HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

Packaging & Card Appearance

Packaging & Card Appearance

While it seems to be a growing trend for manufacturers' to package their graphics cards inside boxes that barely fit through your front door, HIS have thankfully kept the outer box of the 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo at a reasonable size which will undoubtedly make it easier (and maybe even cheaper?) to ship. The primary colours of the packaging are black and blue, with the IceQ 4+ logo taking centre stage and several general specification stickers aligned to the right.

HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo Box Front HIS 4870 IceQ4 Turbo Box Back

Turning the box over reveals a windowed cutout that serves the purpose of showing off the IceQ 4+ cooler beneath. Several circular images surround this area, pointing out features such as the dual heatpipes; isolated heatsinks for the Memory and GPU; dual slot cooling; gold plated connectors, a larger surface area for improved cooling and finally a durable and UV reactive fan.

HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Inner Box HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo Inner Box

HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo Contents HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo Accessories

Opening the white cardboard inner-box, we can see that HIS have gone to the trouble of placing the graphics card inside a moulded plastic shell. This not only prevents the card from moving around during shipping, but also keeps it well distanced from the edges of the box which often take the brunt of any mishandling by couriers.

The accessories package is fairly basic and contains everything to get you up and running. As shown in the image above, you get a DVI to HDMI converter, a DVI to VGA converter, a Molex to PCI-E cable, a Crossfire bridge and a driver disk. Unfortunately there are no signs of any value added goodies such as the spirit level/screwdriver/torch thingy that HIS included in their 4850 IceQ 4+ Turbo package.

HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Side HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Side

HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ DVI HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Rear
 
At the front of the card you'll find the standard configuration of two DVI ports and an S-Video port bolted to the dual-slot blanking plate. However, HIS have seen fit to gold plate the connections on the DVI ports and also electroplate the blanking plate in a gunmetal black colour. This combined with the custom blue PCB makes the card look simply awesome.

HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Heatpipes HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Cooler

HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Naked HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Components
 
Using a cooler not dissimilar in appearance to the previous generation of Arctic Cooling's 'Silencer' series, a blower fan mounted at the rear of the card pushes air through copper coloured (but most likely aluminium) fins attached to a base plate. As mentioned earlier in the review, the '+' in the IceQ 4+ name signifies that the cooler has received a slight upgrade from the standard IceQ 4 with a larger GPU surface area, wider heatpipes (from 6mm  to 8mm) and Memory/PWM cooling integrated into the metal base.

Going in for a closer look at the memory modules, we can see that HIS have stuck with the Qimonda GDDR5 "IDGV51-05A1F1C-40X" IC's used in the reference design. Produced in week 40 of 2008, these IC's are designed to run at a speed of 3600MHz. However, as we already know, HIS have pushed the chips a further 400MHz to give us a nice round 4000MHz effective memory speed.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-12-2008, 06:02:07

JN
"Looking for something a little bit more special than a reference HD 4870 with a manufacturer sticker slapped on? Look no further than the HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095350126s.jpg

HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

24-12-2008, 06:26:59

Luigi
This is a great read! I thoroughly enjoyed it.. The estimated price also seems good.. Santa may have a revised list rushed to him

24-12-2008, 08:14:07

!TIMMY!
If I had the to get a 4870 it would def be this. Great cooler, factory oced, good price.

Great review as always Jim!

24-12-2008, 08:29:16

Rastalovich
Great review, even tho I'd not personally buy it, I think this card offers a decent amount of spanking for the price, particularly nVidia's mid-range card.

24-12-2008, 08:54:41

Luigi
Gorgeous pictures too Jimbo.. whoever told you to use a flash gun must be amazing..

24-12-2008, 09:02:22

nepas
I so wish I could afford to but this card,nice review as normal,however one small spelling mistake:the farcry engine is Dunia not dunai

24-12-2008, 09:59:35

zak4994
Because of the simple package, it does make the GTX260 a bit more desirable for anyone who doesn't own the packaged game.

Roughly same price between the two.

Clock the GTX260 higher and it will probably beat the Turbo 4870.

And where the heck is the special screw driver thingy?

24-12-2008, 10:26:05

fruityness
Fine review, and a super card.

I have to ask though.. This part..

Finally we come to the GRID results and as we can see, this is certainly a place where the green team fall flat on their face. Across all resolutions the HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo wipes the floor with the GTX260 and in some cases even the stock clocked Sapphire HD 4870 512Mb sends the Zotac packing.



