Dell 3007WFP 30" TFT Monitor

Monitor Inputs

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 11/02/2006
Author: Matt Krei (Fragtek)
Hardware Acquired: Dell


Monitor Inputs
This is one area that Dell has failed to achieve a good end result with on this monitor.  This monitor only features a single Dual-Link DVI input.  That leaves everyone out to try that used to have all of their other video accessories hooked up to their 2405's, etc.  For some this might be ok, like myself.  I don't have anything but one computer hooked to it, and that's all I had planned for.  If you have a DVD player, your Xbox 360, and 2 computer hooked up to your current monitor this probably isn't going to be a good option for you.

Dell 3007WFP - A view of the input area

Besides the actual video inputs you'll find all of the other standard Dell inclusive features.  You've got one high speed USB 2.0 output on the back of the monitor which connects four USB inputs.  Two of the inputs can be found right next to the output port, and the other two can be found below the built in card reader on the side of the monitor.

Speaking of card reader... This monitor -as does the 2405FPW- features a built in card reader.  The reader on this display is a 9-in-2 device and operates on USB 2.0.  The reader is located on the left hand side of the display, directly in the middle.  I've found that it's pretty easy to insert a memory card without having to look over at it to find the slot (after you've done it one or two times).  The card reader works perfectly and is very fast.  Using it with my 4gb 150x Secure Digital card it transfers photo's at lightning fast speeds.  The reader is a feature that I am glad Dell has integrated in to their displays, mainly because once I switch over to my new rig I will lose the card reader that I have in my current rig, leaving me with nothing in the computer itself.  Dell saves the day once again!

Dell 3007WFP - A look at the integrated media card reader

Now lets take a look at how the display panel performs, I think you'll be surprised...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-09-2006, 15:07:42

Peter.K
I read the review of the 30" Dell here on this site with great interest, because I am seriously considering buying one of these behemoths for Photoshop, spreadsheets, and video editing. What interested me was the remark about how even the backlighting is, and how much better the 30" monitor is than the 24" Dell.

Now this is in stark contrast to the condemnation on the Hexus.net site of the uneveness of the backlighting (on two examples) and how this aspect compares unfavourably with the Dell 24" 2405FPW monitor.

Now I am in a quandary. The conclusions of the two reviews cancel eachother out, and there is no concensus.

I understand the Hexus.net review samples were based on LG flat panels, but the Samsung panel, also used by Dell, is the better option. Perhaps the review sample here was a Samsung panel.

I wonder if anybody has tried a Dell 30" TFT monitor and can enlighten me with their experience.

Peter King

27-09-2006, 15:13:01

Dav0s
i believe FragTek can help you on this, and also twisted5, who bought the same monitor from frag.

If neither of them see this thread soon, bump it up and ill PM them

and Welcome to OC3D

27-09-2006, 15:31:47

FarFarAway
Hey mate

I believe Frag and twisted will know as Dave said.

I'm pretty sure our version was the samsung panel though

27-09-2006, 15:44:15

FragTek
Yes the model that I had (and that twisted now has) rocks the Samsung panel, which is like an orgasmic explosion of colors and crispness. Nothing can compete, muahahaha!

I had absolutely no backlight bleeding issues. More than likely what Hexus was talking about was the fact it only appears to have uneven backlighting if you sit to close to the set. I at first experienced this and was a bit distrought until I pushed the set back about a foot and everything was then perfectly even. It's hard to sit too close to a monitor that big as the backlighting will look a bit uneven due to the extreme viewing angles.

Hands down the 30" Dell is PURE PWNAGE!!!

27-09-2006, 16:02:26

Peter.K
Thanks to all for quick responses. From what I understand, Dell will use either LG or Samsung panels indiscriminately. Probably according to which offers the best deal at any one time. Dell sales rep. (in India!) told me that they cannot (or will not) pick out a Samsung panel at request. They do claim to have stringent quality control, so there is nothing to choose between LG or Samsung based units. This might be true, but I understand that the Samsung S PVA panels are superior. Trouble is they do not seem to be available in the UK under their own brand, and we have no choice other than Apple (much more expensive) or Dell in this size.

