HIS vs EVGA Midrange Gaming Face Off Review

Introduction

Midrange Gaming Shootout

Introduction

Following our recent test of the new additions to the Radeon line-up of graphics cards, the HD6850 and HD6870, we wondered amongst the team how well they performed relative to the similar offerings from the nVidia stable, the GTX460s.

Feedback we gained from our forums and our Youtube showed that we weren't the only people who were curious as to which would provide the best level of price to performance, and so a plan was hatched.

HIS Digital kindly agreed to provide us with a pair of their HD6850s and HD6870s to allow us to fulfil the Red Team side of the test. We saw recently how they performed as a singlet, so we're looking forward to seeing how they do in Crossfire.

On the other side of our metaphorical garage we have two variants of the GTX460 courtesy of EVGA. The GTX460 768MB and GTX460 1GB. Discussions about how much memory you need on board your graphics card have raged for a long time so it will be yet another thing we can hopefully find the answer to.

EVGA need a lot of praise here for two factors. Firstly for the speed in which they provided the cards for our test. Rather than the normal ask and wait procedure they were only too happy to send them and got them to us overnight. Secondly we felt it was important to test the most basic reference models we could, so whilst they were happy to send us flashier cards with custom cooling they nonetheless provided us with reference models as we asked. A tip of the hat to EVGA.

Finally we needed to work out what we would test them using. Because so many games provide similar performance levels or are just a rehash of the same game engine we always tend to limit our testing to a select handful of games. However if we really wanted to find the best value answer to your gaming needs we wanted to put them through the wringer.

So today we're testing 8 different games that highlight various aspects from pure frame-rate burners, via PhysX heavy efforts, to games so new we've only got a benchmark.

Naturally with 8 cards to be tested at both stock and overclocked settings it was too much of a task for just one man, and so once again myself and Tom have teamed up [editors note: like Hanibal & Murdock] to ensure we can give you a thorough review without you having to wait a month for it to arrive. Unlike some other sites where having a pathetic text based on page 'shoot out' is deemed acceptable rather than testing them both side by side and having all the data to back up their views or maybe even half the story. OC3D now bring you all the latest midrange GPU's and all the best games to one place with all the tests you could possibly need.

Onwards.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-10-2010, 23:42:07

tinytomlogan
Every now and then a review comes along that you have to read, now is such a time.

Time for the Middleweight Championship of the world. In the red corner the HD6850 and HD6870. In the Green corner the GTX460 768MB and 1GB.

Continue Reading

29-10-2010, 04:01:46

Black
So looks like GTX460 is still worth to buy.

29-10-2010, 05:51:01

silenthill
This is what I call a hard core review load of charts & game tests, I just hope your payslips justify your mass effort & I just want to let you know your efforts are much appreciated with us the readers; next month is going to be epic with the new GeForce GTX 580 & AMD Radeon 6970 so I’d recommend going to the gym to be in shape because we don’t want anybody collapsing during the tests from lack of sleep.

29-10-2010, 06:51:22

Todd
I'm wondering when Quad Xfire would start to make sense.

29-10-2010, 07:10:18

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd View Post

I'm wondering when Quad Xfire would start to make sense.
Never. Who is going to drop £800 on four 6870s?

Maybe a few. But I don't know any one with four GPUs apart from Diablo and AMD are not going to waste loads of money in resources to cater to one in fifty (at the most) people.

The problem is it's out of AMD/Nvidia's hands any way. It all falls back to game coders and none of them will bother. Why would you? That's like having a thousand English people in a hotel and because there's one German there you make Bratwurst and Sauercraut for all of them. It's just a waste of time and money for pretty much every one involved. Game makers, GPU manufacturers and so on. Take into account that Obsidian just released Fallout : New Vegas with all of the bugs problems and issues from the initial release of Fallout 3. If they were to get it perfect and get quadfire in there it would have taken ten years, not two. Take into account how long Valve have their games in development trying to get them perfect..

