HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX 512MB PCI-E Graphics Card

Test Setup & Overclocking

Test Setup
 
Having already explored the performance of the HD 4850 in several of our previous GPU reviews, today we are going to be concentrating on a head-to-head comparison of the HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX vs a stock clocked Sapphire HD 4850 512mb card also fitted with after-market cooling. While we'll be handing out no prizes to those of us who guess which card will win in terms of FPS (we hope), our focus today is going to be on whether the increase in price of a factory-overclocked card can justify the increase in performance.
 
Test Setup
 
The following list of games has also been chosen to test each of the cards on a number of popular game engines. Each game will be run at varying quality and AF settings at both low and high resolutions.
 
Quake Wars
1280x1024 / High / 4xAA
1600x1200 / High / 4xAA
1920x1200 / High / 4xAA

Unreal Tournament III
1280x1024 / DX10 / High
1600x1200 / DX10 / High
1920x1200 / DX10 / High

Call of Duty 4
1280x1024 / Max / 4xAA / 4xAF
1600x1200 / Max / 4xAA / 4xAF
1920x1200 / Max / 4xAA / 4xAF

F.E.A.R
1280x1024 / Max / 4xAA
1600x1200 / Max / 4xAA
1920x1200 / Max / 4xAA

Crysis
1280x1024 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
1600x1200 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF
1920x1200 / DX10 / High / 0xAA / 0xAF

GRID
1280x1024 / DX10 / High / 4xAA
1600x1200 / DX10 / High / 4xAA
1920x1200 / DX10 / High / 4xAA
 
During the benchmarking phase, we will be using the following prices extracted from scan.co.uk on 07/10/08 to produce our CPF (Cost Per Frame) graphs. Please remember that these graphs are static and only represent a snapshot of the market at the time of this review.
  
 
 
Overclocking
 
Using only the the ATI Overdrive™ facility built into the driver control panel, the maximum overclock we were able to obtain from the HIS HD 4850 was 690mhz on the core and 1190mhz on the memory. The Overdrive facility did actually attempt to overclock the memory higher than this using the "Auto-Tune" option, but unfortunately these settings proved to be unstable when attempting to run any benchmarking applications.
 
HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX Stock HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX Overclocked
Factory OC (Left) vs Custom OC (Right)
 
While only a fairly small overclock on the default 685/1100 settings, this certainly shows that HIS have pushed every ounce of performance out of the card already with the factory overclock. The IceQ 4 cooling system also did an excellent job of keeping the card cool, running at around 40c idle and 60c under heavy extended load (rthdribl).
 
 
A quick run of 3DMark Vantage with "Performance" settings shows a fairly respectable increase in score from P7612 to P7779 showing that sometimes it's even worth pushing the pre-overclocked cards just that little bit further.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-10-2008, 17:10:14

JN
"HIS may have been sitting in the shadows for the past few years, but now they're back with a vengance. We check out their latest HD4850 IceQ 4 TurboX card."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...210029843s.jpg

HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX 512MB PCI-E Graphics Card

07-10-2008, 17:33:44

D-Cyph3r
You wouldn't happen to know if the ram cooling plate is separate from the actual core part would ya Jim?

I'm thinking a couple of these and a pair of MCW60's would make for a rather tasty party.

07-10-2008, 17:44:05

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='D-Cyph3r'
You wouldn't happen to know if the ram cooling plate is separate from the actual core part would ya Jim?

I'm thinking a couple of these and a pair of MCW60's would make for a rather tasty party.
Indeed it is

I did mention it twice in the review, but we won't go there

07-10-2008, 17:47:00

Rastalovich
Being kinda hands-off from the ATI world, I think the card parallels the other 4850 card pretty well. Further, the extra cash for the cooler and the package as a whole (the screwdriver looks pretty darn handy imo , I'd advise some1 get one so I can nick it hehe). Yeah its tat, but hey it's all in the presentation. Lacks a game tho, from what I can see, to me they should all include a reference game or atleast something to play with - a string of demos, something.

Looks good to me, any audio for that hdmi ? and how much cooler does it get ?!?!

Good review, I'll promote them so I can have a screwdriver !

07-10-2008, 18:08:35

D-Cyph3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Indeed it is

I did mention it twice in the review, but we won't go there
Awesome.

And whoops, I have a habit of skipping straight to the numbers >.<

07-10-2008, 20:40:50

Brooksie
ATI have made a awesome card. 4850 is the card to get . The performance to the price is very good. Would of liked to seen a 4870 in the benchmarks aswell though

08-10-2008, 11:29:26

Luigi
Nice one Jim.. Did you take the cooler off at all? I found there was an abundance of TIM on mine, which went all over the Core PCB

The coolers are nice though, arctic cooling ftw!

12-10-2008, 08:49:49

CrissTM
Its a very nice card indeed. But, i have an Asus 4850 with stock cooler and goes like hell OC @ 695/1110 with temps no higher than 61C.

So, in my opinion its just a card who looks indeed v well, but i wont pay some extra cash for just that and an factory OC when i can make that my self.

Rastalovich, if they r gone put a game bundle then also the price will get higher and, where its gone be the Cost per Frame ?! And what if its gone be a game that u already have or dont like ?!

26-11-2008, 06:17:11

painejake
Hmm im SOO tempted to buy this card but i only got a 4670 a month or so ago and it means ill go into overdraft

Just have to wait till mine stands no more! (Or plays games at a crap fps)

14-12-2008, 10:20:05

Joe90k
I am buying this!!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.