HIS Radeon HD 5550 1GB GDDR3 Review

Introduction

HIS Radeon HD 5550 1GB GDDR3

Introduction


Given the typical target audience of Overclock3D, you may well be surprised to see a review of a "budget" graphics card. With our Graphics Card section now littered with reviews of Radeon HD 5800 series, GTX 480 and similar graphics cards, sub £100 graphics cards may not appear to have a place here. That said, we fully appreciate that many of today's users cannot justify nor afford today's latest graphics cards. More to the point, many DIY builders simply don't need the power offered by the high end.

HIS are among the most popular ATi Add-In Board Partners, known for selling a variety of innovative graphics cards. Aside factory overclocked editions, HIS are also well known for their own cooling solutions. This is why we're taking a look at the brand's new passively cooled HIS Radeon HD 5550 graphics card.

Many of us have lost sight of the specifications that make a graphics card fit for purpose.

ManufacturerHIS
ModelRadeon HD 5550 (H555HC1G)
Stream Processor Count
320
Core Frequency
550MHz
Memory Frequency

1600MHz GDDR3

Memory Interface
128bit
Display Outputs
DVI, HDMI, VGA
Additional Features

Half Height PCB, Passive Cooler


For those who have been part of the hardware scene for at least three years, you would know that the specifications of this graphics card closely resemble some of the high end graphics cards of 2007. Sporting 320 stream processors, a fairly healthy core clock and 1600MHz GDDR3, the technical specifications of the Radeon HD 5550 are within a stones throw of the old (but previously popular) HD 3850. Furthermore, the HD 5550 is smaller, consumes less than half as much power and is passively cooled.

Let's take a look at some photos.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-07-2010, 05:40:00

tinytomlogan
HIS are back with a silent and affordable HTPC solution.

Continue Reading

06-07-2010, 06:16:31

F-alienware
Where is HER Radeon?

Sorry, been waiting ages to drop that one

06-07-2010, 14:20:27

AMDFTW
would this playback full bluray 24p flawless

06-07-2010, 15:05:44

F-alienware
I would strongly imagine so AMD.

EDIT. Reason is most onboard tripe has a HDMI out now and that usually means BR playback is a given. A friend of mine got a card similar to this recently (4 series) for about 35. He said it was fine with BR.

06-07-2010, 15:24:11

AMDFTW
yer my MB has A HDMI out but a 8400 onboard and i dont think that would be uptomuch

06-07-2010, 15:39:34

F-alienware
My Crosshair has the same GPU.... Don't even go there dude

Haha ! I ran Batman and benched it with just my 280.. Then I enabled the 8400 and set it to do Physx. I scored about 10 times lower

06-07-2010, 16:59:19

alexhull24
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
would this playback full bluray 24p flawless
My Radeon 4350 that cost 20 will do that, though it struggles in any 3D really, as expected. I'm struggling to see really what benefits such an expensive HTPC card (at 65 in comparison) would have over my cheap-ass one for pure HTPC uses. The 5xxx series has slightly improved audio over HDMI if I remember correctly, but not a lot to add. The extra power would be wasted in my setup.

06-07-2010, 17:16:35

F-alienware
It's a 5 series and thus supports DX11. Even though you probably couldn't even use it it's still there. And the thing is in the bargain bin dept ATI are really kicking shades out of Nvidia. There's literally no competition.

06-07-2010, 18:49:15

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='alexhull24'
My Radeon 4350 that cost 20 will do that, though it struggles in any 3D really, as expected. I'm struggling to see really what benefits such an expensive HTPC card (at 65 in comparison) would have over my cheap-ass one for pure HTPC uses. The 5xxx series has slightly improved audio over HDMI if I remember correctly, but not a lot to add. The extra power would be wasted in my setup.
From my understanding, even the HD 4xxx lineup offers 7.1 channel sound over HDMI.

For pure media playback purposes, no the HD 5550's extra grunt will not be noticeable over the HD 5450 or infact it's predecessors. However, this is a product that offers a level of gaming ability at the same time and let's not forget the growing number of GPU Accelerated applications for media encoding.

06-07-2010, 19:34:18

silenthill
This card is ideal for playing tomb raider 3 and watching BR without making too much noise or sucking too much power.

08-07-2010, 10:52:34

fadingfool
I have the Sapphire version of this card (though regret not waiting a month for the GDDR5 version) and I'm very happy with it. As I only have a 1650x1080 monitor it easily copes with full detail for L4D, L4D2, MW2 and Resident Evil 5. Though this is without AA. It is a much better card than the 4550 it replaced (which inturn was a significant improvement on the HD 3450 that came with the machine - Dell 540s if anyone is interested).
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.