Gigabyte nVidia GTX780 SLI vs GTX Titan SLI Comparison

Conclusion

Gigabyte nVidia GTX780 SLI vs GTX Titan SLI Comparison

Conclusion

So the million dollar question that's been lighting up the forums and discussions over a pint is, "which is better, the GTX780 or GTX Titan, and do you need that 6GB of GDDR5 in high resolution settings?".

When we looked at the GTX780 we found it to be a couple of frames behind the GTX Titan, but because of the price differential it was the wiser choice, even if it wasn't the choice for the people who demand the absolute best and the kudos that comes from being able to claim you have a GTX Titan in your system. So it stood to reason that running the very latest titles at maximum settings on our big 2560x1440 monitor should stretch the gap between the two offerings. After all, if the GTX Titan is two or three frames better as a single card then as two it should be five or six better in SLI right. Right?

Nope.

If anything has come from our SLI testing today it's that the GTX780 is an even better proposition than it seemed as a single card. Regularly when the going got tough and the benchmarks strenuous the Gigabyte GTX780 SLI setup trumped its bigger brother. Only in the low resolution gentler benchmarks, 3D Mark on the performance preset and CatZilla) did the Titan have enough raw CUDA cores to take the crown and even then it's by a barely noticeable margin.

The biggest shocks come from the fact that the GTX780s clearly scale much better than the Titans. We often saw numbers near or past the 100% mark from the extra card, whereas the GTX Titan never really doubled the single card performance. In gaming, which is where it counts, the GTX780 SLI setup was constantly ahead of the Titan. After all, nobody can watch Unigine on a loop, no matter how beautiful it is.

So the GTX780 was the sensible choice for all but the most well-heeled user or those who are seeking to break some world records. In SLI the GTX780 is the best choice for both your pocket and for those looking for the smoothest gameplay experience around. You could argue that for the two people who have three 30" monitors then perhaps the extra GDDR5 available to the GTX Titan frame buffer will mean that it will squeak out a little more performance than the GTX780, but if you could afford such an arrangement you'd buy the Titan's regardless of cost.

The GTX780 SLI setup is the current champion. The King. The Daddy. It bows to nobody. It has given us the highest scores we've ever seen in some tests, and out-performed even a GTX690 SLI setup, which isn't exactly lacking in performance. The GTX Titan exists solely for those with more money than sense, who rely upon the cachet of the name amongst those who believe that bigger must be better. It isn't though.

Thanks to Gigabyte for supplying the GTX780s and GTX Titans for our review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-07-2013, 05:38:05

tinytomlogan
The GTX780 ran the GTX Titan very close. Today, courtesy of Gigabyte, we see how the SLI results compare and which is the better buy.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113549596l.JPG


Continue Reading

11-07-2013, 06:01:55

PBaines
Really worth the extra $$$ for the Titans? I think not! (Not for any mainstream user atleast)

11-07-2013, 06:21:12

remember300
It was good to see you prediction from when the 780's came out, which was that unless your doing high res and multiple displays, there is not really any point to buy titans except for bragging rights, the only thing is i guess that when water cooling, maybe the titans with the extra ram will over take the 780's by a larger margin. But for the general person, (like me ) the 780 will make alot of happy boys and girls if its a single card or more.

11-07-2013, 06:24:28

coolmiester
Great video as always Tom.......i notice at 20:36 you mention SLI watercooling briefly and suggest series is better and youre not a fan of parallel which is something i have always been a fan of also but would love to see a video of the two methods back to back while youve got the 780s or Titans in house

............as if you haven't got enough on your plate

11-07-2013, 07:15:57

SieB
Personally i'd be a bit pissed off with Nvidia if i'd bought a Titan only for them to release the 780 for a few hundred quid cheaper.

it's the same with the 680 and 670. Some 670s (Asus DCII) have the same performance and overclock better than some 680s. Not that much of a price difference between the 670 and 680 though, not compared to the 780 and Titan anyway.

