Gainward Bliss 8800 Ultra

Game Benchmarks - CoD 2, F.E.A.R. and Oblivion

Call of Duty 2

Call of Duty 2 is a fairly recent game that uses a lot of DirectX 9.0c features, including real time shadows, amazing smoke effects and some nice looking HDR effects. This makes the game very taxing at these high resolutions. I played a fully patched up version of the game. Once again I played through the game with a two minute gaming session including explosions, smoke and also lots of snow.

Let's see how the Ultra-fast 8800 Ultra fared here:

call of duty 2

Call of Duty 2 shows the Ultra pushing ahead followed by the second in line 8800 GTX. Remember though, that the HD 2900 XT is a lower priced card and is being used for comparison only.


F.E.A.R.

F.E.A.R. is a game based on an engine that uses many features of DirectX 9.0c. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects, with a slow-motion mode that really taxes today's top of the line GPU's. I used a fully patched version the game with the latest patch applied. I played three two-minute runs on a taxing part of the game with plenty of action, using slow-motion for the full time whilst firing at enemy soldiers and using grenades that produce a cool "blast" contortion effect when blown up.

F.E.A.R. looks awesome on all of the cards tested so let's see what the scores are:

fear benchmark

Here the results are somewhat strange with the GTX getting higher FPS at minimum. This a bit of an anomoly and did not come across in the gameplay in any of the three runs per card.

Oblivion

Oblivion is an awesome RPG with a simply huge immersive environment, great graphics and incredibly realistic scenery. This game is currently one of the most testing games that you can buy and it is certainly a test of the high-end cards here. I chose to do a run-through of the Arena part of the game. I spoke to a character, did some magic whilst in a fight and fought in the arena that is pretty huge. Also as well as doing this test I took a wander around to make sure that the benchmark resembled the general gameplay with each card. Settings used are below:

oblivion in-game

I enforced 4 x AA onto the game (via drivers) on all cards, leaving HDR on as an option in-game.

oblivion benchmark

The HD 2900 XT stands up very well in the Oblivion benchmark, but the higher priced 8800 Ultra beats the GTX and the 2900 XT hands down here.

Overall gaming was the very best single-card gaming experience with smooth frame rates at Ultra-High resolutions.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-07-2007, 07:08:13

FarFarAway
We take the nVidia's top-end Ultra and give it a thorough "thrashing"

How did it do?

Don't be lazy, read for yourself

18-07-2007, 07:17:22

mVp24
Typo?

The fan on the 8800 Ultra is of a similar ilk page 2, last paragraph.

18-07-2007, 07:20:05

FarFarAway
No that's not a typo

look it up

18-07-2007, 07:20:23

Mr. Smith
Nice write up.

I thought the Ultra's had a tonne of OC headroom... Evidently not.

Not free game with a 400 card? C'mon.

Looking at the OC results, budget or not, get a GTX and OC it - nothing that hasn't been said before. With the money saved get a better CPU or more RAM.

I want a GTX...

Edit: LOL - I think ilk is a very English word

18-07-2007, 07:21:12

FarFarAway
I found the Ultra got better scores than the GTX across the board - mainly due to those stream processors mefinks

18-07-2007, 07:22:43

mVp24
Well sorry Kemp :P

It's almost 4:30 AM here, gonna read it later.

Gnite!

<3

18-07-2007, 07:25:58

Mr. Smith
I was wondering, can you not just get that bios tool nbitor (can't remember), make a copy of the ultra's bios, then flash the GTX with the Ultra's bios and have the stream proccy clocked?

You can do the core/shader clocks/mem yourself.

Just a thought. Surely stream processors are oc'd at bios level...

18-07-2007, 07:33:23

FarFarAway
I dunno mate tbh

It's going back tomorrow and I don't do hard/BIOS mods in reviews for obvious reasons

18-07-2007, 07:48:20

Rastalovich
Great review, throw in a class game and the 402 would be easier to spend.

Other than that, whether the peformance over it`s rival is worth that 70 or so extra is up for debate. Seemed to give a nice increase when clocked tho, so u know there`s an further increase to be had.

If u bought this - would u immediately strip the cooler and apply u`r own thermal goo ? That stuff looks as hap-hazard an application as the trend seems to be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
I was wondering, can you not just get that bios tool nbitor (can't remember), make a copy of the ultra's bios, then flash the GTX with the Ultra's bios and have the stream proccy clocked?

You can do the core/shader clocks/mem yourself.

Just a thought. Surely stream processors are oc'd at bios level...
Keep an eye out tbh, cos some1 somewhere would have looked into it.

18-07-2007, 09:11:43

Mr. Smith
Kempez, can you do me a favour? Make a copy of the Ultra's bios while you have it and email it to me?

Now all I need is a GTX... Or find someone with a GTX thats willing. If I sell my GTS...

Rast - keep your eyes peeled my man! I'm-a startin' googlin' now!

