HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review

Test Setup and Up Close

HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review

Test Setup

Of course if you were buying the best, then you're very likely to end up with a i7-3960X based system and plenty of power, which is exactly what we have here today.

4x AMD HD7970
Catalyst HD7970 Drivers 11.12
Intel Core i7-3960X @ 4GHz
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
2x Corsair AX1200W
Corsair GTX8
Corsair H100
Noctua NF-F12 Fans
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Up Close

Now that is one hell of a lot of cables and power. 4 Grands worth of hardware all ready to be pushed hard.

HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review     HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review  

HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review     HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review  

HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review     HD7970 Quadfire Eyefinity Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-01-2012, 00:09:06

tinytomlogan


So what if money was no object? What if you want to break world records? Perhaps Quadfire HD7970s would be the ticket...

Continue Reading

09-01-2012, 00:15:17

Lollipop

09-01-2012, 00:41:13

ruthless
awesome cards and awesome review(s) tom, cant wait to get one hopefully they will drop a bit by march/april

09-01-2012, 00:58:18

cerbrus2
Amen!

09-01-2012, 02:04:07

mayhem
Nice for a world record beater probs under D-ice how ever completely pointless except for willy waving people. Chances of selling such set ups to people with no brains in this environment is slim. Still doesn't make up for the mess up in the CPU scene though.

you probably be able to heat up your whole home with the ammount of heat they will pump out to..

09-01-2012, 02:44:40

Solidarity
There are cheaper ways to heat a room, however none quite as impressive.

09-01-2012, 03:13:49

piotrekhc
nice supprise they cost less than i expected and the performance !

09-01-2012, 03:30:53

dugdiamond
hmmm - seems that amd may have redeemed themselves a little after BD

09-01-2012, 05:27:37

Leibritz
Do you think we should be afraid that studios are going to produce games that can only be run on specific brand of GPU's? Xbox or PS3 exclusives come to my mind... Of course, one can have both PS3 and an Xbox but owning two gaming rigs gets problematic.

09-01-2012, 06:12:28

SieB
Epic results.

Would be interesting to see this done again when the drivers have matured a bit to see how much of a difference there is. Even if some of it is to do with the game there should still be an increase in performance with better drivers, it's always the same with new cards especially AMD ones 2-3 drivers time and things should improve a bit.

09-01-2012, 06:17:33

Ya93sin
Nice numbers there

09-01-2012, 10:37:41

badtaylorx
whhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttt????????? ???

just when i start to loose faith and think your starting to play favorites....(ie that aria giveaway vid)

you do something like this and TOTALLY restore my faith.....

thank you.....honestly

bTx

09-01-2012, 12:12:16

mayhem
tbh i think Tom hit the nail on the head with the review. The problems of hard ware manufacturer and game devs not talking is a massive problem. There is no single set standard and this is what causes issues and this is why the xbox , ps3, wii all work. You simply put in a game and it works.

Personally i think that such a set up is a complete waste of money as you can get a single card that yes maybe not as fast how ever gives close the the same results under game play.

What you need to think is, does all that horse power give any real extra benefit and the answer is no it does not. So why throw away good money. If you what a Powerful card then switch to professional card which has more grunt at doing video editing and such tasks.

Put this card up against the top pro cards and i bet it shows lacking in many departments. Lets see a review were you put this card up against say a Quadro and see what happens.

09-01-2012, 12:54:04

integratable
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

tbh i think Tom hit the nail on the head with the review. The problems of hard ware manufacturer and game devs not talking is a massive problem. There is no single set standard and this is what causes issues and this is why the xbox , ps3, wii all work. You simply put in a game and it works.

Personally i think that such a set up is a complete waste of money as you can get a single card that yes maybe not as fast how ever gives close the the same results under game play.

What you need to think is, does all that horse power give any real extra benefit and the answer is no it does not. So why throw away good money. If you what a Powerful card then switch to professional card which has more grunt at doing video editing and such tasks.

Put this card up against the top pro cards and i bet it shows lacking in many departments. Lets see a review were you put this card up against say a Quadro and see what happens.
What do you mean top pro cards. Do you think that these old gpu's made for video editing will beat any high end gaming card in games or 3d benchmarks? No they wont. And god damn stop stating the obvious that this is a waste of money. So annoying when you people repeat what tom already said a hundred times.

09-01-2012, 12:57:56

SieB
To be fair I think this is pretty obvious that it's a waste of money for a set up like this and I doubt anyone here or anywhere else would consider buying 4 7970s.

This is just your typical OC3D madness and Tom doing it because he can and hey, why not, it's fun to see stuff like this and i'm sure Tom loves doing it too

09-01-2012, 14:01:50

Ya93sin
Quote:
Originally Posted by integratable View Post

What do you mean top pro cards. Do you think that these old gpu's made for video editing will beat any high end gaming card in games or 3d benchmarks? No they wont. And god damn stop stating the obvious that this is a waste of money. So annoying when you people repeat what tom already said a hundred times.
Workstation cards? nVidia Quadro and AMD FirePro?

09-01-2012, 14:02:12

oneseraph
Just wanted to thank Tom for doing this over the top set up. It may be pointless, "but that is the point" right. For most of us there is no way we are going to be able set something like this up and have a go at it. So thank you Tom for setting it up running all the tests and satisfying our collective geek curiosity.

One more reason OC3D "ROCKS"

09-01-2012, 14:14:45

integratable
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ya93sin View Post

Workstation cards? nVidia Quadro and AMD FirePro?
I know them mate.They are shit in gaming. Not created for them... It's like racing in rally with a crane.

09-01-2012, 15:34:36

Fredtrix
Yes, send them all to me and I'll make sure to break some world records...

10-01-2012, 08:19:46

grammaton_feather
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post



So what if money was no object? What if you want to break world records? Perhaps Quadfire HD7970s would be the ticket...

Continue Reading
I find it amusing some review sites test the latest hardware with a variety of OLD computer games.

Crysis 2 being the exception. Why isn't battlefield 3 there? On multiplayer Ultra settings it's a GPU killer.

10-01-2012, 14:29:19

yassarikhan786
^^If you watched the video reviews you'd know that BF3 wouldn't work with 2 cards let alone 4, which is why you don't see it in the written reviews. Also the most demanding games are used, so it doesn't matter if they're over a year old. There's no point using a "newer" game when it is not as demanding or as good looking graphically as the games currently used in the reviews.

11-01-2012, 00:47:31

unknownuser200

11-01-2012, 06:32:57

Natashaful
I must Own!!!! I wonder how Swtor runs with those cards

11-01-2012, 12:43:28

Scoob
Gotta say, I love seeing stuff like this. Yeah, it's highly unlikely that any of us would ever do this for a home gamer but it's still a joy to see tech done to the max like this. Same with cars, love seeing Porsche, Ferrari, Lambourghini etc. nutting it around tracks but not going to buy one - happy with my Impreza companioned with my Focus diesel lol.

Next week: Tom's testing FIVE cards for extreme ePeen, four in the rig and the fifth to stuff down his pants lol

Scoob.

31-01-2012, 16:17:31

Kartoff
What happened ? What forced you to use 2x AX1200 ? Did you mean 1 is not enough to power whole system
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.