Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temps

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review

Test Setup

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce
nVidia Forceware 320.18
Intel Core i7-3960X @ 4.6GHz
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Corsair Dominator Platinum
Corsair AX1200i
Corsair Neutron GTX
Corsair H100i
Windows 7 x64 

Overclocking

The GTX780 is already clocked faster than the GTX Titan, and with the extra cooling performance of the Windforce we're able to push the card further still. Merely adding 5% to the power, which is more of a stability option than anything, we gain 75MHz on the GK110 GPU Core, and a whopping 250MHz (1GHz effective) on the GDDR5. 

Given how close the scores between the stock GTX780 and stock GTX Titan were, we think this should be enough to put the Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce to the top of the single GPU 

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review     Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review 

Temperatures

Two things to note. Firstly with our overclock we increased the fan speed to ensure that the card remained cool and stable throughout our testing, which is why there is a couple of degrees reduction in the temperature. Secondly when compared to the reference cooler the Windforce is far superior at keeping the GK110 frosty.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-05-2013, 09:14:18

tinytomlogan
The second of our GTX780 reviews looks at the Windforce cooled model from Gigabyte, including overclocking the GTX780.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...132206230l.jpg


Continue Reading

23-05-2013, 10:29:49

antihero
Chill out duder, I just changed my pants.

23-05-2013, 10:46:04

yassarikhan786
Love the fact that Gigabyte are finally using a black PCB. I didn't particularly mind the blue PCB, but the black PCB just looks classier.

The performance increase with the overclock is very impressive indeed. The Titan seems kinda obsolete looking at the potential price difference.

23-05-2013, 11:06:58

SolarNova
I've been saying for a month or 2 that if the 780 is below 600 stock , i will get one over a Titan if the Titan is still more than 750.

Now these aftermarket versions r coming out of the works, ..just ..wow. Titan performance, somtimes more somtimes less, but always damn close, for maybe 200 less. I am DEFFINATLY getting a GTX 780, probably a Gigabyte,Asus, or EVGA OC'd one. And i cant wait.

Honestlly reading the performance results i was shaking with excitement ..cant wait

23-05-2013, 11:13:29

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarNova View Post
I've been saying for a month or 2 that if the 780 is below 600 stock , i will get one over a Titan if the Titan is still more than 750.

Now these aftermarket versions r coming out of the works, ..just ..wow. Titan performance, somtimes more somtimes less, but always damn close, for maybe 200 less. I am DEFFINATLY getting a GTX 780, probably a Gigabyte,Asus, or EVGA OC'd one. And i cant wait.

Honestlly reading the performance results i was shaking with excitement ..cant wait
Yeah, I'm really tempted by the Gigabyte 780, seeing that I have the 580 version of the card, which is still running quite strong.

23-05-2013, 11:33:56

Humanoid1
Although it is a great card for games, its sucks pretty bad when it comes to compute apps, even the trusty old 580 can beat it in many cases

23-05-2013, 11:42:31

seumasbeathan
I have always likes these windforce cards, and now that Gigabyte are using a black pcb it makes it even better.

23-05-2013, 13:19:08

Nelly
Previous Gigabyte review samples came with a black PCB, don't be to surprised if the retail cards come with a blue PCB.

23-05-2013, 13:55:31

s3ns3
nice review . the windforce cooler is sick !

23-05-2013, 21:21:00

J0s3e
Why did you guys stop benchamrking BF3? I think it is still a popular game and more of us would like to see what performance gain is there from getting new cards...
Anyway, amazing review as usual.

23-05-2013, 21:24:16

grassman
We've reached the my watch can run it point.

23-05-2013, 21:30:04

seumasbeathan
Tom said they stopped with BF3 due to issues with Origin, but I would also guess it is partly because just about anything can run BF3 these days, even a 5770 can run it at medium settings.

24-05-2013, 07:58:28

Lystfiskern
Am i the only one that find that graphs on this site is becoming close to unreadable?

Please OC3D, arrange them in a different manner so it becomes easier to compare "close to similar performers"

24-05-2013, 14:37:40

grassman
I noticed it myself. tbh It's a new gen now so spring clean up should be in the works.

27-05-2013, 16:49:47

Nelly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelly
Previous Gigabyte review samples came with a black PCB, don't be to surprised if the retail cards come with a blue PCB.
Will correct myself now, reason the PCB is black is because it's using the reference (vanilla) PCB, I don't think any of the cards released so far are using a custom PCB?

Maybe the MSI GTX 780 Lightning will...?

03-09-2013, 08:13:10

Remmy
Now I'm no expert, but I would image if it's not here, it will most likely be elsewhere

03-09-2013, 12:58:38

Simple2013
So now I know who TTL is ;D
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.