Gigabyte GTX480 SOC Review

Alien vs Predator & Crysis Warhead

Gigabyte GTX480 SOC Review

Alien vs Predator

Once we're out away from the more synthetic type benchmarks to one that really pounds the whole system hard we see that although minimum and maximum frame-rates are very much on a linear diagonal which just about holds up in the average results, the difference is only a couple of frames between the two full-fat cards.

 

Crysis Warhead

Warhead is much more variable and really demonstrates how good the GTX480SOC is at stock. 11 FPS ahead of the stock Lightning and only one frame behind the overclocked Lightning! Amazing performance thanks to the excellent power circuitry and chip selection.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-11-2010, 21:15:54

tinytomlogan
With the GTX580 being the latest and with a price to match, Gigabyte want to show there is life in the old GTX480 yet.

Continue Reading

21-11-2010, 22:16:31

murphy7801
I hope they do a version of the gtx 580 quick of this wonder when we will see the first non ref gtx 580s anyway.

21-11-2010, 22:46:06

Dewinte
Wow it's a very nice job that Gigabyte has done. I'm wondering how their warranty and support will be for GPU's, if it's comparable to EVGA and they bring more non-reference cards like this well... They'll do really well! Comparing this card at stock the the reference card is quite impressive and the work Gigabyte put in, especially with technology that you can't pronounce .

22-11-2010, 00:34:00

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewinte View Post

Wow it's a very nice job that Gigabyte has done. I'm wondering how their warranty and support will be for GPU's, if it's comparable to EVGA and they bring more non-reference cards like this well... They'll do really well! Comparing this card at stock the the reference card is quite impressive and the work Gigabyte put in, especially with technology that you can't pronounce .
Yer thing is Iv found evga cards have great warranty but are quite average products themselves.

22-11-2010, 05:40:58

SnW
Naked card = geek porno LOL

Nice review matey

22-11-2010, 05:56:45

Todd
How you managed to keep me occupied for thirty minutes I have no idea... As always, lovely jobly.

22-11-2010, 07:24:49

Techyandy
When i saw 30 minutes, i was like but once again really good. So many reviewers do a 3 minute video and spend time on the written review, nice to see a better balance.

22-11-2010, 08:12:28

Taurus
Think the cooler is amazing would love to see it fitted on a 580 and the results that would produce

22-11-2010, 08:21:56

F-alienware
Good stuff man. Nice to see all of the left over 480 GPUs being put to use any way.

Amazing what can be done with them really.

Cheers as ever guys !

22-11-2010, 15:36:17

Bungral
I'll tell ya... Gigabyte are awesome.

3 year warranty on motherbaords and graphics cards regardless of what the shop you buy them from say. Can just send direct to their repair centre in umm Milton Keynes I think. I send them a faulty B grade motherboard bought from OCUK that had one dead DIMM slot and as I didn't use the board for 28 days when I bought it, it was out of their B grade warranty period. I explained all this to Gigabyte and they happily accepted the RMA. I sent it to them on the Thursday and had a repaired motherboard back to me by Monday via courier. They also included a free bag which was nice.

Now with my Powercolor (1 year warranty) starting to die misserably, I will only buy either Gigabyte or Asus. Nothing else will get a look in unless exceptional.

Now time to read the review.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewinte View Post

Wow it's a very nice job that Gigabyte has done. I'm wondering how their warranty and support will be for GPU's, if it's comparable to EVGA and they bring more non-reference cards like this well... They'll do really well! Comparing this card at stock the the reference card is quite impressive and the work Gigabyte put in, especially with technology that you can't pronounce .

22-11-2010, 15:45:00

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

I'll tell ya... Gigabyte are awesome.
Tell that to my mate who sent back a 9800GTX and then proceeded to wait for 6 months until they sent him a 250.

22-11-2010, 15:52:45

Bungral
How long ago was that?

I've had to deal with them twice since they've had a UK repair centre and have had an excellent experience both times. Once for a motherboard and once for a graphics card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Tell that to my mate who sent back a 9800GTX and then proceeded to wait for 6 months until they sent him a 250.

22-11-2010, 17:37:12

F-alienware
He got his card back about six months ago.

Bit of a nightmare really.

30-11-2010, 20:44:38

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungral View Post

I'll tell ya... Gigabyte are awesome.

3 year warranty on motherbaords and graphics cards regardless of what the shop you buy them from say. Can just send direct to their repair centre in umm Milton Keynes I think. I send them a faulty B grade motherboard bought from OCUK that had one dead DIMM slot and as I didn't use the board for 28 days when I bought it, it was out of their B grade warranty period. I explained all this to Gigabyte and they happily accepted the RMA. I sent it to them on the Thursday and had a repaired motherboard back to me by Monday via courier. They also included a free bag which was nice.

Now with my Powercolor (1 year warranty) starting to die misserably, I will only buy either Gigabyte or Asus. Nothing else will get a look in unless exceptional.

Now time to read the review.
I quite like gainward products then again never had one break ever so who knows what the returns is like
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.