HIS HD7970 Crossfire & Eyefinity Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review

Test Setup

Our new LGA2011 bench rig gets its third outing of the day, and the combination of the black and red cards on the black and red Rampage IV certainly looks the part.

2x HIS Digital HD7970
Catalyst HD7970 Drivers 11.12
Intel Core i7-3960X @ 4GHz
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Corsair AX1200
Corsair GTX8
Corsair H100
3x iiyama Prolite 24"
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Overclocking

With Crossfire and Eyefinity on test we have two areas in which our overclock can be forced to be reduced, and so it proves. Rather than the high overclock we saw on the single PowerColor, our Crossfire setup tops out at 1050MHz. Still a good increase, but certainly nothing like the cards are capable of.

PowerColor HD7970 Eyefinity Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-01-2012, 00:05:02

tinytomlogan


If one HD7970 is exceptional, what would the performance of two be like? Thanks to HIS Digital we can find out. Read on.

Continue Reading

09-01-2012, 03:29:16

dugdiamond

09-01-2012, 03:31:08

Excalabur50
Wow nice to see AMD back on top at least for now.

09-01-2012, 11:48:33

dipzy
This is only the begining, can't wait to see the performance of the mega 7990 when its released

Slighty a high price but considering its the fastest single card for now its pretty good.

Nvidia need to bring their next gen cards out, i hope theres a glimps of them at this years CES 2012

09-01-2012, 11:48:34

dipzy
Looks like a good upgrade from 5870 but i'll wait to see what the green team bring out

10-01-2012, 00:26:32

CocaCola
XFire with this card is just amazing. Will have to wait and see what future update/fixes and driver releases will accomplish for the new AMD cards. Hoping they will give nVidia some competition this time.

22-01-2012, 20:45:44

murphy7801
For the price difference the amount actual power you get over the gtx 580 sli (done on 1366 over a year ago) is not that impressive considering the time gap.

22-01-2012, 22:07:23

Azurite
Lots of things that dont make sence in those graphs. Why would normal his cf beat the oc his cf 7970. And why does vtx3d and pcs 7970 oc beat the his in xfire?

27-01-2012, 16:17:50

Sammjoey
Itd be so lovely to have these, but its probably worth waiting a while untill the prices go down a bit or untill we finaly see something from nvidia
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.