HIS HD7970 Crossfire & Eyefinity Review

Up Close

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review

Up Close

Yes it's another reference designed card with a different sticker on it. One of the biggest downsides to the early batch of cards is that manufacturers haven't yet got round to mounting their own cooling solutions, and so we are left with a selection of entirely indistinguishable cards.

The HIS includes all the accessories one would expect to find. Bridges, output adaptors and the like.

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review     HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review  

The switch up next to the Crossfire finger is for dual-BIOS, so you can flash your card safe in the knowledge you wont end up with a very expensive paperweight.

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review     HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review  

Of course no Crossfire review would be complete without some gratuitous hardware porn shots. As great as dual-GPU cards are, there is something more thrilling and more exciting about two single cards than just one big one. We very much like the looks of a tower stuffed with GPUs, and the black and red colour scheme should fit in with most systems.

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review     HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review  

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review     HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-01-2012, 00:05:02

tinytomlogan


If one HD7970 is exceptional, what would the performance of two be like? Thanks to HIS Digital we can find out. Read on.

Continue Reading

09-01-2012, 03:29:16

dugdiamond

09-01-2012, 03:31:08

Excalabur50
Wow nice to see AMD back on top at least for now.

09-01-2012, 11:48:33

dipzy
This is only the begining, can't wait to see the performance of the mega 7990 when its released

Slighty a high price but considering its the fastest single card for now its pretty good.

Nvidia need to bring their next gen cards out, i hope theres a glimps of them at this years CES 2012

09-01-2012, 11:48:34

dipzy
Looks like a good upgrade from 5870 but i'll wait to see what the green team bring out

10-01-2012, 00:26:32

CocaCola
XFire with this card is just amazing. Will have to wait and see what future update/fixes and driver releases will accomplish for the new AMD cards. Hoping they will give nVidia some competition this time.

22-01-2012, 20:45:44

murphy7801
For the price difference the amount actual power you get over the gtx 580 sli (done on 1366 over a year ago) is not that impressive considering the time gap.

22-01-2012, 22:07:23

Azurite
Lots of things that dont make sence in those graphs. Why would normal his cf beat the oc his cf 7970. And why does vtx3d and pcs 7970 oc beat the his in xfire?

27-01-2012, 16:17:50

Sammjoey
Itd be so lovely to have these, but its probably worth waiting a while untill the prices go down a bit or untill we finaly see something from nvidia
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.