Gainward Bliss Golden Sample 7950GT 512mb

Conclusion

Page <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 13/11/06
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez)
Product Acquired: Gainward


Conclusion

Had I been reviewing this card a month or so ago I would have been saying: "yes G80 is coming but this is a great card". With G80 upon us and DX10 on the way it's tough to review these older "last gen" cards without those bad boys in the back of your mind (and sitting on the "to do" pile next to you).

However the Gainward 7950 GT Bliss Golden Sample Edition is a great little card and will allow you to play your games at impressive detail levels with minimal noise.

At £233 @ SCAN the card is not cheap at all and the X1950 Pro at £133 represents far better value for money. However, you do need to take into consideration the extra 256mb RAM on the 7950 GT, allowing it to buffer considerably larger amounts of data for smoother gameplay.

The Gainward 7950 GT gets an OC3D "Recommended" Award, mostly for it's great overclock and incredibly quiet running.

oc3d recommended

Pro's

+ Great sexy, quiet cooler
+ Good performance in todays games
+ Nice bench figures
+ Very nice overclock
+ Great Bundle once again from Gainward

Con's

- Expensive
- nVidia's IQ on the GF 7 series is not too great
- G80 is upon us and maybe worth that bit extra cash

Thanks to Gainward for supplying us with a review sample

Discuss in our Forums

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-07-2006, 12:43:39

FarFarAway
We take a look at this silent card and see what we think. Link here

23-07-2006, 12:57:44

Raven
looks good but on page2 in an image it says cooling: fan(one slot)

http://www.overclock3d.net/image.php?id=2099

liked the overclocked chart with the nonoverclocked score, easier to get a good look

23-07-2006, 12:59:09

FarFarAway
Yeah it does doesn't it?

Ah well: it's from Gainwards website

23-07-2006, 13:03:46

NickS
Great review m8. Card is kinda... eh. I was thinkin bout getting one to replace the X800 128MB PCI-E in my spare rig, but after looking at benches my X800 rips it a new one :O.

23-07-2006, 13:09:53

FarFarAway
Well it's a low-end card so it's not going to be the very best..

23-07-2006, 13:17:41

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Ah well: it's from Gainwards website
Gainward should have done better than that, passive cooling sounds much better than one slot fan.

23-07-2006, 14:10:24

FragTek
Great review mate, cheers for that!

24-07-2006, 11:39:25

Hyper
Nice review mate, if I was to build a computer at the minute I would definatly be putting one of those in as they are great value for money and silent

24-07-2006, 12:40:26

limqareb
so you mean that card kills a 7800GS

24-07-2006, 12:41:24

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
so you mean that card kills a 7800GS
ey?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.