HIS vs EVGA Midrange Gaming Face Off Review

Metro 2033

Midrange Gaming Shootout

Metro 2033

The game based on the book by Dmitry Glukhovsky is part first person shooter, part survival horror, without really being either. It's a hugely frustrating game for us because it's so reliant upon the lighting effects that the frame rates never really reaches playable on any hardware, yet it doesn't look so stunning that you're willing to put up with the shoddy frame-rate just to gawp. Even the much maligned (by me) Crysis looked good enough we put up with it's woeful performance. 

Single GPU - Stock Speeds

Our first big "huh" moment. Advanced PhysX enabled and yet the GTX460s lag massively behind the Radeons. Clearly the PhysX is so advanced and puts such a strain on the card that it hasn't enough puff left to do the graphics. Whereas the Radeons dump the physics onto our Core i7-950 and therefore can at least have a good go at providing something more than a slide-show.

 

Single GPU - Overclocked

The incredibly variable nature of the Metro 2033 engine stands out here with both the GTX460s gaining 3 frames or so from the overclock to their GPU, yet the HD6870 loses frames. It is so frustrating. Hopefully our twin GPU testing will iron out the rough edges.

 

Dual GPU - Stock

Yes and no. Your second 1GB GTX460 is worth a piddling 5FPS, and yet the second 768MB GTX460 gives a 14FPS boost. If only getting 5FPS extra from an SLI 1GB GTX460 is strange, then the Crossfire HD6850 gives over 100% improvement. There are so many things to try and fathom about this game it should be based on a Jules Verne book.

 

Dual GPU - Overclocked

Finally we get a result remotely approximating what we'd expect on a theoretical basis when compared to the single stock card. The big GTX460 finally gets back ahead of its sibling, the HD6850 doesn't really benefit from the overclock and the HD6870 is quite a beast. All is once again as it should be in the world.

Even if a 4GHz 950 and two overclocked HD6870s don't manage to get Metro 2033 past 60FPS average.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-10-2010, 23:42:07

tinytomlogan
Every now and then a review comes along that you have to read, now is such a time.

Time for the Middleweight Championship of the world. In the red corner the HD6850 and HD6870. In the Green corner the GTX460 768MB and 1GB.

Continue Reading

29-10-2010, 04:01:46

Black
So looks like GTX460 is still worth to buy.

29-10-2010, 05:51:01

silenthill
This is what I call a hard core review load of charts & game tests, I just hope your payslips justify your mass effort & I just want to let you know your efforts are much appreciated with us the readers; next month is going to be epic with the new GeForce GTX 580 & AMD Radeon 6970 so I’d recommend going to the gym to be in shape because we don’t want anybody collapsing during the tests from lack of sleep.

29-10-2010, 06:51:22

Todd
I'm wondering when Quad Xfire would start to make sense.

29-10-2010, 07:10:18

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

I'm wondering when Quad Xfire would start to make sense.
Never. Who is going to drop £800 on four 6870s?

Maybe a few. But I don't know any one with four GPUs apart from Diablo and AMD are not going to waste loads of money in resources to cater to one in fifty (at the most) people.

The problem is it's out of AMD/Nvidia's hands any way. It all falls back to game coders and none of them will bother. Why would you? That's like having a thousand English people in a hotel and because there's one German there you make Bratwurst and Sauercraut for all of them. It's just a waste of time and money for pretty much every one involved. Game makers, GPU manufacturers and so on. Take into account that Obsidian just released Fallout : New Vegas with all of the bugs problems and issues from the initial release of Fallout 3. If they were to get it perfect and get quadfire in there it would have taken ten years, not two. Take into account how long Valve have their games in development trying to get them perfect..

Going back to the review.. Crikey. I can not even begin to imagine the ammount of work that went into testing so many different configurations. Hats off guys, this is some of your best work yet. Also -

[editors note: like Hanibal & Murdock]

Who is the crazy one? hehe that bit made me laugh. I can just see one of you dancing around the test bed.