Just like the 670s there are a few 780s with aftermarket coolers and factory overclocks which most likely beat the Titan as well.

As Tom said though the Titan is an Epeen card and most people that bought one bought it for that reason. Nothing wrong with that though.

11-07-2013, 07:21:27

antihero
Nice video Tom, glad to see you're back. However, I have one small gripe. Why did you compare a 780 @ 954/1006 to a Titan @ 837/876 ? Not to defend the Titan but wouldn't it be fair to compare them stock to stock and/or OC to OC??

11-07-2013, 07:24:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by antihero View Post
Nice video Tom, glad to see you're back. However, I have one small gripe. Why did you compare a 780 @ 954/1006 to a Titan @ 837/876 ? Not to defend the Titan but wouldn't it be fair to compare them stock to stock and/or OC to OC??
They are both out of the box cards mate.

11-07-2013, 07:46:29

antihero
What I mean is the 780 Windforce is slightly factory-overclocked (actually clocked a good ~10.5% higher than reference 780) and has a custom cooling solution while the Titan used in the video is a reference card. When comparing them reference to reference the difference in performance might be enough to see the Titans in front in some of the graphs, if not by a large margin.

11-07-2013, 08:08:49

SuB
Are there actually any 'factory overclocked' titans?

Seems fair to compare a card to card in the out of box state to me

11-07-2013, 08:17:13

Ulijin
Thanks TTL good to see you back! You forgot the "ding" at the end though. Sniff sniff

@antihero
I know what you mean - it would be nice to see stock Titan compared with stock 780 in SLI with water cooling blocks etc. However Tom is comparing a 780 card that's cheaper than the Titan and showing it has better performance, which is great consumer advice! As an SLI Titan owner, believe me I wish it wasn't the case. In my defence though I bought them before the 780 came along.

Cheers,
Ulijin.

11-07-2013, 08:17:32

wassupdoc
Very nice review and interesting conclusion! I have to ask though... (OCD alert) how come the top card is missing the gigabyte logo?

11-07-2013, 08:20:48

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassupdoc View Post
Very nice review and interesting conclusion! I have to ask though... (OCD alert) how come the top card is missing the gigabyte logo?
Top one is pre release. Lower one is the newer retail version

11-07-2013, 09:47:18

wassupdoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Top one is pre release. Lower one is the newer retail version
Ahh that explains it Cheers for another great review TTL!

11-07-2013, 10:02:58

Damien c
This has just made my mind, up about whether I should go for SLI Titans in a few months or 780's.

Cracking vid and saved me some cash nice one Tom.

11-07-2013, 13:42:47

Al-gahaim
Thanks a lot. I've been waiting for this review. Well done as always. It shows again that the x80 models are the best (580, 680, and now 780)

11-07-2013, 14:03:22

Mysterae
Nice review mate, I have wondered what the difference would be. I'll be honest and say that two Titans were never on my splurge list, but two 780's...perhaps .

I think it would be a good addition to your review if you added in a third 780, so comparing them on cost per set up rather than physical cards. However, it doesn't take much deducing that it'll be better, I'd just like to know by how much .

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolmiester View Post
Great video as always Tom.......i notice at 20:36 you mention SLI watercooling briefly and suggest series is better and youre not a fan of parallel which is something i have always been a fan of also but would love to see a video of the two methods back to back while youve got the 780s or Titans in house

............as if you haven't got enough on your plate
I too would like to see this, if only to settle the debate. I think the difference between either series or parallel wouldn't be that large, and would say loop design/placement/aesthetics should be a factor when deciding between. In saying that though, I could either have gone serial and used 2 x8 slots, or parallel and 2 x16 slots. I went parallel . If I had any time I would try the series to compare, but my temps are so good with a 1080 rad (never 50C, oc'd, even in this weather), it's moot.

