HIS Radeon 6850 & 6870 Review

Technical Specs, Test Setup and Overclocking

HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review

Technical Specifications

As you can see from the technical data the main differences in performance between the two cards are the greatly reduced amount of Stream Processors and Texture Units available on the HD6850. This probably means that even with a hefty overclock we will be architecturally limited as we've seen on previous mid-range cards.

HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review

Test Setup

HIS HD6870 and HIS HD6850
ASUS Rampage III Extreme
Intel i7 950 @ 4GHz
6GB Mushkin Redline RAM
Corsair AX1200 PSU
Noctua NH-D14
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Overclocking and Temperatures

Overclocking both the HIS HD6870 and HD6850 was extraordinarily simple with them both easily able to max out the sliders in the ATI Overdrive panel and remain perfectly stable.

HIS HD6850                                                               HIS HD6870

 HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review     HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review

Although the obvious question might be "well why didn't you use RivaTuner then?" as you can see below both cards started to hover around the 80°C mark anyway. Once we get to the results on the next two pages the reason for not pushing further will become even clearer.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-10-2010, 22:55:47

tinytomlogan
The wait is over, we finally bring you the 6850 AND the 6870 review!

Continue Reading

22-10-2010, 05:29:23

F-alienware
Lovely review as always. Cheers VB & staff who got this to us lovely and early

Gotta say I do like the look of them. Not these ones in particular as HIS always tended to look a bit 'far east' if you know what I mean (in looks) but hey, what's on the inside that counts. Also XFX have theirs ready, released today.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(scissors) if you want this bit removed as you don't think it's on topic please cut along the lines (scissors)

http://xfxforce.com/en-gb/products/g...ries/6850.aspx

22-10-2010, 08:47:50

steve30x
Why does the 6850 get a better cooler?

22-10-2010, 08:53:24

Heebs
Curious to know your thoughts on the 6870 vs the 460, seeing as they are the same price point.

22-10-2010, 09:01:58

F-alienware
Well if what has been said is accurate (that they're like a 5830) then the 460 still has the edge.

22-10-2010, 09:28:12

Heebs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Well if what has been said is accurate (that they're like a 5830) then the 460 still has the edge.
To be honest the performance "increase" is pretty disappointing. I figured the 6000 series would be a serious step up from the 5000 series. Well I guess that just makes me even happier I got a 460.

22-10-2010, 09:40:34

tinytomlogan
In game the 6870 is a cracker and will be a wicked little fight, the AMD does come in a little more expensive and wont give you the same performance boosts when overclocked.

22-10-2010, 22:40:10

AMDFTW
they are on sale now,well the saphires are

22-10-2010, 23:41:18

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heebs View Post

To be honest the performance "increase" is pretty disappointing. I figured the 6000 series would be a serious step up from the 5000 series. Well I guess that just makes me even happier I got a 460.
Well it just came out, let the drivers mature a bit, and I assume AMD will allow people to get a higher overclock with newer drives if people can just drag settings to full and have a stable system. Then maybe the 6850 will be better than the 460, only time will tell.

23-10-2010, 09:51:41

RSC08
Have you checked the 6850 sample to see if it had 960 shaders or 1120? Because there are a lot (12 sites so far) that got 6850 samples with 1120 unified shaders...

21-11-2010, 10:58:09

murphy7801
6970 less power than a 5970 I hope not mine was sh!t and broke after a week.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.