Going back to the review.. Crikey. I can not even begin to imagine the ammount of work that went into testing so many different configurations. Hats off guys, this is some of your best work yet. Also -

[editors note: like Hanibal & Murdock]

Who is the crazy one? hehe that bit made me laugh. I can just see one of you dancing around the test bed.

Also -

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...uron/cards.jpg

Interracial GPU gangbang ahoy !

29-10-2010, 08:01:43

tinytomlogan
VB is deffo Murdock, he would be really offended if I said it was any other way

29-10-2010, 08:40:58

F-alienware
Haha mad as a box of frogs

29-10-2010, 08:42:56

VonBlade
No arguments from me boys

29-10-2010, 09:57:00

murphy7801
Tom your getting better at crysis

29-10-2010, 10:07:29

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

Tom your getting better at crysis
HAHAHAHA! It was one of the forum members Mr Strawberry playing

29-10-2010, 10:19:53

SnW
What a great and eleborated review, kudos Tom & Bryan !

i want to have sex with that picture...

29-10-2010, 16:20:39

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

HAHAHAHA! It was one of the forum members Mr Strawberry playing
and i was awesome at it lol

must admit all them pictures of the GPUs do look awesome

29-10-2010, 18:15:52

Xeno_Crux
This review is full of win.

Reminds me of this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZVbVvZqBJM

Anyone who understands this is a true nerd.

30-10-2010, 07:37:46

Mr. Strawberry
i dont get it

05-11-2010, 12:59:44

Cedric
I've got a question about the dual card winner . The 6850 gets better results in higher end games ( i think ) in crossfire then 460 and the price is almost the same , so why don't you recommend the 6850 in crossfire ?

am bit of noob so don't bash me

Cédric

05-11-2010, 13:37:55

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedric View Post

I've got a question about the dual card winner . The 6850 gets better results in higher end games ( i think ) in crossfire then 460 and the price is almost the same , so why don't you recommend the 6850 in crossfire ?

am bit of noob so don't bash me

Cédric
Because the 460 1GB's win out overall dude in the dual card segment.

05-11-2010, 13:55:01

Cedric
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Because the 460 1GB's win out overall dude in the dual card segment.
Sorry for asking this . So you would recommend the 460 1gb sli for general gaming and for high en the 6850 ? or only the 460 ? i just wannna get the best out of my money .

thanks in advance

05-11-2010, 14:02:09

AMDFTW
i thnk personaly 2 1gb 460's overclocked would be more than ample for any game

05-11-2010, 16:41:56

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedric View Post

Sorry for asking this . So you would recommend the 460 1gb sli for general gaming and for high en the 6850 ? or only the 460 ? i just wannna get the best out of my money .

thanks in advance
what do you mean dude 6850 single or dual?

dual of either would be epic tbh.

Id buy AMD cards for the cooler and quiet approach though tbh (personal preference)

06-11-2010, 08:39:50

Cedric
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

what do you mean dude 6850 single or dual?

dual of either would be epic tbh.

Id buy AMD cards for the cooler and quiet approach though tbh (personal preference)
Both dual .

Anyway i think its better to wait a couple of weeks because of the new series but for now am thinking about the 6850 cf cause thy cheaper and has little more fps( ~2 )then the 460 sli.

10-11-2010, 15:50:23

phnikola
I am little bit unsure on reliability of results in this review.

Crysis Warhead page - Single CPU: Stock 6870 performs far more better than overclocked 6870.

Explanation?

PSU problem...?:-)

10-11-2010, 17:50:41

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by phnikola View Post

I am little bit unsure on reliability of results in this review.

Crysis Warhead page - Single CPU: Stock 6870 performs far more better than overclocked 6870.

Explanation?

PSU problem...?:-)
PSU problem, ha friad not dude. Some times overclocking can end up giving you lower results, the card just didnt like it tbh.

10-11-2010, 17:52:40

F-alienware
Overclocking your CPU can do the same too.

11-11-2010, 13:22:26

phnikola
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

PSU problem, ha friad not dude. Some times overclocking can end up giving you lower results, the card just didnt like it tbh.
LOL! Ofcourse I was kidding about the PSU.

Hmmm, perhaps downclocking would give even better results....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.