Gigabyte GTX660Ti Windforce Review

Conclusion

Gigabyte GTX660Ti Windforce Review

Conclusion

Technology is still happily following Moore's Law. Every new generation is so much faster than the last it's difficult to keep up. In some ways it's actually better to just stick with the midrange cards, because the premium models will be outperformed so much by the next batch that it's pointless to spend a fortune on an expensive card.

There is one element of the current generation that hasn't been so beneficial though, and that's the pricing. When we first saw the GTX680 and HD7970 prices we were shocked at how much they were, but hoping that the usual midrange ones would remain as affordable as ever. Then the GTX670 appeared and it, although powerful, still wasn't exactly within the pocket of the majority of people. Now, with the GTX660Ti, we're still finding it difficult to explain where the card fits in the grand scheme of things.

Performance is only average in our synthetic benchmarks, but in gaming it's generally up there with anything else that you care to choose. Of course certain games are better than others, so if there is a particular title that you're desperate to see in all its glory then you have to look carefully, but generally it's fair to say that the GTX660Ti has you covered.

So when looking at the performance alone it's very close to a GTX670, so it should be a bargain, right?

Except the price is also really close to a GTX670. Pricing is only rumoured at the time of writing this, but we expect it to come in around £270. That's not exactly midrange pricing, even if the performance is good. We can't see why you wouldn't save the little extra and get the more powerful and well-rounded GTX670. nVidia claim in their literature that this is in the same segment as the HD7870, but with the performance of a HD7950. Yes in terms of the amount of models above it that's true. It's the third card in the single-GPU range. But if the price is to be believed it's not remotely close to either of those, and is actually competing with a stock HD7970. Given how powerful that card is, and how much overclocking headroom is available from AMDs behemoth, it's not even close. The GTX660Ti is either £50 too much, or 15FPS too weak in performance.

Back to the specifics of the Gigabyte Windforce card itself it is unquestionably a mixed bag. The cooler is ugly. There is no two ways about it. It doesn't look at all as if it was designed for this card. But it performs excellently, keeping the GTX660Ti cool in all scenarios and, most importantly, it's whisper quiet even under full loading. It's definitely a case of function out-doing form.

So all in all it's a great gaming card, and if those final few notes needed to put a GTX670 in your rig are too much to shoot for then it's the most affordable nVidia card. Realistically though if you're looking for power on a budget you'd be better off with an AMD HD7950. Still you can't deny the results, and for that reason we give it our OC3D Gamers Choice award.

   

Thanks to Gigabyte for supplying the GTX660Ti for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-08-2012, 09:02:43

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...130842439l.jpg

The latest batch of midrange nVidia cards is upon us, and we start with the Gigabyte Windforce.

Continue Reading

16-08-2012, 09:05:29

Fractal
Ooh I Liked the 560Ti, lets hope this does good too.
Edit: Shame about the price, was looking at getting a 660Ti fir my brother as an upgrade =/.

16-08-2012, 09:28:09

yassarikhan786
I don't mind the blue PCB at all, but that cooler looks utterly horrendous on that PCB.

Performance wise, it looks to be competing with the 7950. The Unigine result was surprising though.

The price is a big let down as well. It's so close to a 670, is there even a point to a 660 ti and for that matter a 680. What are Nvidia doing?

16-08-2012, 09:42:28

AverageNinja
I'm still going for the GTX 670 I think. In some games (that I will play a lot) the GTX 670 still performs 10fps better than the 660ti.

16-08-2012, 10:01:37

dipzy


I do not like the cooler at all. If its expected to come at £270, a 670 is worth going for. The 660ti should more closer to the £200 mark than the £300

16-08-2012, 10:05:09

AverageNinja
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post


I do not like the cooler at all. If its expected to come at £270, a 670 is worth going for. The 660ti should more closer to the £200 mark than the £300
I'm with you in this argument. I think the 660Ti isn't worth it over the 650Ti when it's released, but can't really compete a lot with the GTX 670. At skyrim the GTX 670 even beats the 660Ti with 30fps.

16-08-2012, 10:07:39

kullzer
i payed 330€ for my oc sapphire with 950 on clock and black pcb,
im glad i dident waited

16-08-2012, 11:04:30

wotevajjjj
pointless card it seems... cost the same as a 7950 here.. so the 7870 competitor will be the 550ti ?
Edit: just checked, the 7950 is €10 cheaper..also the newer ones have even higher speeds for people who don't clock themselves. And it's ugly xd and that comes from a gigabyte fan..

16-08-2012, 11:13:59

garih
hmm, makes me question my purchase of sapphire 7870oc for £215 2 weeks ago.

16-08-2012, 11:45:02

seumasbeathan
So it is going to be £20-£30 more than a 7950? Seems a bit pointless to me tbh

16-08-2012, 11:51:39

garih
Isn't it only £280ish, that is same money as the 7950 on amazon depending on the card.

16-08-2012, 12:15:27

Gurt11
I can say that in Belgium (and the Netherlands is the same comparison but like €10/€20 less for everything) the pricing is roughly this:

- AMD 7870 : €319
- GTX 660Ti : €349
- AMD 7950 : €369
- GTX 670 : €429
- AMD 7970 : €439

So not more than a 7950. Prices of the 660Ti's are expected to drop towards €300 when more shops have them available. I think this 660Ti card is thι way to go if you have one full HD screen and want best bang for the buck. It'll run everything just fine. Most of the times max settings, only sometimes having to take it down just a notch. Great job from Nvidia if you ask me *looks at his 5770 crossfire... Sigh.*

16-08-2012, 13:28:43

parshnip
Here in Canada the 660ti is 300 bucks. Compared to the 670 which is $400 and the 680 which is $500. The 7970 here is also $400 and the 7950 is $300. So at $300 which card do you guys think is best (single screen 1080p gaming)?At $400?

16-08-2012, 13:32:11

seumasbeathan
I say 7950

16-08-2012, 13:53:10

AverageNinja
Is the GTX 670 $400?
Then get the GTX 670!

16-08-2012, 16:03:47

NRG!
This card is indescribably hideous.

16-08-2012, 16:08:55

FOX91
When I first saw the performance numbers of the 660Ti, I was beginning to regret buying a 560Ti this spring but when I saw the price it comes at in Estonia - € 333 (while my 560Ti was € 210), I felt a bit better about my choice.

16-08-2012, 18:02:39

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by NRG! View Post
This card is indescribably hideous.
No,I think you did a good job imo.

16-08-2012, 20:05:12

PapaSmurf6768
Quote:
Originally Posted by NRG! View Post
This card is indescribably hideous.
+ 1 million.

17-08-2012, 01:04:27

airdeano
wtf? was there an ugly design contest? all these well-known manies kickin' out some gawd
aweful looking
cooling designs.. the simple EVGA reference is so much more eye-pleasing. and i am not a reference kinda-guy.
it'll make the water-cooling GPU blocks sell a heck of a lot faster.
there are something that just make you say buhhhh..

airdeano
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.