HIS HD7970 Crossfire & Eyefinity Review

Introduction and Packaging

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review


One area that the Radeon cards have always been excellent on is their Crossfire scaling performance. Many has been the time we've looked at an otherwise average card and discovered that a pair of them yields a much higher-than-anticipated level of performance.

Given that we know the HD7970 is a total beast of a thing we really couldn't wait to have a go at Crossfire cards. HIS Digital were on hand as always to let us have a pair of cards for testing, and so here we are.

With £800 of graphics cards and a high-end test setup, will the HD7970 Crossfire take us to new heights?

Read on Macduff.


Like PowerColor, HIS Digital seems to be going for an interstellar theme with the current round of packaging. Not a bad visual cue considering the galactic performance available to us.

HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review     HIS HD7970 Crossfire Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-01-2012, 00:05:02


If one HD7970 is exceptional, what would the performance of two be like? Thanks to HIS Digital we can find out. Read on.

Continue Reading

09-01-2012, 03:29:16


09-01-2012, 03:31:08

Wow nice to see AMD back on top at least for now.

09-01-2012, 11:48:33

This is only the begining, can't wait to see the performance of the mega 7990 when its released

Slighty a high price but considering its the fastest single card for now its pretty good.

Nvidia need to bring their next gen cards out, i hope theres a glimps of them at this years CES 2012

09-01-2012, 11:48:34

Looks like a good upgrade from 5870 but i'll wait to see what the green team bring out

10-01-2012, 00:26:32

XFire with this card is just amazing. Will have to wait and see what future update/fixes and driver releases will accomplish for the new AMD cards. Hoping they will give nVidia some competition this time.

22-01-2012, 20:45:44

For the price difference the amount actual power you get over the gtx 580 sli (done on 1366 over a year ago) is not that impressive considering the time gap.

22-01-2012, 22:07:23

Lots of things that dont make sence in those graphs. Why would normal his cf beat the oc his cf 7970. And why does vtx3d and pcs 7970 oc beat the his in xfire?

27-01-2012, 16:17:50

Itd be so lovely to have these, but its probably worth waiting a while untill the prices go down a bit or untill we finaly see something from nvidia

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.