Gigabyte 4850 1GB

Test Setup

Test Setup

Testing was run on what we would consider a good mid range rig, the sort of rig we can see this card living within. The CPU was overclocked  to alleviate bottlenecking and we used the same system to test all the cards on test today.

CPU
Intel Core2Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.6 Ghz

Motherboard
ASUS P5Q Deluxe (P45)

Memory
Cellshock DDR2 PC-2 6400 5-5-5-18 @ 800mhz

Power Supply
Tuniq Ensemble 1200w

Graphics Drivers

Nvidia Forceware 180.48
ATI Catalyst 8.12.72276

Operating System

Windows Vista 64bit SP1

The tests were run using our standard selection of test games, which gives readers a good perspective of how the card performs in a selection of games. We also test at a variety of resolutions, to give you an idea of how well the card scales and which one would suit you best.

3DMark05
1024x768 / 0xAA
1680x1050 / 4xAA
1920x1200 / 4xAA

3DMark06

1280x1024 / 0xAA
1680x1050 / 4xAA
1920x1200 / 4xAA

3DMark Vantage

Performance Mode
High Mode
Extreme Mode

ET:Quake Wars
1440x900 / High / 4xAA
1680x1050 / High / 4xAA
1920x1200 / High / 4xAA

Unreal Tournament III

1440x900 / DX10
1680x1050 / DX10
1920x1200 / DX10

Call of Duty 4
1440x900 / Max / 4xAA
1680x1050 / Max / 4xAA
1920x1200 / Max / 4xAA

Farcry 2
1440x900 / Max / 4xAA
1680x1050 / Max / 4xAA
1920x1200 / Max / 4xAA

Racedriver GRID

1440x900 / High / 4xAA
1680x1050 / High / 4xAA
1920x1200 / High / 4xAA

Crysis
1440x900 / DX10 / High / 4xAA
1680x1050 / DX10 / High / 4xAA
1920x1200 / DX10 / High / 4xAA

So, how does it perform.....
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-02-2009, 12:49:05

Luigi
With a price of ~£150, can the Gigabyte 4850 play with the big boys or is it best left on the shelves?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...163837773s.jpg

Find out in our latest review here

24-02-2009, 13:27:56

zak4994
I hate the look of bare graphics cards as they just look untidy.

Though for the person who likes his money, this would be cool.

24-02-2009, 16:31:40

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
I hate the look of bare graphics cards as they just look untidy.

Though for the person who likes his money, this would be cool.
Weirdly enough I agree. Ever since the slick look of the 8800GT's crap cooler, I've preferred that look.

However. I really like the fin arrangement Gigabyte have on that sink.

However2. Blowing down on a card and letting the hot air go where it wants is not the best idea.

£143 looks good. I'd still opt for a £100 9800gtxyzabc+++ after the afternoon I just had with ATI's drivers. Thank u very much.

Great review.

24-02-2009, 16:56:54

°TheMadDutchDude°
Nice review, Tom!

One thing though, for an extra £20 odd you can have a Sapphire 4870, so why spend £143 on a 4850? Anyways, nice review. Keep 'em coming!

25-02-2009, 11:22:55

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
Nice review, Tom!

One thing though, for an extra £20 odd you can have a Sapphire 4870, so why spend £143 on a 4850? Anyways, nice review. Keep 'em coming!
Is the 4870 512mb or normal? We did have a 4870 in the tests, which didn't do so well on the CPF.

14-03-2009, 22:16:09

DeMoB
I recommended a friend to buy one of these for his build, but it turns out that it doesn't come with an onboard fan controller, and the fan was running at 100% all the time (No amount of driver hacks, rivatuner, BIOS mods would do anything to change that). He had to fight to get a refund (as it wasn't faulty per-say, apparently it's default behaviour from gigabyte), but fortunately they took it back in the end.

Although the zalman cooler used on this is quieter than the stock cooler would have been (which is what drew me to this card in the first place), it's still to noisy to run at 100% all the time.

So if noise bothers you, avoid this card!

Dan

15-03-2009, 04:34:46

monkey7
Or buy an aftermarket air cooler

I have a sapphire hd4850 512 which had a noisy little bugger on it. After having replaced it with a scythe musashi (€32) it was dead quiet. If you have an additional PCI slot to sacrifice the arctic cooling accellero s1 with a 120mm fan tiewrapped onto it is about €25.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.