One last thing - how about a 2560 x 1600 30" monitor? That'll stretch the legs of both set ups, and if a person has the coin for sli such as these, then surely they have the same for big screen gaming. Multi-screen? Nah, tried that, horrid!

11-07-2013, 14:20:25

FeaRdXcisionZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysterae View Post
Nice review mate, I have wondered what the difference would be. I'll be honest and say that two Titans were never on my splurge list, but two 780's...perhaps .

I think it would be a good addition to your review if you added in a third 780, so comparing them on cost per set up rather than physical cards. However, it doesn't take much deducing that it'll be better, I'd just like to know by how much .



I too would like to see this, if only to settle the debate. I think the difference between either series or parallel wouldn't be that large, and would say loop design/placement/aesthetics should be a factor when deciding between. In saying that though, I could either have gone serial and used 2 x8 slots, or parallel and 2 x16 slots. I went parallel . If I had any time I would try the series to compare, but my temps are so good with a 1080 rad (never 50C, oc'd, even in this weather), it's moot.

One last thing - how about a 2560 x 1600 30" monitor? That'll stretch the legs of both set ups, and if a person has the coin for sli such as these, then surely they have the same for big screen gaming. Multi-screen? Nah, tried that, horrid!

In case you can't do maths, 5670 x 1080 is a higher resolution than 2560 x 1600. If it works on the prior it will work better on the latter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB View Post
Are there actually any 'factory overclocked' titans?

Seems fair to compare a card to card in the out of box state to me
No it doesn't, it's testing two products prior to any user modifications? It's proving that for much less money, if one doesn't wish to modify, one can have a matching system.

11-07-2013, 14:47:38

Mysterae
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeaRdXcisionZ View Post
In case you can't do maths, 5670 x 1080 is a higher resolution than 2560 x 1600. If it works on the prior it will work better on the latter.
http://xmysterae.webspace.virginmedi..._sherlock2.jpg

In case you read a different review, no multi-screen numbers were posted here.

Meh, welcome to OC3D...

11-07-2013, 14:47:49

SuB
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeaRdXcisionZ View Post
No it doesn't, it's testing two products prior to any user modifications? It's proving that for much less money, if one doesn't wish to modify, one can have a matching system.
So you quoted me, said no it doesn't and then backed up my statement...?

A card out of the box, is not user modified dude.

Also, less of the attitude please, not a great first opening post

11-07-2013, 15:04:03

Watsyerproblem
amazing results from both cards.

the 3dmark 11 scores are around 4x my system, that's insane!!

11-07-2013, 15:28:47

Vlada011
780 is excellent card. I mean really worth buying. If I remember they give us little better performance for this time than GTX680 and GTX580.
I change euro in dollars today and for two days send in USA because buying of my card is little complicate because I want and nice look, hard core card, nice flat and wide card.

11-07-2013, 16:30:57

ShaunB-91
Cheers Tom, I needed that review. 780 it is then.

12-07-2013, 02:24:09

Ciric
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysterae View Post
Nice review mate, I have wondered what the difference would be. I'll be honest and say that two Titans were never on my splurge list, but two 780's...perhaps .

I think it would be a good addition to your review if you added in a third 780, so comparing them on cost per set up rather than physical cards. However, it doesn't take much deducing that it'll be better, I'd just like to know by how much .



I too would like to see this, if only to settle the debate. I think the difference between either series or parallel wouldn't be that large, and would say loop design/placement/aesthetics should be a factor when deciding between. In saying that though, I could either have gone serial and used 2 x8 slots, or parallel and 2 x16 slots. I went parallel . If I had any time I would try the series to compare, but my temps are so good with a 1080 rad (never 50C, oc'd, even in this weather), it's moot.

