Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review

Conclusion

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review

Conclusion

Whenever we're reviewing midrange cards we often discuss how your performance is limited by a combination of clockspeed and the architecture.

On the average card you can overclock it quite a lot and obtain a result similar to the next model up in the range, with no particular downside. However, certain games or certain benchmarks will demand a lot from the architecture of the GPU as much as the clockspeed and therefore you always reach a point at which there is no more performance to gain from overclocking, and you're reliant upon an increase in shaders or CUDA cores or memory to gain further frames per second.

The GTX Titan was a full-on, no holds barred graphics card with all the CUDA cores and GDDR5 you could ever need to run the most demanding games at their most demanding settings. The GTX780 with a handful fewer CUDA cores and half the memory still was capable of running the GTX Titan close, as we saw in our review of the reference card.

With the extra cooling performance of the Gigabyte Windforce cooler enabling us to overclock this one, that gap in architecture has been overcome with pure clockspeed. This is largely because whilst there is a reduction between the GTX780 and the obscenely powerful GTX Titan, when comparing the GTX780 to any other card on the market it's a behemoth of unparalleled proportions. So much extra performance is available that all of scores scaled in a linear manner, with the reference GTX780 in third, then the stock Gigabyte card, and then the overclocked one. To the point it is often the highest rated single GPU in our graphs.

To explain why the stock Windforce card improved upon the reference one, you only need to look at the temperatures and the GPU Boost 2.0. The nVidia Forceware drivers automatically overclock the card if there is heat available to do so, and the Windforce cooler with it's near 20°C of extra headroom, is easily capable of overclocking further than the reference card is at stock.


All in all it's a close run thing between the GTX Titan and the Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce, and when overclocked the Gigabyte card can genuinely claim to be the fastest single GPU on the planet. It's a cooler, quieter version of an already insanely good graphics card, and for that reason it will surprise precisely nobody to know that it wins our OC3D Gold Award.

    

Thanks to Gigabyte for providing the GTX780 Windforce for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-05-2013, 09:14:18

tinytomlogan
The second of our GTX780 reviews looks at the Windforce cooled model from Gigabyte, including overclocking the GTX780.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...132206230l.jpg


Continue Reading

23-05-2013, 10:29:49

antihero
Chill out duder, I just changed my pants.

23-05-2013, 10:46:04

yassarikhan786
Love the fact that Gigabyte are finally using a black PCB. I didn't particularly mind the blue PCB, but the black PCB just looks classier.

The performance increase with the overclock is very impressive indeed. The Titan seems kinda obsolete looking at the potential price difference.

23-05-2013, 11:06:58

SolarNova
I've been saying for a month or 2 that if the 780 is below 600 stock , i will get one over a Titan if the Titan is still more than 750.

Now these aftermarket versions r coming out of the works, ..just ..wow. Titan performance, somtimes more somtimes less, but always damn close, for maybe 200 less. I am DEFFINATLY getting a GTX 780, probably a Gigabyte,Asus, or EVGA OC'd one. And i cant wait.

Honestlly reading the performance results i was shaking with excitement ..cant wait

23-05-2013, 11:13:29

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarNova View Post
I've been saying for a month or 2 that if the 780 is below 600 stock , i will get one over a Titan if the Titan is still more than 750.

Now these aftermarket versions r coming out of the works, ..just ..wow. Titan performance, somtimes more somtimes less, but always damn close, for maybe 200 less. I am DEFFINATLY getting a GTX 780, probably a Gigabyte,Asus, or EVGA OC'd one. And i cant wait.

Honestlly reading the performance results i was shaking with excitement ..cant wait
Yeah, I'm really tempted by the Gigabyte 780, seeing that I have the 580 version of the card, which is still running quite strong.

23-05-2013, 11:33:56

Humanoid1
Although it is a great card for games, its sucks pretty bad when it comes to compute apps, even the trusty old 580 can beat it in many cases

23-05-2013, 11:42:31

seumasbeathan
I have always likes these windforce cards, and now that Gigabyte are using a black pcb it makes it even better.

23-05-2013, 13:19:08

Nelly
Previous Gigabyte review samples came with a black PCB, don't be to surprised if the retail cards come with a blue PCB.

23-05-2013, 13:55:31

s3ns3
nice review . the windforce cooler is sick !

23-05-2013, 21:21:00

J0s3e
Why did you guys stop benchamrking BF3? I think it is still a popular game and more of us would like to see what performance gain is there from getting new cards...
Anyway, amazing review as usual.

23-05-2013, 21:24:16

grassman
We've reached the my watch can run it point.

23-05-2013, 21:30:04

seumasbeathan
Tom said they stopped with BF3 due to issues with Origin, but I would also guess it is partly because just about anything can run BF3 these days, even a 5770 can run it at medium settings.

24-05-2013, 07:58:28

Lystfiskern
Am i the only one that find that graphs on this site is becoming close to unreadable?

Please OC3D, arrange them in a different manner so it becomes easier to compare "close to similar performers"

24-05-2013, 14:37:40

grassman
I noticed it myself. tbh It's a new gen now so spring clean up should be in the works.

27-05-2013, 16:49:47

Nelly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelly
Previous Gigabyte review samples came with a black PCB, don't be to surprised if the retail cards come with a blue PCB.
Will correct myself now, reason the PCB is black is because it's using the reference (vanilla) PCB, I don't think any of the cards released so far are using a custom PCB?

Maybe the MSI GTX 780 Lightning will...?

03-09-2013, 08:13:10

Remmy
Now I'm no expert, but I would image if it's not here, it will most likely be elsewhere

03-09-2013, 12:58:38

Simple2013
So now I know who TTL is ;D
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.