HIS HD7950 Review

Up Close

HIS HD7950 Review

Up Close

As is always the case with HIS packaging it's both compact and eye-grabbing. The internal box is packed with high-density foam to protect your card from the rigours of its trip to your door.

HIS HD7950 Review     HIS HD7950 Review  

Although the colour scheme and general design of the reference cooler is very similar to the HD7970, the centrally mounted fan has always made more sense to us that the end one, and usually leads to quieter operation.

HIS HD7950 Review     HIS HD7950 Review  

Unlike the 8 and 6 arrangement of its bigger brother, the HD7950 only requires two 6pin PCIe power inputs.

Round the business end we have two mini DisplayPorts and the more standard DVI and HDMI outputs. Although the price of adaptors has come down greatly in recent times we'd still prefer a single DisplayPort and twin HDMI.

HIS HD7950 Review     HIS HD7950 Review  

Although the blue PCB looks a little odd against the black and red, the HD7950 certainly is a good looking card for a reference design. Next to the Crossfire fingers we have the BIOS switch which allows you to run the full on overclocked BIOS, or of course if you fancy trying out something more exotic you have the safety of a spare.

HIS HD7950 Review     HIS HD7950 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-01-2012, 23:53:40

tinytomlogan


Following the success of the HD7970 it's time to take a look at the slightly cut down version, here courtesy of HIS.

Continue Reading

31-01-2012, 00:25:56

Azurite
Great card. I love how it performes oc'ed. Seems like His 7950 is slightly better than the other 7950's reviewed.

31-01-2012, 00:45:40

MaXiMiZe
Yeah great card indeed. This is better than the 7970 in terms of price/performance but then again it was always going to be considering the 7970 is the fastest single gpu card out there.

31-01-2012, 04:45:50

yassarikhan786
Really nice performing card and not too far behind the 7970, which is amazing.

31-01-2012, 06:00:30

SieB
The 7950s are impressive and they overclock really easy, an overclocked 7970 would still be faster but for the price of the 7950 and it matching the 7970 at stock when OC'd it is the much better buy.

I have read you can flash the 7950s that have the dual BIOS with an Asus 7970 BIOS and it improves performance but it doesn't unlock the shaders. Don't know how true that is but it's what I have read.

Prices are still to high for the 7950 and 7970 though, but I think that is more to do with AMD taking advantage of having better cards than Nvidia on the market at the moment, anyone buying new or upgrading will be buying a 7970>7950>580. Once Kelper comes out, hopefully soon, prices will most likely drop, unless Nvidia price their cards really high as well.

31-01-2012, 16:23:05

B NEGATIVE
I want 2 of these in my life and im willing to sell the missis to an Afghan carpet maker to get them...

31-01-2012, 16:50:23

MaXiMiZe
Quote:
Originally Posted by B NEGATIVE View Post

I want 2 of these in my life and im willing to sell the missis to an Afghan carpet maker to get them...
Hahaha, she won't be too happy LMAO

01-02-2012, 11:05:02

B NEGATIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMiZe View Post

Hahaha, she won't be too happy LMAO
The secret is....dont tell her.

01-02-2012, 18:41:28

dipzy
Im impressed with the performance as well as no leaf blower noise

I think it would have been better to release the 7970 at the peice when the 5870's were released about 360ish and 7950 about 285-290ish
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.