HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

3DMark 05/06/Vantage

3DMark

3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.






 

Result Observations

With both the HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo and the Zotac GTX260 (216) sharing a similar price bracket it's certainly interesting to see them exchange blows in the 3DMark testing. As we can see from above, the HIS nails the Zotac by a significant margin in both 3DMark05 and 3DMark06 showing that it has pottentially more raw power in DX9 based tests at least.

However, as we move on to the DX10 based 3DMark Vantage, the Zotac GTX260 216 fights back, making full use of its built-in PhysX drivers to sway the results back in its favour.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-12-2008, 06:02:07

JN
"Looking for something a little bit more special than a reference HD 4870 with a manufacturer sticker slapped on? Look no further than the HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095350126s.jpg

HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

24-12-2008, 06:26:59

Luigi
This is a great read! I thoroughly enjoyed it.. The estimated price also seems good.. Santa may have a revised list rushed to him

24-12-2008, 08:14:07

!TIMMY!
If I had the to get a 4870 it would def be this. Great cooler, factory oced, good price.

Great review as always Jim!

24-12-2008, 08:29:16

Rastalovich
Great review, even tho I'd not personally buy it, I think this card offers a decent amount of spanking for the price, particularly nVidia's mid-range card.

24-12-2008, 08:54:41

Luigi
Gorgeous pictures too Jimbo.. whoever told you to use a flash gun must be amazing..

24-12-2008, 09:02:22

nepas
I so wish I could afford to but this card,nice review as normal,however one small spelling mistake:the farcry engine is Dunia not dunai

24-12-2008, 09:59:35

zak4994
Because of the simple package, it does make the GTX260 a bit more desirable for anyone who doesn't own the packaged game.

Roughly same price between the two.

Clock the GTX260 higher and it will probably beat the Turbo 4870.

And where the heck is the special screw driver thingy?

24-12-2008, 10:26:05

fruityness
Fine review, and a super card.

I have to ask though.. This part..

Finally we come to the GRID results and as we can see, this is certainly a place where the green team fall flat on their face. Across all resolutions the HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo wipes the floor with the GTX260 and in some cases even the stock clocked Sapphire HD 4870 512Mb sends the Zotac packing.



Why? It's odd that such a high end card can be ***** slapped into yester year on one game, yet hold its own and win a few on others. This about driver optimisations? The games that are popular they tweak the drivers for knowing that they will be used as benches?

24-12-2008, 18:04:34

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fruityness'

Why? It's odd that such a high end card can be ***** slapped into yester year on one game, yet hold its own and win a few on others. This about driver optimisations? The games that are popular they tweak the drivers for knowing that they will be used as benches?
Drivers, game engine, backhander between the developers and ATI...who knows It's quite possible that NV could turn around tomorrow with a new driver that drastically improves GRID performance on the GTX260 and the 4870 gets a good spanking.

25-12-2008, 14:56:20

tinytomlogan
What ever happens its great to see ATI finaly giving Nvid something to worry about and work for.

Great review Jimbo, your a machine where do you get the time!

25-12-2008, 17:50:17

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Drivers, game engine, backhander between the developers and ATI...who knows It's quite possible that NV could turn around tomorrow with a new driver that drastically improves GRID performance on the GTX260 and the 4870 gets a good spanking.
Indeed, it was known for a while that Oblivion benchmarkers used to favor ati designs, and it has to be down to specific dev.

But it's created by a game design platform called Gamebryo, similar to the version used to make DAoC and WAR.

Having a finger in the dev pie can always influence performance.

04-01-2009, 22:06:00

Nelly
Would of been interesting to see crossfire performance with a pair of these against the gtx260 in sli, also gtx 280 single & sli.

05-01-2009, 11:33:02

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nelly'
Would of been interesting to see crossfire performance with a pair of these against the gtx260 in sli, also gtx 280 single & sli.
The thing is, its hard to get companies to lend us that many cards, it would also take a long time to review.. Maybe in the future though :P

21-06-2009, 20:43:13

crunchie
The only thing I would disagree with is the cooler. The fan on this thing is like a leaf blower on full noise!

Main reason I purchased this HIS was because of this review saying the cooler was 'whisper' quiet.

First thing I did was get myself an MCW60-4870.

Nice review otherwise.

22-06-2009, 03:41:06

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='crunchie'
The only thing I would disagree with is the cooler. The fan on this thing is like a leaf blower on full noise!

Main reason I purchased this HIS was because of this review saying the cooler was 'whisper' quiet.

First thing I did was get myself an MCW60-4870.

Nice review otherwise.
Have you checked the fan connections at all? On a different GPU a short while ago I noticed the RPM sensor cable (normally yellow) wasn't plugged in to the connector block properly. As a result the fan was running at full tilt.

22-06-2009, 05:36:14

crunchie
Hi Jim. Nice review .

When I first installed the card I checked the temp through CCC and was surprised to see that it was 67C, no fan running. So I manually ran it using CCC. Anything below 40% fan speed was ok and brought the temps down quite a bit (the cooler itself works really good).

Testing it out and running the fan flat out, I thought that my case was going to start moving across the floor. Loudest fan I have ever heard .

I had included the card into my water loop within a week of buying it, so it's all good now.

Pity I paid a premium price for the HIS though because of it's cooler. Ended up coughing up another $AU139 for the MCW60-4870 too .

All's well that ends well though

22-06-2009, 07:57:40

tinytomlogan
I just leave the cards on auto (Ihave 2) and they are real quiet, never go much above 60c, deffo works much better than a reference 4870 cooler.

22-06-2009, 08:15:47

crunchie
Water sure is nice though. Stays below 40C and quiet to boot .

22-06-2009, 09:10:26

tinytomlogan
Aye built many with water mate, got one on the go now idling at 32c.

Im all for water, but where Ive not had time to do my own :crys: Id had to stay air, and just wanted to say that the coolers are much better than the stock ones and worth the extra few quid.

4870's get hot because of the digital PWM's, so the cooler really does do a good job.

22-06-2009, 09:40:49

crunchie
Got mine idling at 28C and the cpu at 26C atm . GPU's VDDC slave temps are in the mid 30C's.

I had nothing against the ICEQ cooler. It did the job nicely. Just could not handle the noise.

I've just changed the stock 120 fans on the radiator with a couple of 90cfm coolermasters. Running at 2000rpm and they can hardly be heard.

What sort of an OC can these HIS' get to? Had mine to 850 clock and 1100 mem with no artifacting. Haven't tried to go higher.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.