Gigabyte GTX780 Ti GHz Edition Review

Up Close

Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review

Up Close

One of the things we've often commented about the Windforce cooler is that it doesn't appear to be designed for the card that it's applied to, and with the GTX780Ti this problem continues. On a lower end card you can expect some overhang or things not quite lining up properly, but on the most expensive card you can purchase it's a bit much to have everything a little skewiff.

Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review     Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review  

At least the branding is there so anyone glancing into your case is left in no doubt that you have a high end GPU installed. There is plenty of space around the fins to expel air too, so this should be a cool card.

Of course if anyone looks in from above they'll wonder what exactly you have, as for some completely unfathomable reason Gigabyte have seen fit to print the model name upside down. We're sure the CPU is delighted to have something to read, but it's not much use for the rest of us and makes you wonder about the quality control.

Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review     Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review

The Windforce cooler is a good combination of well braced and yet with plenty of vents too. There shouldn't be any airflow or thermal warping issues here.

Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review     Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review

At the business ends of the GHz Edition everything is as you would be expecting, with two 8pin power inputs and the regulation nVidia DisplayPort/DVI/HDMI output options.

Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review     Gigabyte GTX780Ti GHz Edition Review
  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-12-2013, 04:38:11

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...102406543l.JPG

If you just want a "fit and forget" GTX780Ti, perhaps the Gigabyte GHz edition is just the thing.


Continue Reading

11-12-2013, 15:45:47

victornezzi
ok very interesting but i was looking at newegg.com and it does not show a back plate together, they made a mistake or what??

11-12-2013, 17:01:53

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by victornezzi View Post
ok very interesting but i was looking at newegg.com and it does not show a back plate together, they made a mistake or what??
Gigabyte only make one version of the 780 Ti Windforce so they should all have backplates.



http://i.imgur.com/L0wiHmG.png

11-12-2013, 17:12:17

Remmy
Upside down text is unbelievable :/ The little slot for routing the power cables though, kudos for that great idea

11-12-2013, 17:38:18

Kibeloko
The upside down text made me facepalm so hard.

Great review tho, it's a beast.

11-12-2013, 18:29:12

Luscious
Just paint the backplate white - solves the text issue and would contrast nicely with the black PCB underneath.

Might even remove the front fan shroud and paint that white too if doable.

12-12-2013, 00:52:44

NeverBackDown
Card did as good as expected.
Nice review tom!

12-12-2013, 04:47:18

Damien c
I wonder if I could flash my referance Gigabyte 780Ti's with the Windoforce GHZ Edition bios.

Nice review Tom.

12-12-2013, 06:06:43

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
I wonder if I could flash my referance Gigabyte 780Ti's with the Windoforce GHZ Edition bios.

Nice review Tom.
Other than the clock speed theres no point?

12-12-2013, 06:23:00

retypeNick
Quote:
ok very interesting but i was looking at newegg.com and it does not show a back plate together, they made a mistake or what??
It's the OC version (GV-N78TOC-3GD) GHZ version(GV-N78TGHZ-3GD) will come later for sale.

Diffs are completely custom board, backplate, and clockspeeds, etc.

12-12-2013, 12:05:57

Damien c
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Other than the clock speed theres no point?
Very true and after looking in to it I don't fancy risking it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.