HIS Radeon HD 5550 1GB GDDR3 Review

Conclusion

Conclusion

The HIS Radeon HD 5550's intended application is for low height Small Form Factor and Home Theater PC computers. Noise is a concern for many in cramped chassis' and this is the HIS' main selling point. Where an integrated Core i3/i5 or AMD 785G/890GX graphics unit may not cut it for everyone, this is the next logical step on the performance ladder without compromising on your new system's size or noise levels. When you factor in the graphics card's AVIVO capability and 7.1 Channel Sound over HDMI, this may sound like the perfect solution for HTPC users.

Our test results may have painted a rather dire picture for the graphics card's performance. Featuring 80 stream processors less than its bigger brother and a narrow 128bit memory interface that is let down by slower GDDR3 memory, the performance of the HD 5550 was truly miles behind the similarly priced 5670. It is safe to establish that gaming is not this graphics card's primary objective and that its imperative not to consider "price:performance" when even considering one.

There is a price to pay for everything. There are very few passive and half height graphics cards that offer performance that's greater than today's Integrated GPUs. Even though the HD 5550 was beaten fair and square by it's bigger brother, lets not lose sight of the fact that almost all games in our testing suite were playable at a resolution of 1920x1200. This is very respectable regardless of what other full height and actively cooled solutions offer for the same money.

All in all, the HD 5550 Silent successfully satisfies a niche that simply needs more of its kind. If you need a quiet and small form factor GPU with some extra grunt, this is it.

The Good
- Passive Cooling Solution
- Half Height - Ideal for HTPCs

The Mediocre
- Price
- Performance is lacking compared to similarly priced offerings

The Bad
- None

 

Thanks go out to HIS for the sample on review today, you can discuss our findings with the boys and girls in the forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-07-2010, 05:40:00

tinytomlogan
HIS are back with a silent and affordable HTPC solution.

Continue Reading

06-07-2010, 06:16:31

F-alienware
Where is HER Radeon?

Sorry, been waiting ages to drop that one

06-07-2010, 14:20:27

AMDFTW
would this playback full bluray 24p flawless

06-07-2010, 15:05:44

F-alienware
I would strongly imagine so AMD.

EDIT. Reason is most onboard tripe has a HDMI out now and that usually means BR playback is a given. A friend of mine got a card similar to this recently (4 series) for about 35. He said it was fine with BR.

06-07-2010, 15:24:11

AMDFTW
yer my MB has A HDMI out but a 8400 onboard and i dont think that would be uptomuch

06-07-2010, 15:39:34

F-alienware
My Crosshair has the same GPU.... Don't even go there dude

Haha ! I ran Batman and benched it with just my 280.. Then I enabled the 8400 and set it to do Physx. I scored about 10 times lower

06-07-2010, 16:59:19

alexhull24
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
would this playback full bluray 24p flawless
My Radeon 4350 that cost 20 will do that, though it struggles in any 3D really, as expected. I'm struggling to see really what benefits such an expensive HTPC card (at 65 in comparison) would have over my cheap-ass one for pure HTPC uses. The 5xxx series has slightly improved audio over HDMI if I remember correctly, but not a lot to add. The extra power would be wasted in my setup.

06-07-2010, 17:16:35

F-alienware
It's a 5 series and thus supports DX11. Even though you probably couldn't even use it it's still there. And the thing is in the bargain bin dept ATI are really kicking shades out of Nvidia. There's literally no competition.

06-07-2010, 18:49:15

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='alexhull24'
My Radeon 4350 that cost 20 will do that, though it struggles in any 3D really, as expected. I'm struggling to see really what benefits such an expensive HTPC card (at 65 in comparison) would have over my cheap-ass one for pure HTPC uses. The 5xxx series has slightly improved audio over HDMI if I remember correctly, but not a lot to add. The extra power would be wasted in my setup.
From my understanding, even the HD 4xxx lineup offers 7.1 channel sound over HDMI.

For pure media playback purposes, no the HD 5550's extra grunt will not be noticeable over the HD 5450 or infact it's predecessors. However, this is a product that offers a level of gaming ability at the same time and let's not forget the growing number of GPU Accelerated applications for media encoding.

06-07-2010, 19:34:18

silenthill
This card is ideal for playing tomb raider 3 and watching BR without making too much noise or sucking too much power.

08-07-2010, 10:52:34

fadingfool
I have the Sapphire version of this card (though regret not waiting a month for the GDDR5 version) and I'm very happy with it. As I only have a 1650x1080 monitor it easily copes with full detail for L4D, L4D2, MW2 and Resident Evil 5. Though this is without AA. It is a much better card than the 4550 it replaced (which inturn was a significant improvement on the HD 3450 that came with the machine - Dell 540s if anyone is interested).
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.