HIS vs EVGA Midrange Gaming Face Off Review

Conclusion

Midrange Gaming Shootout

Conclusion

With so much available data it's quite a challenge to round it all up in a pithy fashion.

Let's start with pure first places in our tests, ignoring Medal of Honor which was near identical for all cards.

The HD6870 came first in 12 of our 32 tests, 20 if you include Resident Evil 5 which it won all 8. The GTX460 1GB won 9 of our 32 tests, and the GTX460 768MB won 3.

Now if we take Resident Evil 5 to be a game that, akin to how GRiD used to be, is an absolute lover of the ATI cards, then it's a perfect split down the middle, 12 each.

So it's very very close. Even if most of the ones that had a win to one card or another there aren't many that are a comprehensive victory.

The HIS HD6850 didn't win any of our tests outright but has great "stock performance". Overclocked it really is a slave to its architectural limitations, not achieving anything more than one or two extra FPS which can just as easily be put down to variances in bench runs. The single card wont set the world alight but it also doesn't fall down anywhere either. It's a very solid, good value all-rounder. Crossfire performance is very good and it actually stays very close to the HD6870. Just a shame it doesn't overclock well.

The HIS HD6870 just continues to bang out the big scores. In such a closely matched contest to win 60% of the tests is quite something. Once we eliminate Resident Evil 5 though it's 50%. Still impressive. Especially when you consider that most of the tests it did win it won by quite a margin. It also just about benefits from our overclock, although similarly to the HD6850 it really isn't an overclocking beast, but rather a great out the box card.

Moving on to the EVGA GTX460 768MB and 1GB cards, we were interested in the start of testing to see if the need for large on-board memory was purely for the big numbers, or genuinely important. Many years ago it was important when a 64MB or 128MB card was the norm, but does it hold up? Clearly it does as quite a few of our games found that the combination of 1920x1200 testing resolution plus such high levels of anti-aliasing filled the frame-buffer up and therefore dropped the performance significantly. The 1GB card on the other hand never encountered such an issue. Both cards, but the 768MB one in particular, respond very well to an overclock giving quite an improvement in performance.

 

HIS 6850 vs EVGA GTX 460 768MB Video

 

HIS 6870 vs EVGA GTX460 1GB Video

 

HIS 6870 Crossfire vs EVGA GTX460 1GB SLI Video

But there is a big question still to answer.

What do we recommend?

All of the systems on test today provide very good performance indeed, especially for the budget. You really can't go wrong with any of them. That's a bit vague though. We aren't here to win friends with vague answers, we're here to give an answer on where our money would go.
So here it is :

Single Card Winner : HIS HD6870

Dual Card Winner : EVGA GTX460 1GB

The HIS HD6870 really is a great card for just a sniff under £200. There is no denying the amount of clear victories it has and with the new 6 series cards having 3D too, you really get the best of all worlds.

The EVGA GTX460 1GB might not always top the timing sheets so to speak, but it has two huge things in its favour as a SLI setup. The first is unquestionably the price. You can get a couple of GTX460 1GB cards for about £320, which is £80 less than the HD6870 would be in Crossfire. So you can have performance above that of any single card, for lots less than the GTX480, whilst also benefiting from PhysX and exceptional Folding@Home performance.

Naturally with such a range of games on test if you have one or two particular titles in mind then you might sway one way or another, but for general performance, that's where our pennies would go.

Thanks to HIS Digital and EVGA for their help with this review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-10-2010, 23:42:07

tinytomlogan
Every now and then a review comes along that you have to read, now is such a time.

Time for the Middleweight Championship of the world. In the red corner the HD6850 and HD6870. In the Green corner the GTX460 768MB and 1GB.

Continue Reading

29-10-2010, 04:01:46

Black
So looks like GTX460 is still worth to buy.

29-10-2010, 05:51:01

silenthill
This is what I call a hard core review load of charts & game tests, I just hope your payslips justify your mass effort & I just want to let you know your efforts are much appreciated with us the readers; next month is going to be epic with the new GeForce GTX 580 & AMD Radeon 6970 so I’d recommend going to the gym to be in shape because we don’t want anybody collapsing during the tests from lack of sleep.

29-10-2010, 06:51:22

Todd
I'm wondering when Quad Xfire would start to make sense.

29-10-2010, 07:10:18

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

I'm wondering when Quad Xfire would start to make sense.
Never. Who is going to drop £800 on four 6870s?

Maybe a few. But I don't know any one with four GPUs apart from Diablo and AMD are not going to waste loads of money in resources to cater to one in fifty (at the most) people.

