
iiyama Prolite E2403WSWith a price tag of around £250, it's fair to say that the iiyama Prolite E2403WS is positioned at the entry-level market. However, entry-level price certainly doesn't always equate to entry-level performance, and as we've seen from the results over on the previous page, the iiyama performed admirably. Our initial concerns regarding viewing angles with the TN panel used by iiyama were unfounded, and even when viewing the panel from an almost 180° angle the screen was still highly visible and did not suffer from any inversion of colours.
 
In both desktop applications and games, the screen was both vivid and sharp, with no visible ghosting in action movies or fast-paced games. For these reasons alone, the E2403WS should definitely make it onto the shortlist of any gamer. Testing the screen with DisplayMate did however reveal a slight issue with backlight bleed at the bottom-right corner of the screen, and while this was slightly visible with the desktop background set to black, it was completely unnoticeable during most other activities.
 
While it seems almost unfair to pick on the iiyama's looks considering its price, it's hard to finish this review without saying how down right dull it looks. Most manufacturers tend to make an effort to improve the appearance of their budget brands, even if it be with small details such as a different colour stand or fancy logo badge, but the iiyama's black plastic construction and printed-on model number make it instantly recognisable as a budget screen.
 
 
The Good
- No visible ghosting in games or movies
- No problems with viewing angles
- Crisp images and great colour depth.
- 3yr on-site warranty.
 
The Mediocre
- Bland looks do nothing to disguise its budget price.
- No DVI port.
 
The Bad
- Small amount of backlight bleed
 
 
Overclock3D Value For Money Award
 
Thanks to Afterhours for providing the iiyama Prolite E2403WS for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-08-2008, 13:41:13

JN
"Can you really pick up a half decent 24" gaming TFT for 250? We find out as we take a look at iiyama's latest Prolite E2403WS screen."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...204142330s.jpg

iiyama Prolite E2403WS 24" TFT

08-08-2008, 06:06:05

Rastalovich
Good review.

For 250 pricing, 24", I don`t think u could mumble about any sort of slight bleeding or anything like that.

I`d consider this model tbh, if at the time I felt a Dell was too much

18-08-2008, 04:11:21

Phunky
Bit steep when the likes of the Yakuraa are about - also the comment about it having no DVI is a bit silly as it has HDMI (and came with a HDMI > DVI cable) which is just the same digital connection.

18-08-2008, 19:08:26

FarFarAway
Agreed with Phunky, I'd rather have an option of HDMI than DVI nowadays tbh

19-08-2008, 04:36:58

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phunky'
Bit steep when the likes of the Yakuraa are about - also the comment about it having no DVI is a bit silly as it has HDMI (and came with a HDMI > DVI cable) which is just the same digital connection.
Basically because their HDMI > DVI cable didnt work with any older GPU's I tested. X1950 was no-go as was 6600GT. Worked fine on a HD4850 though.

27-08-2008, 14:39:11

anklebiter
Any suggestions for a good screen under 400 thats 24" or over, but importantly Performs well for Games/very high-end Video editing, good colour depth/contrast ratio? (have sli gtx 280s, QX9650 and 8 gig Ram)

Thanks in advance guys

regards

Ollie

27-08-2008, 17:09:25

FarFarAway
Dell 2408 WFP (or whatever it's called now)

28-08-2008, 06:47:06

anklebiter
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Dell 2408 WFP (or whatever it's called now)
Hehe thanks Kempez, I'll go search for it now. However I really hate Dell in general, might be misguides animosiy but for me their rigs were always over priced and designed to snare people that dont know that they are buying systems that will have to be replaced within the year.

Do they make great monitors then? (I'm sure they do as u wouldn't recommend them). I thought you'd say iiyama or someother brand.

Regards

Ollie

28-08-2008, 12:29:06

anklebiter
Have reviewed your suggestion and it does seem (as far as my limited search abilities were able to discover) that this Monitor (Dell 2408 WPF) is a hot contender.

It has a input latency glitch as I'm able to understand though, so not sure if thats a big problem..

for 255 I can't complain.

The other competition that I've noticed are the Gateway FHD2400, Dell S2409W

So any further advise for me?

Many thanks

Ollie

28-08-2008, 16:56:13

FarFarAway
Further advise: get a Dell 2408 WFP....

Oh did I just say that?

I have two Dell 24", frigging awesome monitors. High quality Samsung panels, sturdily built with a 4 year next business day warranty....what are you waiting for?

28-08-2008, 19:51:48

anklebiter
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Further advise: get a Dell 2408 WFP....

Oh did I just say that?

I have two Dell 24", frigging awesome monitors. High quality Samsung panels, sturdily built with a 4 year next business day warranty....what are you waiting for?
Ah ha, didnt know they came with a warrenty, and 4 years is great, cos Ive heard people warn about degredation, Thanks Kempez

regards

Ollie
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.