Also -

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...uron/cards.jpg

Interracial GPU gangbang ahoy !

29-10-2010, 08:01:43

tinytomlogan
VB is deffo Murdock, he would be really offended if I said it was any other way

29-10-2010, 08:40:58

F-alienware
Haha mad as a box of frogs

29-10-2010, 08:42:56

VonBlade
No arguments from me boys

29-10-2010, 09:57:00

murphy7801
Tom your getting better at crysis

29-10-2010, 10:07:29

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Tom your getting better at crysis
HAHAHAHA! It was one of the forum members Mr Strawberry playing

29-10-2010, 10:19:53

SnW
What a great and eleborated review, kudos Tom & Bryan !

i want to have sex with that picture...

29-10-2010, 16:20:39

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

HAHAHAHA! It was one of the forum members Mr Strawberry playing
and i was awesome at it lol

must admit all them pictures of the GPUs do look awesome

29-10-2010, 18:15:52

Xeno_Crux
This review is full of win.

Reminds me of this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZVbVvZqBJM

Anyone who understands this is a true nerd.

30-10-2010, 07:37:46

Mr. Strawberry
i dont get it

05-11-2010, 12:59:44

Cedric
I've got a question about the dual card winner . The 6850 gets better results in higher end games ( i think ) in crossfire then 460 and the price is almost the same , so why don't you recommend the 6850 in crossfire ?

am bit of noob so don't bash me

Cédric

05-11-2010, 13:37:55

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedric View Post

I've got a question about the dual card winner . The 6850 gets better results in higher end games ( i think ) in crossfire then 460 and the price is almost the same , so why don't you recommend the 6850 in crossfire ?

am bit of noob so don't bash me

Cédric
Because the 460 1GB's win out overall dude in the dual card segment.

05-11-2010, 13:55:01

Cedric
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Because the 460 1GB's win out overall dude in the dual card segment.
Sorry for asking this . So you would recommend the 460 1gb sli for general gaming and for high en the 6850 ? or only the 460 ? i just wannna get the best out of my money .

thanks in advance

05-11-2010, 14:02:09

AMDFTW
i thnk personaly 2 1gb 460's overclocked would be more than ample for any game

05-11-2010, 16:41:56

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedric View Post

Sorry for asking this . So you would recommend the 460 1gb sli for general gaming and for high en the 6850 ? or only the 460 ? i just wannna get the best out of my money .

thanks in advance
what do you mean dude 6850 single or dual?

dual of either would be epic tbh.

Id buy AMD cards for the cooler and quiet approach though tbh (personal preference)

06-11-2010, 08:39:50

Cedric
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

what do you mean dude 6850 single or dual?

dual of either would be epic tbh.

Id buy AMD cards for the cooler and quiet approach though tbh (personal preference)
Both dual .

Anyway i think its better to wait a couple of weeks because of the new series but for now am thinking about the 6850 cf cause thy cheaper and has little more fps( ~2 )then the 460 sli.

10-11-2010, 15:50:23

phnikola
I am little bit unsure on reliability of results in this review.

Crysis Warhead page - Single CPU: Stock 6870 performs far more better than overclocked 6870.

Explanation?

PSU problem...?:-)

10-11-2010, 17:50:41

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by phnikola View Post

I am little bit unsure on reliability of results in this review.

Crysis Warhead page - Single CPU: Stock 6870 performs far more better than overclocked 6870.

Explanation?

PSU problem...?:-)
PSU problem, ha friad not dude. Some times overclocking can end up giving you lower results, the card just didnt like it tbh.

10-11-2010, 17:52:40

F-alienware
Overclocking your CPU can do the same too.

11-11-2010, 13:22:26

phnikola
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

PSU problem, ha friad not dude. Some times overclocking can end up giving you lower results, the card just didnt like it tbh.
LOL! Ofcourse I was kidding about the PSU.

Hmmm, perhaps downclocking would give even better results....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.