Gigabyte GTX480 SOC Review

Conclusion

Gigabyte GTX480 SOC Review

Conclusion

Sometimes we have to eat our words, and today is one of those days.

When MSI released the GTX480 Lightning we were completely shocked by how amazing it was and what a turn-around MSI had managed to make on the beleaguered Fermi chip. From an under-performing heat-monster into just a monster, we couldn't imagine anyone bettering it, especially with whispers of the GTX580 due for release.

Gigabyte though have done exactly that.

At stock the Gigabyte GTX480 Super Over Clock is better than the Lightning in performance terms, often being near to the MSI when it was overclocked. The numbers across the board were gaudy. Considering the much improved and more expensive GTX580 gets 13000 3D Extreme Marks, then 12000 Extreme Marks from the architecturally inferior GTX480 is stunningly impressive.

It's not just stock though. If anything the Overclock performance is even better. Both cards were overclocked to overclocked to 900MHz and the GTX480SOC consistently outperformed the Lightning in every benchmark we ran.

The Cooler is equally impressive, keeping the card cooler than the Lightning at a slower fan-speed. It also seems more consistent as the difference between the Stock and OC temps of the Gigabyte was only 10°C compared to 19°C different on the MSI.

All this without mentioning the improved power-phases, the dual-BIOS system that allows you to overcome any cold-start issues if you're a fan of Liquid Nitrogen, or the outstanding OC Guru which vastly reduces the power-draw of the card.

Pricing is unavailable but looking at the US pricing and comparing it to the current UK pricing we should see the SOC hitting the market at around £350-360. So you get a card that might be based upon the "older" GF100 core but is blisteringly fast, cool, quiet, and has all the features you could possibly desire.

Even if the GTX580 has got you tempted, the GTX480 Super Over Clock is impressive enough to make you rethink and put something else top of your shopping list. The OC3D Gold Award exists for products like this and kudos to Gigabyte for absolutely nailing everything we look for.

    

Thanks to Gigabyte for letting us review the GTX480SOC. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-11-2010, 21:15:54

tinytomlogan
With the GTX580 being the latest and with a price to match, Gigabyte want to show there is life in the old GTX480 yet.

Continue Reading

21-11-2010, 22:16:31

murphy7801
I hope they do a version of the gtx 580 quick of this wonder when we will see the first non ref gtx 580s anyway.

21-11-2010, 22:46:06

Dewinte
Wow it's a very nice job that Gigabyte has done. I'm wondering how their warranty and support will be for GPU's, if it's comparable to EVGA and they bring more non-reference cards like this well... They'll do really well! Comparing this card at stock the the reference card is quite impressive and the work Gigabyte put in, especially with technology that you can't pronounce .

22-11-2010, 00:34:00

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewinte View Post

Wow it's a very nice job that Gigabyte has done. I'm wondering how their warranty and support will be for GPU's, if it's comparable to EVGA and they bring more non-reference cards like this well... They'll do really well! Comparing this card at stock the the reference card is quite impressive and the work Gigabyte put in, especially with technology that you can't pronounce .
Yer thing is Iv found evga cards have great warranty but are quite average products themselves.

22-11-2010, 05:40:58

SnW
Naked card = geek porno LOL

Nice review matey

22-11-2010, 05:56:45

Todd
How you managed to keep me occupied for thirty minutes I have no idea... As always, lovely jobly.

22-11-2010, 07:24:49

Techyandy
When i saw 30 minutes, i was like but once again really good. So many reviewers do a 3 minute video and spend time on the written review, nice to see a better balance.

22-11-2010, 08:12:28

Taurus
Think the cooler is amazing would love to see it fitted on a 580 and the results that would produce

22-11-2010, 08:21:56

F-alienware
Good stuff man. Nice to see all of the left over 480 GPUs being put to use any way.

Amazing what can be done with them really.

Cheers as ever guys !

22-11-2010, 15:36:17

Bungral
I'll tell ya... Gigabyte are awesome.

3 year warranty on motherbaords and graphics cards regardless of what the shop you buy them from say. Can just send direct to their repair centre in umm Milton Keynes I think. I send them a faulty B grade motherboard bought from OCUK that had one dead DIMM slot and as I didn't use the board for 28 days when I bought it, it was out of their B grade warranty period. I explained all this to Gigabyte and they happily accepted the RMA. I sent it to them on the Thursday and had a repaired motherboard back to me by Monday via courier. They also included a free bag which was nice.

Now with my Powercolor (1 year warranty) starting to die misserably, I will only buy either Gigabyte or Asus. Nothing else will get a look in unless exceptional.

Now time to read the review.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewinte View Post

Wow it's a very nice job that Gigabyte has done. I'm wondering how their warranty and support will be for GPU's, if it's comparable to EVGA and they bring more non-reference cards like this well... They'll do really well! Comparing this card at stock the the reference card is quite impressive and the work Gigabyte put in, especially with technology that you can't pronounce .

22-11-2010, 15:45:00

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

I'll tell ya... Gigabyte are awesome.
Tell that to my mate who sent back a 9800GTX and then proceeded to wait for 6 months until they sent him a 250.

22-11-2010, 15:52:45

Bungral
How long ago was that?

I've had to deal with them twice since they've had a UK repair centre and have had an excellent experience both times. Once for a motherboard and once for a graphics card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Tell that to my mate who sent back a 9800GTX and then proceeded to wait for 6 months until they sent him a 250.

22-11-2010, 17:37:12

F-alienware
He got his card back about six months ago.

Bit of a nightmare really.

30-11-2010, 20:44:38

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

I'll tell ya... Gigabyte are awesome.

3 year warranty on motherbaords and graphics cards regardless of what the shop you buy them from say. Can just send direct to their repair centre in umm Milton Keynes I think. I send them a faulty B grade motherboard bought from OCUK that had one dead DIMM slot and as I didn't use the board for 28 days when I bought it, it was out of their B grade warranty period. I explained all this to Gigabyte and they happily accepted the RMA. I sent it to them on the Thursday and had a repaired motherboard back to me by Monday via courier. They also included a free bag which was nice.

Now with my Powercolor (1 year warranty) starting to die misserably, I will only buy either Gigabyte or Asus. Nothing else will get a look in unless exceptional.

Now time to read the review.
I quite like gainward products then again never had one break ever so who knows what the returns is like
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.