18-07-2007, 09:16:21

FarFarAway
lol I would do but it's in reception being picked up

18-07-2007, 09:21:29

Mr. Smith
Damit. I think it would work. Ultra for the price of GTX

Sorry for the thread jacking.

Back on topic

18-07-2007, 09:46:11

Toxcity
As usual a bloody good review!

But is it really worth the extra dosh? It isn't that much quicker than the GTX.. :eh:

Thanks for the read!

18-07-2007, 10:01:35

FarFarAway
It is noticably smoother in games tbh

18-07-2007, 11:15:27

SuB
i didn't realise the gainward goop was so bad! i'll have to strip my gts and AS5 the core me thinks! (until i get a nice shiny waterblock for it anyway)

kemp what are the chances of getting some of the original sized pics, full resolution ones so we can see a close up for the cards?

perhaps in a zip file at the end of the review as a choice for members or something?

watermarked obviously just full size?

18-07-2007, 11:26:25

Mr. Smith
SuB, not sure how large you are after but if you use Firefox to browse you can install the image zoom tool and zoom right in there, although pixelation occurs if its a low quality image to begin with...

18-07-2007, 11:37:40

FarFarAway
Aye it was resized from a 10MP DSLR to 1024 x 768 then uploaded and resized again.

Umm...I can do mate, though not sure how many people would want that

Failing that tell me what ya wanna look like and I'll upload it and link to it here

18-07-2007, 18:40:36

Allsorts
Those are some amazing fps for 1920 x 1200 with AA&AF. A good read as usual, although with a price tag of 402 I wouldn't have scored it as highly as 7/10 for 'Price'.

18-07-2007, 18:47:42

FarFarAway
Well it's all relative isn't it? OK it's not in the section with the GTS (say 8 or 9), but it's still very fast and 402 is a lot less than it was released for

EDIT: SuB which pic you after?

19-07-2007, 02:18:35

SuB
all really i like to have a nice maaaaassive pic of things everynow and again, just that black plastic thing on the cooler looks a bit.. well.. 'cheap' but i dno

also a decent one of the pcb back and front thats about it really just so its possible to really get a good look at the layout

19-07-2007, 04:21:00

FarFarAway
OK mate give me till tonight and I'll upload the full 5.5mb pics

19-07-2007, 04:44:10

PP Mguire
Hey Kemp a quick question. Why did you turn off the shadows on Oblivion? And can you still not use AA and HDR together with the G80 cards?

19-07-2007, 08:33:14

SuB
sweetness cheers kemp

(i'd also like to know if the 8 series can do HDR + AA i tried farcry in vista but i couldn't get it to work the mouse wasn't detecting properly so i gave up without trying and haven't tried on xp yet lol)

19-07-2007, 08:47:44

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Hey Kemp a quick question. Why did you turn off the shadows on Oblivion? And can you still not use AA and HDR together with the G80 cards?
The shadows don't add anything to the game and some of them actually look appalling (self shadows). I set them to that for one review and want to make sure the rest of the cards get the same treatment

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SuB'
sweetness cheers kemp

(i'd also like to know if the 8 series can do HDR + AA i tried farcry in vista but i couldn't get it to work the mouse wasn't detecting properly so i gave up without trying and haven't tried on xp yet lol)
Ye course they can, that's why I test em at 4 x AA + HDR

19-07-2007, 15:23:14

PP Mguire
Ok, well actualy shadows on the greenery actualy bogs the card down alot more making it more stressful of a bench. Also, if you test them at 4x+HDR then why not in this review?? Just a thought.

19-07-2007, 16:06:48

FarFarAway
I did test them at 4 x + HDR in this review

I am aware that shadows on the greenary affect performance, but I had to do a standard test for all the cards for comparison purposes so I chose no shadows.

19-07-2007, 16:15:59

PP Mguire
According to this

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/articles/2007/07/08184537656l.jpg

AA is turned off. Thats why i asked.

19-07-2007, 16:18:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='"review"'
I enforced 4 x AA onto the game (via drivers) on all cards, leaving HDR on as an option in-game.

19-07-2007, 17:18:09

PP Mguire
Ahaha, totaly missed that. What an idiot of me lol sorry.

19-07-2007, 17:29:29

FarFarAway
lol Sok mate, twas an easy mistake

Oblivion won't let you enforce AA and HDR in-game so I use the drivers to do it

19-07-2007, 17:31:58

PP Mguire
Thats what i do, but thats because i have a 7950 card. I thought the G80 and X1900 cards where supposed to allow AA and HDR at the same time? Or is it just Oblivion being a pain?

19-07-2007, 17:43:17

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Thats what i do, but thats because i have a 7950 card. I thought the G80 and X1900 cards where supposed to allow AA and HDR at the same time? Or is it just Oblivion being a pain?
afaik the 7000 series can't do HDR + AA in Oblivion at all

And for the ATI cards you have to apply it in the drivers too

19-07-2007, 17:49:33

PP Mguire
Ah mk. Thanks alot.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.