HIS 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

Introduction & Specifications

Introduction & Specifications

HISJust a couple of months ago we got our first taste of the HIS line-up in the form of their HD4850 IceQ 4 TurboX card. With its custom cooling, beefy overclock, decent accessories package and unique looks, the card was a refreshing break from the 
usual array of reference ATI cards 'customised' with little more than a sticker by their AIB partners.

Since then HIS have been hard at work adding a bit of magic sparkle to the fairly new HD4870 1GB and today we've been given the chance to test the fruits of their labour. Crowned the 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo and dubbed by HIS as being the "The fastest single GPU card ever", this statement certainly leaves the card open to competition from the likes of NVIDIA's GTX280. However, before we get down to the nitty gritty of the review let's have a quick recap of HIS's mission statement for the benefit of those who haven't already had the pleasure:

HIS was established in 1987 with the mission to produce the highest quality graphic cards in the industry. Besides strong devotion to excellent products and services, HIS has been conducting business with the aim to "Glorifying God". Honesty and integrity are the two key principals of how HIS are conducted. Ethical business practice has been an everyday commitment to our clients, vendors, and investors.

Year 2002 marked a milestone in HIS's history, with "Excalibur" as the encore product for the company. The "HIS Excalibur Graphics Board" proved its name by passing the vigorous and stringent testing of the widely recognized media worldwide. Not only so, but has been crowned with various honors such as: Tom's Hardware, Anandtech and PC Magazine. In Sept 2003, HIS incorporated the state-of-the art Supreme Cooling Technology in the award winning HIS Excalibur 9800Pro IceQ which became the HIS IceQ, IceQ II and now the IceQ 3 Series. Since then, this product has been the limelight in the market for its outstanding performance and features over the other rivals.

Simply by analysing the name of the 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo we can tell that the card has been fitted with HIS's award winning aftermarket cooling system. This performed exceptionally well in our previous testing of the HIS 4850 IceQ 4 TurboX and as the following information below will tell us, slight improvements have been made to the IceQ 4 cooler design - hence the inclusion of an  '+' symbol at the end of its name.

HIS HD 4870 IceQ 4+ Turbo 1GB GDDR5 - Fastest Single GPU Graphic Card Ever!
" With IceQ 4+, we have redesigned the heat distribution mechanism itself. Utilising a brand new 8mm heatpipe design means we have increased the thermal transfer capacity by 60% over the previous IceQ 4 design. HIS delivers gamers a triple-advantage of faster, cooler and quieter in-game performance! "

• IceQ 4 Cooling Technology - Faster, Cooler, Quieter, Crossfire Advantage, UV Sensitive
• Powered by Radeon® HD 4870 GPU
• 956 million transistors on 55nm fabrication process
• 800 stream processing units
• DirectX® 10.1
• 24x custom filter anti-aliasing (CFAA) and high performance anisotropic filtering
• ATI CrossFireXTM multi-GPU support for highly scalable performance
• Use up to four discrete cards with an AMD 790FX based motherboard
• PCI Express® 2.0 support

Manu. Process: (Micron) 55nm
Transistor: 956 million
Memory Size: (MB) 1024
Memory Type: GDDR5
RAMDAC (MHz): 400
Engine CLK (MHz): 770
Memory CLK (MHz): 4000
Memory Interface (bit): 256

As you would expect from a graphics card bearing the word 'Turbo' in it's name, the HIS 4870 1GB comes pre-overclocked to 770MHz / 4000MHz for the Core and Memory respectively. Comparing this to the 750MHz / 3600MHz clocks of a reference 4870 1GB we can see that HIS have err'd on the side of caution especially where the Core speed is concerned, quite possibly to leave plenty of headroom for a 'TurboX' version of the card if they so wish.

Now that we've got some of the formalities out of the way, let's move on to the unboxing of the card...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-12-2008, 06:02:07

JN
"Looking for something a little bit more special than a reference HD 4870 with a manufacturer sticker slapped on? Look no further than the HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095350126s.jpg

HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

24-12-2008, 06:26:59

Luigi
This is a great read! I thoroughly enjoyed it.. The estimated price also seems good.. Santa may have a revised list rushed to him

24-12-2008, 08:14:07

!TIMMY!
If I had the to get a 4870 it would def be this. Great cooler, factory oced, good price.

Great review as always Jim!

24-12-2008, 08:29:16

Rastalovich
Great review, even tho I'd not personally buy it, I think this card offers a decent amount of spanking for the price, particularly nVidia's mid-range card.

24-12-2008, 08:54:41

Luigi
Gorgeous pictures too Jimbo.. whoever told you to use a flash gun must be amazing..

24-12-2008, 09:02:22

nepas
I so wish I could afford to but this card,nice review as normal,however one small spelling mistake:the farcry engine is Dunia not dunai

24-12-2008, 09:59:35

zak4994
Because of the simple package, it does make the GTX260 a bit more desirable for anyone who doesn't own the packaged game.