One last thing - how about a 2560 x 1600 30" monitor? That'll stretch the legs of both set ups, and if a person has the coin for sli such as these, then surely they have the same for big screen gaming. Multi-screen? Nah, tried that, horrid!
It's been tested several times.
First of all: The difference in temps are so small, that wichever method you choose, you'll be fine. You would have to be REALLY anal to use temps as reason for choosing one over the other.
Pros for parallel, is that you even out the temps on your gfx's ...again, really small and anal differences.
Cons is primarily, that your pump need to deliver a bit more flow, to not starve the gfx's.
All in all, use astectics, ease of installation ect as guidelines for what you choose instead of temps.

I personally prefere the looks of parallel, but that is purely subjective.

On topic:
As allways, a great review :P
To bad there's no money with gfx printed on them in my bank atm

13-07-2013, 13:49:21

AemonTheDK
Cool, i'd go for the gtx 780 but that's just me.

15-07-2013, 04:53:22

acana79
Hi Tom,

I saw your review and was very excited, so I went out and bought myself a pair of ASUS GTX 780 and a pair of Dell's U3014. However, I'm having serious problems when running the monitor in "daisy chain".

It appears that when my monitor is set to DisplayPort 1.2, Windows won't boot up. But at 1.1 it's fine. The hang happens right after post.
Once in Windows I can enable 1.2 and runt the two screens just fine. (F!"#% awesome by the way!)

Any ideas what might be the problem?

Yes, latest drivers. Running Win 7 64-bit.
ASUS R3E + i7 930 @ stock - BIOS 1502
ASUS GTX 780 SLI (tried with one card only as well - same results)
Corsair AX1200i
12GB Dominator RAM

15-07-2013, 08:26:17

JR23
Thanks Tom, great review, just what I wanted to hear after going with 780's and 1440p.

You mentioned briefly PCIe3.0 x8, if you could elaborate on your thinking behind that it would be great as i'm still on Sandy thinking about Ivy and Haswell.

JR

15-07-2013, 08:35:23

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR23 View Post
Thanks Tom, great review, just what I wanted to hear after going with 780's and 1440p.

You mentioned briefly PCIe3.0 x8, if you could elaborate on your thinking behind that it would be great as i'm still on Sandy thinking about Ivy and Haswell.

JR

No massive point switching if your CPU clocks well tbh.

0 point going Ivy either.

16-07-2013, 05:08:10

angel247
great review, gtx780 is a must, price/performance from what i can see and in the games that i usually play BAC, metro , crysis 3 i see no difference in average fps in sli between the 2 cards. Me personally i have the gtx770 and i'm pretty happy with it , i was on 1155 sandy 2500k , and now i'm changing to haswell

16-07-2013, 07:50:50

Rastalovich
Nice kit, nice testing, nice results.

People still get hung up on ram for graphics ? It's good to have, but it isn't a game stopper by any means. Often it proves itself unnecessary.

16-07-2013, 07:58:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post
Nice kit, nice testing, nice results.

People still get hung up on ram for graphics ? It's good to have, but it isn't a game stopper by any means. Often it proves itself unnecessary.


Rasta is back from under the rock!


I think these results show if nothing else even Nvidia are putting more time into the 780 drivers. Sure the Titan is good but its true when people say the Titan is just there to make people think the 780 is better value......

16-07-2013, 11:12:14

Rastalovich
Yeah, stuck in the studios for 8 hours covering for someone and most of the editing, ala DrWhat? have gone. i.e. nothing to do. - oh I set someone up with a printer a few hours ago....

Titan's more of a one-off exercise in niceness, willy waving and cash.

The market has gone crazy mind. 200+ for a 760 ? 200 for a mid range card ?

We're all being milked anywho. AMD 9000 series in the fall, to get some more cash.

16-07-2013, 13:10:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post
Yeah, stuck in the studios for 8 hours covering for someone and most of the editing, ala DrWhat? have gone. i.e. nothing to do. - oh I set someone up with a printer a few hours ago....

Titan's more of a one-off exercise in niceness, willy waving and cash.

The market has gone crazy mind. 200+ for a 760 ? 200 for a mid range card ?

