Gigabyte Radeon HD 5870 1GB Crossfire

In the flesh

In the flesh...
 

 
 
The Gigabyte Radeon HD 5870 arrived in a standard but well packaged box. Included was a single dual 4pin molex to PCI-Express 6pin adapter, Crossfire Bridge, Driver CD and of course the graphics card itself. There isn't much in particular that differentiates this Gigabyte HD 5870 with the HIS HD 5870 that we previously tested or infact the ATi Engineering Sample that we first previewed. At this stage, you can expect these graphics cards to be based on the same PCB's, have the same I/O combinations, the same Memory IC's and most notably the same cooling solution. Due to this, all that separates the graphics cards from brand to brand lies with aftersales support in the even that it goes up in smoke, additional software such as overclocking tools (which the Gigabyte doesn't seem to include) and of course, the shiny sticker on the top of the heatsink shroud.
 
 

As previously mentioned in other reviews, the HD 5870 is a particularly long graphics card at around 10.5". It may not necessarily fit in all system chassis however, the Aux Power connectors are conveniently placed on the top. The cooler itself by design is more of a small evolution of the previous generation solutions rather than an entire redesign. Beyond that box shapped shroud lies the all too common blower style fan, that ducts air towards a heatpipe cooler and out towards open vents at the rear of the I/O panel. In theory it should all work rather well and unless Gigabyte have incorporated a more aggressive fan speed table on their HD 5870's, our previous experiences with these graphics cards indicate that they should be very quiet...Silence being a quality that we like to see in even the warmest of graphics cards.
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-10-2009, 04:08:44

tinytomlogan
How good would 5870 Crossfire be? OC3D finally answer the questions you all are asking. By Mul.

Continue Reading

24-10-2009, 04:36:29

Rastalovich
Some really good figures going on there. The scaling does indeed look pretty impressive.

Good review.

Does xfire suffer the same casualty as sli in so much as if there's "a profile" for a game, the performance is that much better ?

lmao @ MSFX, one probable exception where a 16 core dual zeon setup with 16g will do u better than a smart gfxcard.

It's perhaps tiring review-wize to have to pre-qualify each game with "old..", "a bit older..". With a bunch of games coming (if schedules hold up) in Q1'10 that support Dx11, it might be worth thinking of consolidating the range of games used by OC3D as benchmarkers. Worth holding onto 1/2 Dx9 ? Maybe. Hold onto 1/2 Dx10 ? Probably. And I would imagine the earlier Dx11 releases would be asked to have bench markers built into them.

Great stuff.

24-10-2009, 04:44:55

tinytomlogan
When the DX11 games come through you can expect to see a new batch of reviews Rast and the games we use for benches change also. I for one am very interested in what Dirt2 for example plays like in DX10 vs DX11 mode. We shall see.

24-10-2009, 04:54:31

sammytomjohn
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
When the DX11 games come through you can expect to see a new batch of reviews Rast and the games we use for benches change also. I for one am very interested in what Dirt2 for example plays like in DX10 vs DX11 mode. We shall see.
yes tom! dirt2 was on my mind also as soon as you mentioned dx11!

24-10-2009, 11:26:56

zak4994
Epic review dude.

Am loving that design on the card.

600fps in CoD4?

Who needs that much?

24-10-2009, 13:36:28

VonBlade
5870 CF? *puts on Clarkson voice* ... POWAAAAAAHHHHHHH.

Yipes that is just stupendously powerful.

I definitely think that you need to find games that are harder on the graphics. Or perhaps even the whole system. COD4 hitting 600 makes that bench utterly worthless now. Might as well bench Quake 2

Dirt (original) is heavy on systems, so I imagine Dirt2 will be too. Maybe swap Grid for Dirt2, or even NFS Shift.

Crysis and Far Cry 2 still get it done in FPS terms. Can't think of much in the immediate future that's close. Apart from Crysis2 obviously.

CoH is still heavy for RTS' although Dawn of War II can potentially push a system harder.

Mirrors Edge can be hefty with decent settings, even if it is old.

I've not tried Flashpoint 2 or the new update for Stalker, but I imagine they'll be pretty hefty too.

I certainly think the time to retire Grid, Quake and COD4 has come.

24-10-2009, 22:03:00

WelshD1K
606 ....... need i say more?

05-11-2009, 10:04:32

Maxrunner
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WelshD1K'
606 ....... need i say more?
I dont get those medium fps for cod4, not in the multiplayer......are those singleplayer tests? There's not way im getting 170fps medium on multiplayer with everything maxed out, and im using an i7920 at 4ghz and 9.10 catalyst drivers....

The medium i currently have is 125fps/130fps multiplayer.

11-02-2010, 14:25:48

yaniv1512
is it good for Cad and 3d applications ?

where can i find benchmark for the hd5780 in Cad and 3d applications?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.