Why? It's odd that such a high end card can be ***** slapped into yester year on one game, yet hold its own and win a few on others. This about driver optimisations? The games that are popular they tweak the drivers for knowing that they will be used as benches?

24-12-2008, 18:04:34

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fruityness'

Why? It's odd that such a high end card can be ***** slapped into yester year on one game, yet hold its own and win a few on others. This about driver optimisations? The games that are popular they tweak the drivers for knowing that they will be used as benches?
Drivers, game engine, backhander between the developers and ATI...who knows It's quite possible that NV could turn around tomorrow with a new driver that drastically improves GRID performance on the GTX260 and the 4870 gets a good spanking.

25-12-2008, 14:56:20

tinytomlogan
What ever happens its great to see ATI finaly giving Nvid something to worry about and work for.

Great review Jimbo, your a machine where do you get the time!

25-12-2008, 17:50:17

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Drivers, game engine, backhander between the developers and ATI...who knows It's quite possible that NV could turn around tomorrow with a new driver that drastically improves GRID performance on the GTX260 and the 4870 gets a good spanking.
Indeed, it was known for a while that Oblivion benchmarkers used to favor ati designs, and it has to be down to specific dev.

But it's created by a game design platform called Gamebryo, similar to the version used to make DAoC and WAR.

Having a finger in the dev pie can always influence performance.

04-01-2009, 22:06:00

Nelly
Would of been interesting to see crossfire performance with a pair of these against the gtx260 in sli, also gtx 280 single & sli.

05-01-2009, 11:33:02

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nelly'
Would of been interesting to see crossfire performance with a pair of these against the gtx260 in sli, also gtx 280 single & sli.
The thing is, its hard to get companies to lend us that many cards, it would also take a long time to review.. Maybe in the future though :P

21-06-2009, 20:43:13

crunchie
The only thing I would disagree with is the cooler. The fan on this thing is like a leaf blower on full noise!

Main reason I purchased this HIS was because of this review saying the cooler was 'whisper' quiet.

First thing I did was get myself an MCW60-4870.

Nice review otherwise.

22-06-2009, 03:41:06

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='crunchie'
The only thing I would disagree with is the cooler. The fan on this thing is like a leaf blower on full noise!

Main reason I purchased this HIS was because of this review saying the cooler was 'whisper' quiet.

First thing I did was get myself an MCW60-4870.

Nice review otherwise.
Have you checked the fan connections at all? On a different GPU a short while ago I noticed the RPM sensor cable (normally yellow) wasn't plugged in to the connector block properly. As a result the fan was running at full tilt.

22-06-2009, 05:36:14

crunchie
Hi Jim. Nice review .

When I first installed the card I checked the temp through CCC and was surprised to see that it was 67C, no fan running. So I manually ran it using CCC. Anything below 40% fan speed was ok and brought the temps down quite a bit (the cooler itself works really good).

Testing it out and running the fan flat out, I thought that my case was going to start moving across the floor. Loudest fan I have ever heard .

I had included the card into my water loop within a week of buying it, so it's all good now.

Pity I paid a premium price for the HIS though because of it's cooler. Ended up coughing up another $AU139 for the MCW60-4870 too .

All's well that ends well though

22-06-2009, 07:57:40

tinytomlogan
I just leave the cards on auto (Ihave 2) and they are real quiet, never go much above 60c, deffo works much better than a reference 4870 cooler.

22-06-2009, 08:15:47

crunchie
Water sure is nice though. Stays below 40C and quiet to boot .

22-06-2009, 09:10:26

tinytomlogan
Aye built many with water mate, got one on the go now idling at 32c.

Im all for water, but where Ive not had time to do my own :crys: Id had to stay air, and just wanted to say that the coolers are much better than the stock ones and worth the extra few quid.

4870's get hot because of the digital PWM's, so the cooler really does do a good job.

22-06-2009, 09:40:49

crunchie
Got mine idling at 28C and the cpu at 26C atm . GPU's VDDC slave temps are in the mid 30C's.

I had nothing against the ICEQ cooler. It did the job nicely. Just could not handle the noise.

I've just changed the stock 120 fans on the radiator with a couple of 90cfm coolermasters. Running at 2000rpm and they can hardly be heard.

What sort of an OC can these HIS' get to? Had mine to 850 clock and 1100 mem with no artifacting. Haven't tried to go higher.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.