HIS Radeon HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 PCIe Graphics card

Benchmarks 1



3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Results Analysis

Wow! As you can see from the results above, the HIS HD5870 totally destroys the MSI N285GTX 2G, our previous fastest single GPU. The results are even more astonishing when you consider that the Nvidia card should theoretically have the advantage in Futuremarks PhysX friendly Vantage benchmark. As you can see though this is not the case with the HD5870 easily out pacing the GTS285.

Let's see if this transfers over to our real world gaming benchmarks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-10-2009, 13:37:29

tinytomlogan
W3bbo takes a look at the HIS Radeon HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 PCIe Graphics card

Continue Reading

04-10-2009, 14:09:38

VonBlade
Holy hell. That's one mega GPU. My only concern is that DX10 GPUs aren't vital because of the whole X360 port laziness of devs.

So DX11? Really? Give it a year and I might invest.

04-10-2009, 14:53:00

Hassan

In order to feed the GPU enough power, the HD85870



Its meant to be HD5870, init?

04-10-2009, 15:23:29

I Hunta x
Great review, tho i would have liked to see the comparison against a 295 aswell as its in the middle of the 2 price wise.

04-10-2009, 16:32:09

monkey7
Looks like the gtx285 is still the smart money at the moment, considering price/performance-you-really-need. Just have to wait for the price drops

Small grammatical error in the conclusion:

The Mediocre

- The price is expensive for a single core GPU

Should be 'price is high' / 'card is expensive'

04-10-2009, 16:32:30

zak4994
Awesome review w3bbo but I was looking forward to an actual comparison against the 4890/70 just for good measure.

05-10-2009, 07:18:01

w3bbo
Unfortunately we don't have a huge stockpile of GPU's to re-use as once they are reviewed they usually go onto pastures new. It was only by chance that I still had the MSI GTX285 laying around which was the nearest card performance wise with which to compare.

I couldn't use the results from previous reviews as I have a totally new test rig to reflect the ever changing market and I have also tweaked the testing procedure to include more AA/AF, especially at 2560x1600 (8xAA/16xAF) as this setting certainly separates the men from the boys!

05-10-2009, 08:31:58

Rastalovich
Some awesome raw performance going on their, great review.

Bit unsure as to why they have the mounting bracket outside the shroud on the rear.

Being as the 1G version of the 285 wouldn't suffer in comparison to the 2G regarding framerate benches - isn't it strange how the cost-per-frame emphasis suddenly disappears when it suits us. ASUS GTX285 can be found for a biscuit under 230.

Tis currently a great card. 310 ? Gotta be around 295 atleast when it hits the online stores.

05-10-2009, 12:38:12

w3bbo
Cheers Rasta.

The extra memory of the 2GB version helps when at the highest res however, as the 5870 has proved, you don't need 2GB if the core is capable enough.

The only thing I can assume regarding the bracket is that it helps with keeping the card cool while the shroud affords some protection to the rear of the card.

06-10-2009, 06:05:24

Rastalovich
U'd be surprized. In games yeah the memory is very beneficial to the performance, the likes of GTA4 and.. .. have a meter that shows how much ur using. With 1G on a card I can't play GTA4 at max cos.. well there aint enough, even for a 20" screen. But it'd still do a bench run, the graphic requirements ofc are preallocated to the card's memory b4 u execute. It's not a case that the thing will run until it runs out of memory, like ur pc's memory will allow.

It's almost like u change the settings ingame - if it's permitted, u have enough graphic memory - if it won't allow it, u don't.

12-10-2009, 10:46:38

Mr. Smith
Edit: Nevermind.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.