We're all being milked anywho. AMD 9000 series in the fall, to get some more cash.
8800GT was 200+ years back and that wasnt top end.

16-07-2013, 13:20:01

Rastalovich
True enough. I just looked into the 7600gt for way back when they came out and they're about that.

Thing is tho, I'd not recommend 200 for a 760, I'd look at the 6xx or even 5xx (if you can find them) for the same money or less.

16-07-2013, 13:23:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post
True enough. I just looked into the 7600gt for way back when they came out and they're about that.

Thing is tho, I'd not recommend 200 for a 760, I'd look at the 6xx or even 5xx (if you can find them) for the same money or less.
7870 Tahiti LE for around that money tbh. The 760 is a good card as its basically a 670 but a LOT cheaper than they were/are now new.

16-07-2013, 13:35:31

Rastalovich
Yeah that's pretty good. I pointed someone in the direction of the 3GB MSI GTX 580 Twin Frozr II @ Scan for 180 not too long ago.

18-07-2013, 22:13:11

walkerjian
Hi,
Thanks for the review. Just a couple of points - I replaced a 7970 with a titan in my latest build because of two reasons - I wanted to run crysis 3 in stereoscopic 3d (1920*1080*120) and because I wanted good double precision floating point performance for cuda and open cl for mathematica. Arguably niche uses, but ye gods is crysis good in 3d! So I intend to get another titan (or not...) and sli them. I bought the titan before i knew the 780 was coming out... but for my use cases I still think that I bought the right card - I don't think that the double precision floating point performance of the 780 is up to that of the titan. Is it? I cant get a straight answer anywhere... Finally, can I sli a 780 with my titan (dumb question I know but... I am not made of money and it is EXPENSIVE to test for myself)

cheers - just wanted to point out that there may be some use cases for sli titans after all

19-07-2013, 19:22:09

GoogalyMoogaly
Interesting to see the 780s doing so well. Must admit I've been tempted to get a couple but I'm gonna wait and see if AMD can do any better (I'm sure they'd argue that they already have with the 7990).

Interesting to see if the 6GB Titan gains any advantage now we have 4K monitors. I'm assuming 1 4K monitor will use similar amounts of VRAM to 4 1080p monitors?

Since you can get 3 7970s for the price of 2 780s and possibly even 1 Titan depending on exactly what you buy, how would 3 of them compare? Does TriFire scaling work that well?

19-07-2013, 21:01:55

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkerjian View Post
Hi,
Thanks for the review. Just a couple of points - I replaced a 7970 with a titan in my latest build because of two reasons - I wanted to run crysis 3 in stereoscopic 3d (1920*1080*120) and because I wanted good double precision floating point performance for cuda and open cl for mathematica.

AMD destorys Nvidia in OpenCL.

26-07-2013, 22:02:46

loglog
just got my EVGA 780 acx in the mail today. I'm pretty excited to open it after work.

26-07-2013, 22:52:44

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoogalyMoogaly View Post
Interesting to see the 780s doing so well. Must admit I've been tempted to get a couple but I'm gonna wait and see if AMD can do any better (I'm sure they'd argue that they already have with the 7990).

Interesting to see if the 6GB Titan gains any advantage now we have 4K monitors. I'm assuming 1 4K monitor will use similar amounts of VRAM to 4 1080p monitors?

Since you can get 3 7970s for the price of 2 780s and possibly even 1 Titan depending on exactly what you buy, how would 3 of them compare? Does TriFire scaling work that well?
No Tri SLI/Xfire works well. Hardly any games support it correctly.

04-10-2013, 14:48:30

Mr Gonzo
There is no point in comparing the Titan to the 780, SLI or whatever, i think many haven't understood the target market of the Titan cards. It's a card that sits between the Geforce and Professional Quadro and Tesla cards. If you're into
3d modeling, visualization and animation like me you need these 6 gb! Just to be clear, they're both amazing cards, just different target groups....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.