Gigabyte GTX680 Windforce Review

Test Setup, Overclocking and Temps

Gigabyte GTX680 Windforce Review

Test Setup

Gigabyte GTX680 Windforce
ForceWare 300.99
Intel Core i7-3960X @ 4.6GHz
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Corsair AX1200W
Corsair GTX8
Corsair H100
Noctua NF-F12 Fans
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Overclocking

Of course with all this power available to us, and the cooling power of the Windforce keeping everything stable, we can really see what the card is capable of. Despite having a mild overclock out of the box we increased it all the way up to 1139MHz base clock and 1204MHz boost clock. Only a shade lower than the Zotac AMP! and certainly enough to hopefully give us some good results.

Gigabyte GTX680 Windforce Review  

Temperatures

The $64000 question though is, does that cooler really keep things frosty? When the card is idle it certainly does, being right down at 24°C, but once the card is stressed the temperatures do creep up, ending up 5° and 10° warmer than the Zotac AMP!. It's worth noting that by any yardstick the card is phenomenally quiet. Ridiculously so considering the amount of fans whirring away. You're very much balancing heat and noise at all times and the Gigabyte falls clearly on the quiet side of the fence.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-05-2012, 05:52:38

tinytomlogan


Gigabyte have applied their excellent Windforce cooler to the already great GTX680. A sure thing?

Continue Reading

14-05-2012, 06:40:26

Excalabur50
What a shame about this card and the 580 was such a monster too!

14-05-2012, 06:42:03

Stylazation
so in theory not the exact bang for the bucks there . love the cooling and temps of this card where u pay a lil for such cooling

14-05-2012, 06:44:09

SieB
Looks like Gigabyte failed with their windforce 680, i'm not a fan of the windforce cards as it is but this is definitely one to avoid compared to the other versions.

14-05-2012, 07:25:30

Rastalovich
Weird to me that it performs less than a reference sometimes, even oc'd.

14-05-2012, 08:25:34

ArjenIsM3
I just can't get my head around the fac t that they still use a blue PCB. Fugly imho.

15-05-2012, 19:19:23

MaXiMiZe
Utterly disappointed

16-05-2012, 12:16:24

DB006
What AMD driver did you use Tom?

16-05-2012, 15:46:11

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB006 View Post

What AMD driver did you use Tom?
Oh u

Is strange though because everywhere else this card performed well.

18-05-2012, 00:10:03

doubleton
love the cooling and temps of this card where u pay a lil for such cooling
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.