Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review

Introduction and Up Close

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review 

Introduction

So we've looked at the reference GTX780 and found it to be probably the most impressive card we've ever reviewed. A country mile ahead of anything remotely comparable, and a darn sight cheaper than the only only single GPU that came close, the GTX Titan.

Clearly you want a GK110 in your system. Heck we all do. But maybe you don't want to go with a reference designed card which is a bit warm and a bit noisier than some third-party cooling options. Enter the Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce, the GTX780 equipped with the tri-fan Gigabyte cooling solution.

This extra cooling potential should enable us to get the most out of the GK110, so without further ado let's take a look at the Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce, and put it through its paces.

Up Close

We've often commented about how the Windforce cooler is a good performer but really looks awful, because it's always stuck onto cards without much care for how much hangs over the edge. Thankfully with the GTX780 PCB it looks great, matching up perfectly with the length of card. It's also good to see Gigabyte resist the temptation to use their bright blue PCB and stick to the all black number.

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review     Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review  

Oddly we miss the big Geforce GTX stamp on the side of the reference card. We understand why Gigabyte have focussed upon their own brand, but who wouldn't want to shout loudly about the beast at the heart of their system? It's why windows in cases were invented. 

The Windforce cooler is a combination of a lot of heatpipes, a high fin density and three fan which provide consistent cooling across the card without needing to spin at the speed of the galaxy to achieve their cooling potential.

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review     Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review  

Connectivity is the regulation nVidia 6+8pin power, and DisplayPort, HDMI and twin DVI outputs.

Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review     Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-05-2013, 09:14:18

tinytomlogan
The second of our GTX780 reviews looks at the Windforce cooled model from Gigabyte, including overclocking the GTX780.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...132206230l.jpg


Continue Reading

23-05-2013, 10:29:49

antihero
Chill out duder, I just changed my pants.

23-05-2013, 10:46:04

yassarikhan786
Love the fact that Gigabyte are finally using a black PCB. I didn't particularly mind the blue PCB, but the black PCB just looks classier.

The performance increase with the overclock is very impressive indeed. The Titan seems kinda obsolete looking at the potential price difference.

23-05-2013, 11:06:58

SolarNova
I've been saying for a month or 2 that if the 780 is below 600 stock , i will get one over a Titan if the Titan is still more than 750.

Now these aftermarket versions r coming out of the works, ..just ..wow. Titan performance, somtimes more somtimes less, but always damn close, for maybe 200 less. I am DEFFINATLY getting a GTX 780, probably a Gigabyte,Asus, or EVGA OC'd one. And i cant wait.

Honestlly reading the performance results i was shaking with excitement ..cant wait

23-05-2013, 11:13:29

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarNova View Post
I've been saying for a month or 2 that if the 780 is below 600 stock , i will get one over a Titan if the Titan is still more than 750.

Now these aftermarket versions r coming out of the works, ..just ..wow. Titan performance, somtimes more somtimes less, but always damn close, for maybe 200 less. I am DEFFINATLY getting a GTX 780, probably a Gigabyte,Asus, or EVGA OC'd one. And i cant wait.

Honestlly reading the performance results i was shaking with excitement ..cant wait
Yeah, I'm really tempted by the Gigabyte 780, seeing that I have the 580 version of the card, which is still running quite strong.

23-05-2013, 11:33:56

Humanoid1
Although it is a great card for games, its sucks pretty bad when it comes to compute apps, even the trusty old 580 can beat it in many cases

23-05-2013, 11:42:31

seumasbeathan
I have always likes these windforce cards, and now that Gigabyte are using a black pcb it makes it even better.

23-05-2013, 13:19:08

Nelly
Previous Gigabyte review samples came with a black PCB, don't be to surprised if the retail cards come with a blue PCB.

23-05-2013, 13:55:31

s3ns3
nice review . the windforce cooler is sick !

23-05-2013, 21:21:00

J0s3e
Why did you guys stop benchamrking BF3? I think it is still a popular game and more of us would like to see what performance gain is there from getting new cards...
Anyway, amazing review as usual.

23-05-2013, 21:24:16

grassman
We've reached the my watch can run it point.

23-05-2013, 21:30:04

seumasbeathan
Tom said they stopped with BF3 due to issues with Origin, but I would also guess it is partly because just about anything can run BF3 these days, even a 5770 can run it at medium settings.

24-05-2013, 07:58:28

Lystfiskern
Am i the only one that find that graphs on this site is becoming close to unreadable?

Please OC3D, arrange them in a different manner so it becomes easier to compare "close to similar performers"

24-05-2013, 14:37:40

grassman
I noticed it myself. tbh It's a new gen now so spring clean up should be in the works.

27-05-2013, 16:49:47

Nelly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelly
Previous Gigabyte review samples came with a black PCB, don't be to surprised if the retail cards come with a blue PCB.
Will correct myself now, reason the PCB is black is because it's using the reference (vanilla) PCB, I don't think any of the cards released so far are using a custom PCB?

Maybe the MSI GTX 780 Lightning will...?

03-09-2013, 08:13:10

Remmy
Now I'm no expert, but I would image if it's not here, it will most likely be elsewhere

03-09-2013, 12:58:38

Simple2013
So now I know who TTL is ;D
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.