HIS HD6990 Eyefinity 5760x1080 Review

Test Setup and Methodology

HIS HD6990 Eyefinity Review

Test Setup

And so to the test setup. As well as a plethora of games we're also bringing out the big hardware to make sure that we're doing justice to the HIS HD6990. After all, you're unlikely to have such a beast of a graphics card in a dual-core setup.

HIS Digital HD6990 with Catalyst 11.5 Drivers
Gigabyte Assassin X58 Motherboard
Intel Core i7 980X @ 4.4 GHz
6GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 RAM
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair AX1200 PSU
3x Iiyama Prolite E2473HDS
Windows 7 x64

The last thing we'd want to do is limit the GPU with the CPU, hence today we're using the Intel Core i7 980X overclocked to 4.4 GHz.

The Monitors

For our Eyefinity testing Iiyama kindly supplied us with three Prolite E2473HDS monitors.

HIS HD6990 Eyefinity Review     HIS HD6990 Eyefinity Review

They certainly have outstanding picture quality. The 2ms response time and wide viewing angles are perfect for Eyefinity gaming, and the 1920x1080 resolution is great for ensuring a lack of borders as 16:9 is so common.

Final Notes

Before we get into the meat of the review there are a few things to be aware of.

Firstly we're providing you with a screengrab of the game so you can get a feel for how it looks in triple-screen goodness. Of course these images are big (5760x1080 and around 1MB each) so prepare to be patient and scroll a little.

Secondly for the 1920x1080 tests we have everything max'd out like we normally do, but for the Eyefinity tests we've attempted to balance the image quality with playability. So we've also included a shot of the settings used for each game.

Finally although three of our games (Metro2033, Crysis Warhead and Far Cry 2) appear all the time and so can be compared to other setups, the bulk of the games we've only got a comparison between how big a drop-off the performance has with the tripling of the resolution. In the coming weeks these graphs will flesh out as other reviews appear.

Phew. Got all that? Let's get on with it then.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-06-2011, 05:31:05

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the HD6990 for HIS Digital, and it's the first time we're testing Eyefinity too.



Continue Reading

03-06-2011, 05:36:37

SG12004
nice Review tom as always

03-06-2011, 06:10:00

dugdiamond
i love iiyama HDLEDs

03-06-2011, 07:07:58

sheroo
Tom, have a look at a program called widescreen fixer. It actually fixes the rubbish aspect ratio with black ops, and makes the game totally playable.

In the latest CCC you can set up presets. I have 2 presets 1*5760*1080 & 3*1920*1080. I have these assigned to keyboard shortcuts, so by hitting one key you can change your resolution between "work" mode & "play" mode.

03-06-2011, 07:46:05

Mr. Strawberry
some of the games i was rather disapointed with tbh

the only game i would call 100% in eyefinity is Metro 2033, even crysis warhead wasnt that good, on the 2 outer screens it was zoomed in so if you saw someone they looked right next to you but when you turn to face him he would be 50+ metres away.

where as metro was just perfect all the extra desktop space and it still looked just as detailed

03-06-2011, 07:51:39

Jerome
v cool. That HD resolution is a good standard today. Does the Nvidia 590 not support tripple 1920x1080p etc resolution i heard on motherboards.org, it goes to 720p or similar?

ye ok excuse the Nvidia material please and it is 4800x900 for the 590 here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hO0rPAjPAX4

thanks

03-06-2011, 10:23:00

SieB
BRB, robbing a bank for the money I need to buy 3 monitors and a 6990

03-06-2011, 10:30:18

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerome View Post

v cool. That HD resolution is a good standard today. Does the Nvidia 590 not support tripple 1920x1080p etc resolution i heard on motherboards.org, it goes to 720p or similar?
lol 720p is tiny

03-06-2011, 10:54:19

jonowee
Thou shall not click play on any motherboard.org videos, I watch one for the first time in a month last night and my stomach turned ... not again for a while.

03-06-2011, 20:05:06

Chuby123
They need to change the reference cooler to maybe a asus direct cu top maybe or just water cool the thing. The card gets hot and the fan doesn't do it justice, well with 2 gpu's and 1 fan the fan is having to work so hard. Well the best i have seen is some one using a case fan on top of the fan to cool it down but great card prefer to get the gtx 590 or 2 hd6970 in crossfire. -Thanks

03-06-2011, 20:07:40

Chuby123
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

BRB, robbing a bank for the money I need to buy 3 monitors and a 6990
YES can i borrow some of the money i cant afford this shit !

04-06-2011, 13:29:20

badtaylorx
oh no....looks like i may need to lite a smoke and clean off my keyboard after this!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.