HIS Radeon 6850 & 6870 Review

HIS HD6850

HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review

HIS HD6850 Pictures

HIS have always been good at giving us sensible sized packaging instead of the behemoths we get from some companies. Given the amount of units shipped if they can save half the packaging per unit it's making a big environmental difference and they should be lauded for that.

HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review     HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review  

The card itself is fairly indistinct from previous ATI models. Thanks to the focus on lower-energy requirements of the first wave of ATI cards there is no need for a George Foreman grill on the HD6850.

As this is the replacement for the HD5770 we only have four display outputs available to us on this HIS HD6850.

HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review     HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review 

As befits this focus upon efficiency the HIS only has a single 6pin PCIe power input. It's nice to see that ATI haven't succumbed to the temptation that new must equal bigger. At least with these medium range models anyway.

The board itself is similar to the previous generation just with the vertical bank of GDDR5 on the right instead of the left of the GPU itself.

 HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review     HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review  

It's always strange that, with shrouds being so enormous, when you remove them they are akin to a small CPU cooler. It's nice to make certain that heat gets exhausted out the rear of the case but curious they don't fill up the space a little more. Of course if the cooler is sufficient then why waste metal needlessly.

HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review     HIS Radeon 68x0 Series Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-10-2010, 22:55:47

tinytomlogan
The wait is over, we finally bring you the 6850 AND the 6870 review!

Continue Reading

22-10-2010, 05:29:23

F-alienware
Lovely review as always. Cheers VB & staff who got this to us lovely and early

Gotta say I do like the look of them. Not these ones in particular as HIS always tended to look a bit 'far east' if you know what I mean (in looks) but hey, what's on the inside that counts. Also XFX have theirs ready, released today.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(scissors) if you want this bit removed as you don't think it's on topic please cut along the lines (scissors)

http://xfxforce.com/en-gb/products/g...ries/6850.aspx

22-10-2010, 08:47:50

steve30x
Why does the 6850 get a better cooler?

22-10-2010, 08:53:24

Heebs
Curious to know your thoughts on the 6870 vs the 460, seeing as they are the same price point.

22-10-2010, 09:01:58

F-alienware
Well if what has been said is accurate (that they're like a 5830) then the 460 still has the edge.

22-10-2010, 09:28:12

Heebs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Well if what has been said is accurate (that they're like a 5830) then the 460 still has the edge.
To be honest the performance "increase" is pretty disappointing. I figured the 6000 series would be a serious step up from the 5000 series. Well I guess that just makes me even happier I got a 460.

22-10-2010, 09:40:34

tinytomlogan
In game the 6870 is a cracker and will be a wicked little fight, the AMD does come in a little more expensive and wont give you the same performance boosts when overclocked.

22-10-2010, 22:40:10

AMDFTW
they are on sale now,well the saphires are

22-10-2010, 23:41:18

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heebs View Post

To be honest the performance "increase" is pretty disappointing. I figured the 6000 series would be a serious step up from the 5000 series. Well I guess that just makes me even happier I got a 460.
Well it just came out, let the drivers mature a bit, and I assume AMD will allow people to get a higher overclock with newer drives if people can just drag settings to full and have a stable system. Then maybe the 6850 will be better than the 460, only time will tell.

23-10-2010, 09:51:41

RSC08
Have you checked the 6850 sample to see if it had 960 shaders or 1120? Because there are a lot (12 sites so far) that got 6850 samples with 1120 unified shaders...

21-11-2010, 10:58:09

murphy7801
6970 less power than a 5970 I hope not mine was sh!t and broke after a week.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.