Gainward GTX460 Golden Sample Review

Introduction and Technical Specs

Gainward GTX460 Golden Sample Review

Introduction

Gainward have been around as a company for over 25 years. However it's perhaps in the last decade, since their merger with Palit and the explosion in the PC Hardware market, that they've been a big name amongst the enthusiasts.

Their "Golden Sample" range was one of the first regularly overclocked and updated manufacturer variants of reference design graphics cards, regularly winning awards and being near the top of the performance charts.

Although many of us know them from many moons ago, most of you will know them from the last generation of graphics cards in which they produced many versions of the Radeon R700 cards and especially the nVidia GTX280 and GTX285. The Gainward "Goes Like Hell" edition was certainly one of the most up-front names since the Mitsubishi FQ. No you don't need a trip to your urologist, just the desire for a good performance product.

For the current generation though they have been a little quiet. But now they are back with a bang, both on the marketplace and here on Overclock3D.net, with the GTX460 Golden Sample.

Technical Specifications

If you've not been along to the Gainward site recently, then you'll have missed their overhaul and new logo. A very easy to navigate site that, most enjoyably, includes data for their old models too. Anyone who has tried to find information on their current card when updating, or discover what that dusty one is in their loft, will be thankful for a company who aren't so obsessed with "the new" that they forget their heritage.

So what does the 460GS bring us? Firstly we have 2GB of memory to help any potential frame buffer limitations, as well as a small overclock up to 700MHz. 

Product Name  :    Gainward GeForce® GTX 460 2GB "GS"
Barcode  :    4260183361220
GPU  :    GeForce GTX 460
GPU Clockspeed  :    700 Mhz
Memory  :    2048MB GDDR5 (256bits)
Memory Clockspeed  :    1800 Mhz
Bandwidth  :    115.2 GB/s
Ramdac  :    400 Mhz
Bus  :    PCI Express 2.0
Cooling  :    2-slot FAN
Video-Features  :    HDMI
Connectivity  :    Dual DVI + VGA

 

Gainward have also fitted the 460GS with an improved cooler, so let's take a look.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-08-2010, 03:25:21

tinytomlogan
OC3D are delighted to welcome Gainward back onto the site with our review of the GTX460 Golden Sample.

Continue Reading

25-08-2010, 04:03:56

F-alienware
Nice review Tom

I like it. Bit odd going with a red PCB and fan but I guess green isn't possible

Performs well too. Maybe one day I will get one for my other rig.

25-08-2010, 06:47:04

steve30x
Any chance you could show two of these overclocked in SLI? I want to get two GTX460's soon to replace my GTX280. I am upgrading my motherboard , cpu and ram soon also.

25-08-2010, 06:48:50

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

Any chance you could show two of these overclocked in SLI? I want to get two GTX460's soon to replace my GTX280. I am upgrading my motherboard , cpu and ram soon also.
Sadly no. We only have one of these. But there is a 460 SLi review coming in the next few weeks.

25-08-2010, 07:34:42

steve30x
No problem. It will be a few weeks away yet before I do an upgrade anyway. From the reviews I have seen on the GTX460 its slightly slower than my GTX280 which I have overclocked. I am upgrading on a budget , so the motherboard will be sub 200 euro P55 and low priced ram with a cheap I5. I would do better but I dont have much money. I am not worried about the PCI Express bandwidth of 8X x 8X after seeing This review

PS Posting a reply on the review page gives a 404 errorr

25-08-2010, 12:08:10

silenthill
Great review and video, Tom please email me your direct address so that I can send you a insect killer as a personal gift from me (Im serious), mate thousands of people view you every day the bug situation is shameless and my mates were having a laugh and I was very insulted because OV3D are like my family so please dont take offence.

25-08-2010, 14:51:00

murphy7801
Thank you so much for doing this review I was thinking about buying this card and another in perhaps 6 months but hasn't really been any decent reviews really help make my mind up!Plus the 1080p showed that its a really nice looking card not that matters just added bonus.

25-08-2010, 15:03:47

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

bug situation is shameless ... OV3D

OV3D

OV3D
??

26-08-2010, 05:34:43

steve30x
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post

??
Im sure he meant OC3D.

26-08-2010, 06:31:40

nlr
Is this better than the cyclone? and what monitor is it that you're using?

regards,

Nick.

26-08-2010, 07:39:19

SnW
Nice to see the F@H chart with it

26-08-2010, 07:50:25

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

Im sure he meant OC3D.
Obsessive compulsive disorder cubed?

26-08-2010, 08:18:00

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Obsessive compulsive disorder cubed?
mate right now I have every type of disorder you can imagine, OV3D or OC3D I'm sure everybody knows what I mean, all I'm trying to say that people are watching us and we should take more care when making a video because appearances are very important if we want to attract more members to our community.

26-08-2010, 13:46:19

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlr View Post

Is this better than the cyclone? and what monitor is it that you're using?

regards,

Nick.
the cyclone has a better cooler,i have the 1gb of this card and it runs at 30c idle

the cyclones run about 5-6c cooler

26-08-2010, 15:25:26

thestepster
yeah there cooler is fantastic but be warned i just had to rma my one today and im going to get an asus direct cu one thats even better than the msi

28-08-2010, 16:54:20

xdan
Waiting for Msi GTX 460 Hawk review...

28-08-2010, 18:21:32

sunjoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdan View Post

Waiting for Msi GTX 460 Hawk review...
yeah me too apparently they are much quieter and can be overclocked alot

04-09-2010, 23:52:33

Notleh
Is Gainward a UK brand? I am not familiar with them and haven't seen them in the US. Newegg lists some Gainward items but they are all out of stock.

05-09-2010, 09:24:28

SnowWhite
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notleh View Post

Is Gainward a UK brand? I am not familiar with them and haven't seen them in the US. Newegg lists some Gainward items but they are all out of stock.
Nope.

Our Offices:

Taipei (Taiwan) Headquarter.

European HQ in Munich Germany.

Sales office in China.

Our Factories:

Shenzen (China).

Wugu Taipei (Taiwan).

21-09-2010, 18:47:39

murphy7801
My second one arrives soon

21-09-2010, 19:24:18

AMDFTW
got rid of mine today due to bad temps and it slowly dieng
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.