The problem is it's out of AMD/Nvidia's hands any way. It all falls back to game coders and none of them will bother. Why would you? That's like having a thousand English people in a hotel and because there's one German there you make Bratwurst and Sauercraut for all of them. It's just a waste of time and money for pretty much every one involved. Game makers, GPU manufacturers and so on. Take into account that Obsidian just released Fallout : New Vegas with all of the bugs problems and issues from the initial release of Fallout 3. If they were to get it perfect and get quadfire in there it would have taken ten years, not two. Take into account how long Valve have their games in development trying to get them perfect..

Going back to the review.. Crikey. I can not even begin to imagine the ammount of work that went into testing so many different configurations. Hats off guys, this is some of your best work yet. Also -

[editors note: like Hanibal & Murdock]

Who is the crazy one? hehe that bit made me laugh. I can just see one of you dancing around the test bed.

Also -

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...uron/cards.jpg

Interracial GPU gangbang ahoy !

29-10-2010, 08:01:43

tinytomlogan
VB is deffo Murdock, he would be really offended if I said it was any other way

29-10-2010, 08:40:58

F-alienware
Haha mad as a box of frogs

29-10-2010, 08:42:56

VonBlade
No arguments from me boys

29-10-2010, 09:57:00

murphy7801
Tom your getting better at crysis

29-10-2010, 10:07:29

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Tom your getting better at crysis
HAHAHAHA! It was one of the forum members Mr Strawberry playing

29-10-2010, 10:19:53

SnW
What a great and eleborated review, kudos Tom & Bryan !

i want to have sex with that picture...

29-10-2010, 16:20:39

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

HAHAHAHA! It was one of the forum members Mr Strawberry playing
and i was awesome at it lol

must admit all them pictures of the GPUs do look awesome

29-10-2010, 18:15:52

Xeno_Crux
This review is full of win.

Reminds me of this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZVbVvZqBJM

Anyone who understands this is a true nerd.

30-10-2010, 07:37:46

Mr. Strawberry
i dont get it

05-11-2010, 12:59:44

Cedric
I've got a question about the dual card winner . The 6850 gets better results in higher end games ( i think ) in crossfire then 460 and the price is almost the same , so why don't you recommend the 6850 in crossfire ?

am bit of noob so don't bash me

Cédric

05-11-2010, 13:37:55

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedric View Post

I've got a question about the dual card winner . The 6850 gets better results in higher end games ( i think ) in crossfire then 460 and the price is almost the same , so why don't you recommend the 6850 in crossfire ?

am bit of noob so don't bash me

Cédric
Because the 460 1GB's win out overall dude in the dual card segment.

05-11-2010, 13:55:01

Cedric
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Because the 460 1GB's win out overall dude in the dual card segment.
Sorry for asking this . So you would recommend the 460 1gb sli for general gaming and for high en the 6850 ? or only the 460 ? i just wannna get the best out of my money .

thanks in advance

05-11-2010, 14:02:09

AMDFTW
i thnk personaly 2 1gb 460's overclocked would be more than ample for any game

05-11-2010, 16:41:56

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedric View Post

Sorry for asking this . So you would recommend the 460 1gb sli for general gaming and for high en the 6850 ? or only the 460 ? i just wannna get the best out of my money .

thanks in advance
what do you mean dude 6850 single or dual?

dual of either would be epic tbh.

Id buy AMD cards for the cooler and quiet approach though tbh (personal preference)

06-11-2010, 08:39:50

Cedric
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

what do you mean dude 6850 single or dual?

dual of either would be epic tbh.

Id buy AMD cards for the cooler and quiet approach though tbh (personal preference)
Both dual .

Anyway i think its better to wait a couple of weeks because of the new series but for now am thinking about the 6850 cf cause thy cheaper and has little more fps( ~2 )then the 460 sli.

10-11-2010, 15:50:23

phnikola
I am little bit unsure on reliability of results in this review.

Crysis Warhead page - Single CPU: Stock 6870 performs far more better than overclocked 6870.

Explanation?

PSU problem...?:-)

10-11-2010, 17:50:41

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by phnikola View Post

I am little bit unsure on reliability of results in this review.

Crysis Warhead page - Single CPU: Stock 6870 performs far more better than overclocked 6870.

Explanation?

PSU problem...?:-)
PSU problem, ha friad not dude. Some times overclocking can end up giving you lower results, the card just didnt like it tbh.

10-11-2010, 17:52:40

F-alienware
Overclocking your CPU can do the same too.

11-11-2010, 13:22:26

phnikola
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

PSU problem, ha friad not dude. Some times overclocking can end up giving you lower results, the card just didnt like it tbh.
LOL! Ofcourse I was kidding about the PSU.

Hmmm, perhaps downclocking would give even better results....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.