Roughly same price between the two.

Clock the GTX260 higher and it will probably beat the Turbo 4870.

And where the heck is the special screw driver thingy?

24-12-2008, 10:26:05

fruityness
Fine review, and a super card.

I have to ask though.. This part..

Finally we come to the GRID results and as we can see, this is certainly a place where the green team fall flat on their face. Across all resolutions the HIS 4870 IceQ4+ Turbo wipes the floor with the GTX260 and in some cases even the stock clocked Sapphire HD 4870 512Mb sends the Zotac packing.



Why? It's odd that such a high end card can be ***** slapped into yester year on one game, yet hold its own and win a few on others. This about driver optimisations? The games that are popular they tweak the drivers for knowing that they will be used as benches?

24-12-2008, 18:04:34

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='fruityness'

Why? It's odd that such a high end card can be ***** slapped into yester year on one game, yet hold its own and win a few on others. This about driver optimisations? The games that are popular they tweak the drivers for knowing that they will be used as benches?
Drivers, game engine, backhander between the developers and ATI...who knows It's quite possible that NV could turn around tomorrow with a new driver that drastically improves GRID performance on the GTX260 and the 4870 gets a good spanking.

25-12-2008, 14:56:20

tinytomlogan
What ever happens its great to see ATI finaly giving Nvid something to worry about and work for.

Great review Jimbo, your a machine where do you get the time!

25-12-2008, 17:50:17

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Drivers, game engine, backhander between the developers and ATI...who knows It's quite possible that NV could turn around tomorrow with a new driver that drastically improves GRID performance on the GTX260 and the 4870 gets a good spanking.
Indeed, it was known for a while that Oblivion benchmarkers used to favor ati designs, and it has to be down to specific dev.

But it's created by a game design platform called Gamebryo, similar to the version used to make DAoC and WAR.

Having a finger in the dev pie can always influence performance.

04-01-2009, 22:06:00

Nelly
Would of been interesting to see crossfire performance with a pair of these against the gtx260 in sli, also gtx 280 single & sli.

05-01-2009, 11:33:02

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nelly'
Would of been interesting to see crossfire performance with a pair of these against the gtx260 in sli, also gtx 280 single & sli.
The thing is, its hard to get companies to lend us that many cards, it would also take a long time to review.. Maybe in the future though :P

21-06-2009, 20:43:13

crunchie
The only thing I would disagree with is the cooler. The fan on this thing is like a leaf blower on full noise!

Main reason I purchased this HIS was because of this review saying the cooler was 'whisper' quiet.

First thing I did was get myself an MCW60-4870.

Nice review otherwise.

22-06-2009, 03:41:06

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='crunchie'
The only thing I would disagree with is the cooler. The fan on this thing is like a leaf blower on full noise!

Main reason I purchased this HIS was because of this review saying the cooler was 'whisper' quiet.

First thing I did was get myself an MCW60-4870.

Nice review otherwise.
Have you checked the fan connections at all? On a different GPU a short while ago I noticed the RPM sensor cable (normally yellow) wasn't plugged in to the connector block properly. As a result the fan was running at full tilt.

22-06-2009, 05:36:14

crunchie
Hi Jim. Nice review .

When I first installed the card I checked the temp through CCC and was surprised to see that it was 67C, no fan running. So I manually ran it using CCC. Anything below 40% fan speed was ok and brought the temps down quite a bit (the cooler itself works really good).

Testing it out and running the fan flat out, I thought that my case was going to start moving across the floor. Loudest fan I have ever heard .

I had included the card into my water loop within a week of buying it, so it's all good now.

Pity I paid a premium price for the HIS though because of it's cooler. Ended up coughing up another $AU139 for the MCW60-4870 too .

All's well that ends well though

22-06-2009, 07:57:40

tinytomlogan
I just leave the cards on auto (Ihave 2) and they are real quiet, never go much above 60c, deffo works much better than a reference 4870 cooler.

22-06-2009, 08:15:47

crunchie
Water sure is nice though. Stays below 40C and quiet to boot .

22-06-2009, 09:10:26

tinytomlogan
Aye built many with water mate, got one on the go now idling at 32c.

Im all for water, but where Ive not had time to do my own :crys: Id had to stay air, and just wanted to say that the coolers are much better than the stock ones and worth the extra few quid.

4870's get hot because of the digital PWM's, so the cooler really does do a good job.

22-06-2009, 09:40:49

crunchie
Got mine idling at 28C and the cpu at 26C atm . GPU's VDDC slave temps are in the mid 30C's.

I had nothing against the ICEQ cooler. It did the job nicely. Just could not handle the noise.

I've just changed the stock 120 fans on the radiator with a couple of 90cfm coolermasters. Running at 2000rpm and they can hardly be heard.

What sort of an OC can these HIS' get to? Had mine to 850 clock and 1100 mem with no artifacting. Haven't tried to go higher.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.