There is one way to try without risk: if the Dell proves to be duff on arrival, then there is the option offered by Dell of a full refund within 7 days, for any reason. This seems a pretty fair deal to me.

Peter King

27-09-2006, 16:15:15

FragTek
I would imagine that either one you get will please you tbh, just pick one up and see for yourself

I'd love to pick up a 30" Apple Cinema Display for my MBP but damn are they spensive.

27-09-2006, 16:17:14

FarFarAway
Always remember that if you're not satisfied Dell do a next business day swapout for another one

27-09-2006, 16:18:31

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Always remember that if you're not satisfied Dell do a next business day swapout for another one
In the UK yes, u lucky buggers

27-09-2006, 16:21:17

twisted5
I had the same experience Frag did with being too close to the monitor at first. I actually sit about 4-5 feet away and it is great! I hate having to go to work and use the small 15" monitors or even my roomates Dell 24". We had them sitting right next to each other a few days ago playing the same games on almost the exact same system and you could tell the difference in quality. The 3007wfp was by far the superior monitor imo.

27-09-2006, 16:25:37

FragTek
When u fork out $2k for a monitor, that's the kind of quality that you would exect and the Dell delivers on par for the price if you ask me. Twaz worth every cent.

27-09-2006, 16:32:13

twisted5
Definetly was worth every .01!

27-09-2006, 18:45:30

Peter.K
I am pretty well convinced. I wonder if you guys who have used the 3007 WFP can help me with one more point. The 2560 x 1600 display format is wider than the standard 1280 x1024 that I use, and I wondering how the extra width can be usefully used. I want to open up several documents together, say spreadsheets, or to spread out in Photoshop, with pallettes shifted off the image area. I know this is possible with two monitors, which is the alternative option, but is there a way to fill the 2560 x 1600 real estate on the single monitor, using the full width?

Peter King

27-09-2006, 18:52:03

twisted5
Oh yeah there is. I sometimes have two or even 4 websites open at once spread out on the screen so I can do different things at once. It is really nice and spacious like that If you want tomorrow when I get home from work I can take some pics with different windows open etc just so you can see the amount of space it has. Who knows, Frag may already have some laying around like that.

27-09-2006, 19:04:16

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='twisted5'
Oh yeah there is. I sometimes have two or even 4 websites open at once spread out on the screen so I can do different things at once. It is really nice and spacious like that If you want tomorrow when I get home from work I can take some pics with different windows open etc just so you can see the amount of space it has. Who knows, Frag may already have some laying around like that.
There should be some pix like that in my review that I did...

Edit: here's a pic from the review with 4 FF browsers open

http://www.overclock3d.net/image.php?id=143

27-09-2006, 19:09:51

twisted5
^^That's my baby! God I love that monitor

27-09-2006, 19:10:17

Ty07allstar
How do you get that many websites at a time? Is it a program or the monitor? I have a 19" widescreen would it work?

27-09-2006, 19:12:11

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ty07allstar'
How do you get that many websites at a time? Is it a program or the monitor? I have a 19" widescreen would it work?
wtf r u talking about *slap!*

27-09-2006, 19:13:28

Ty07allstar
How do you get 4 websites on the same screen?

27-09-2006, 20:09:28

Ares210
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ty07allstar'
How do you get 4 websites on the same screen?
Are you kidding me? You minimize them and spread them out

27-09-2006, 22:03:42

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ty07allstar'
How do you get 4 websites on the same screen?
That is the funniest thing I've read all night. Thank you.

27-09-2006, 22:23:44

Raging
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
That is the funniest thing I've read all night. Thank you.
me too,thanks for the giggles man

and man that monitor is a frakin beast!!

i guess i will just haveto make do with my 20" widescreen hehe

and yep its great to do multiple things at once on a big monitor

i cant fit as much on as the 3007wfp but its no trouble watching tv and surfing at the same time.

ime sure you will be more than happy what monitor you go for

cheers.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.