HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX 512MB PCI-E Graphics Card

F.E.A.R & GRID Results

F.E.A.R
 
F.E.A.R. is a game based on the Lithtech Jupiter EX engine. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S, with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
Racedriver GRID
 
Race Driver: Grid is a visually taxing game that presents a challenge to any graphics system. Results were recorded using FRAPS to log the average FPS over a 2 minute race. To ensure consistency, the same track, car and general path of travel was used in each of the 5 benchmark runs for each graphics card, with an average FPS being calculated from the median three results.
 
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-10-2008, 17:10:14

JN
"HIS may have been sitting in the shadows for the past few years, but now they're back with a vengance. We check out their latest HD4850 IceQ 4 TurboX card."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...210029843s.jpg

HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX 512MB PCI-E Graphics Card

07-10-2008, 17:33:44

D-Cyph3r
You wouldn't happen to know if the ram cooling plate is separate from the actual core part would ya Jim?

I'm thinking a couple of these and a pair of MCW60's would make for a rather tasty party.

07-10-2008, 17:44:05

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='D-Cyph3r'
You wouldn't happen to know if the ram cooling plate is separate from the actual core part would ya Jim?

I'm thinking a couple of these and a pair of MCW60's would make for a rather tasty party.
Indeed it is

I did mention it twice in the review, but we won't go there

07-10-2008, 17:47:00

Rastalovich
Being kinda hands-off from the ATI world, I think the card parallels the other 4850 card pretty well. Further, the extra cash for the cooler and the package as a whole (the screwdriver looks pretty darn handy imo , I'd advise some1 get one so I can nick it hehe). Yeah its tat, but hey it's all in the presentation. Lacks a game tho, from what I can see, to me they should all include a reference game or atleast something to play with - a string of demos, something.

Looks good to me, any audio for that hdmi ? and how much cooler does it get ?!?!

Good review, I'll promote them so I can have a screwdriver !

07-10-2008, 18:08:35

D-Cyph3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Indeed it is

I did mention it twice in the review, but we won't go there
Awesome.

And whoops, I have a habit of skipping straight to the numbers >.<

07-10-2008, 20:40:50

Brooksie
ATI have made a awesome card. 4850 is the card to get . The performance to the price is very good. Would of liked to seen a 4870 in the benchmarks aswell though

08-10-2008, 11:29:26

Luigi
Nice one Jim.. Did you take the cooler off at all? I found there was an abundance of TIM on mine, which went all over the Core PCB

The coolers are nice though, arctic cooling ftw!

12-10-2008, 08:49:49

CrissTM
Its a very nice card indeed. But, i have an Asus 4850 with stock cooler and goes like hell OC @ 695/1110 with temps no higher than 61C.

So, in my opinion its just a card who looks indeed v well, but i wont pay some extra cash for just that and an factory OC when i can make that my self.

Rastalovich, if they r gone put a game bundle then also the price will get higher and, where its gone be the Cost per Frame ?! And what if its gone be a game that u already have or dont like ?!

26-11-2008, 06:17:11

painejake
Hmm im SOO tempted to buy this card but i only got a 4670 a month or so ago and it means ill go into overdraft

Just have to wait till mine stands no more! (Or plays games at a crap fps)

14-12-2008, 10:20:05

Joe90k
I am buying this!!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.