HIS Radeon 6850 & 6870 Review

Synthetic Benchmarks

HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review

As each card is marketed as a replacement for a previous model we will be testing against those to see what, if any, improvement has been gained. Both the HD5770 and HD5830 were tested only at stock settings because the benefits of overclocking the 6 series was, as you'll see, minimal at best.

3D Mark Vantage

Our results are nothing if not consistent. The HIS HD6870 clearly beats out the card it replaces, the HD5830, throughout testing and actually gives us results around the HD5850 mark.

The HIS HD6850 comprehensively beats the HD5770 to such a degree it's right with the HD5830. At the more extreme end of the scale it runs out of puff, but for middle-range gaming it appears more than capable.

 

Unigine Heaven

Unigine is one of the most stressful benchmarks you can run, taking full advantage of the DX11 featureset. Such an improvement is seen from the new range of Radeons that even the HIS HD6850 comes in second place. Good to see.

0xAA

 

With an increase in anti-aliasing we see the limitations of the HD6850 architecture as the 5830 slots back into seconds place. We also finally see an improvement from our overclock, albeit tiny.

8xAA

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-10-2010, 22:55:47

tinytomlogan
The wait is over, we finally bring you the 6850 AND the 6870 review!

Continue Reading

22-10-2010, 05:29:23

F-alienware
Lovely review as always. Cheers VB & staff who got this to us lovely and early

Gotta say I do like the look of them. Not these ones in particular as HIS always tended to look a bit 'far east' if you know what I mean (in looks) but hey, what's on the inside that counts. Also XFX have theirs ready, released today.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(scissors) if you want this bit removed as you don't think it's on topic please cut along the lines (scissors)

http://xfxforce.com/en-gb/products/g...ries/6850.aspx

22-10-2010, 08:47:50

steve30x
Why does the 6850 get a better cooler?

22-10-2010, 08:53:24

Heebs
Curious to know your thoughts on the 6870 vs the 460, seeing as they are the same price point.

22-10-2010, 09:01:58

F-alienware
Well if what has been said is accurate (that they're like a 5830) then the 460 still has the edge.

22-10-2010, 09:28:12

Heebs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Well if what has been said is accurate (that they're like a 5830) then the 460 still has the edge.
To be honest the performance "increase" is pretty disappointing. I figured the 6000 series would be a serious step up from the 5000 series. Well I guess that just makes me even happier I got a 460.

22-10-2010, 09:40:34

tinytomlogan
In game the 6870 is a cracker and will be a wicked little fight, the AMD does come in a little more expensive and wont give you the same performance boosts when overclocked.

22-10-2010, 22:40:10

AMDFTW
they are on sale now,well the saphires are

22-10-2010, 23:41:18

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heebs View Post

To be honest the performance "increase" is pretty disappointing. I figured the 6000 series would be a serious step up from the 5000 series. Well I guess that just makes me even happier I got a 460.
Well it just came out, let the drivers mature a bit, and I assume AMD will allow people to get a higher overclock with newer drives if people can just drag settings to full and have a stable system. Then maybe the 6850 will be better than the 460, only time will tell.

23-10-2010, 09:51:41

RSC08
Have you checked the 6850 sample to see if it had 960 shaders or 1120? Because there are a lot (12 sites so far) that got 6850 samples with 1120 unified shaders...

21-11-2010, 10:58:09

murphy7801
6970 less power than a 5970 I hope not mine was sh!t and broke after a week.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.