Dell 2405FPW 24" TFT

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The Dell 2405FPW is undoubtedly an excellent monitor. It is rich in features, picture quality and has the build quality I have come to expect from a Dell TFT. The amount and quality of both desktop and gaming space are hard to match, with only Dell's 30" TFT and Apple's 23" and 30" Cinema Displays topping the 2405.

The OSD is clearly laid out and intuitive and PiP is an excellent feature that I have now found to be essential.

Another fact that has to be stated is that the TFT can output at 720p and 1080p - so it is futureproof for whatever you want to throw at it. The only input missing is HDMI, though hopefully the VGA, Component or DVI will be ok for High Def in the future. The XBox 360 looks simply stunning in HD and I am expecting that the PS3 will also look amazing. High Def video playback is another thing I have experimented with and I have to say that the monitor does not slouch on this either.

Prices 08/01/2006:

£681.44 from Overclockers UK
£680.91 from TekHeads
£559.00 (no postage listed) from Ebay
£680.33 from Aria
£801.53 from Dell UK

This also comes with a 3year Next business day exchange warranty from Dell, wherever you buy it from

The pricing is what you would expect for a display that is this big and smacks of quality. But for those on a bit more of a budget I would say that this is almost certainly out of your range. Especially since you need to pack some serious graphical punch to output at 1920 x 1200.

I really can't fault this display and I have certainly put its through its paces. Its an outstanding product for those who want a professional looking display with a massive resolution and the space-saving properties of a TFT.
The Dell 2405FPW wins "Best in Class Award" at time of going to press.

Best In Class Award Recommended Award

Pro's


+ Excellent Picture, sharpness and response time+ Great amount of Dektop Space and flexibility
+ Excellent build quality and professional presentation
+ PiP is an amazing feature+ HD Movie Playback quality is awesome+ Scaling is awesome

Con's

- Expensive
- Powerful Graphical hardware needed to play games on - Update 19/01/2007 - 8800 family should handle gaming easily @ 1920 x 1200.

Discuss the Review in our Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-12-2005, 22:08:51

Tec
Hi there guys , just recently purchased my new system which details are in my signature and while reading all the o/c info on these forums i just jumped into o/c my system without burning cpu and memory ( 100% load and not heat wise ).

System is running 9 * 300 2700mhz

Mem is running 5/4 Divider 246mhz 2-2-2-5 Settings.

Any other settings it wont boot or i get lost in all the options etc.

So shall i carry on with the o/c or continue stressing c.p.u and memory ( burn in ), what do you guys think ?

20-12-2005, 22:50:19

FragTek
Burn-in and stability test....

Run OCCT or a small fft prime95 torture test for 12 hours... Then run a large fft torture test. Do a few 32mb super pi's and you should be good to go if you can do all of the afformentioned tests w/o errors.

If you pass all of those then bump up your volts and your OC! Obviously make sure to keep your temps within optimal operating zones.

Whats the TCaseMax on that chip of yours? (If it supports it).

21-12-2005, 19:47:18

Tec
Tagan PSU gone busted , waiting for replacement coming tomorrow , i ll run those test and report back , thanks for the reply Fragtek

21-12-2005, 20:27:16

FarFarAway
Cool I'll look forward to it

23-12-2005, 17:46:34

Tec
Buggers , still waiting for replacement and looks like its gonna come after christmas holidays , 3rd of Jan. Oh well , i ll post the results when i fix the psu.

09-01-2006, 01:24:01

Tec
Ok Just a little update on whats happening. P.S.U arrived today so reinstalled the system.

TCaseMax for the chip is 55C

TDP is 38.2 Watts

I ll report back when the test finishes

09-01-2006, 03:13:16

FarFarAway
Cool cool

Screenie and stuff should be forthcoming!

And add a pic of your rig to the gallery!

09-01-2006, 06:31:31

FragTek
That's a decent TCase number, I'd reckon that'd be good for about 2.7ish.

Mine surprised the shit out of me, my TCase is only 49* but it overclocks like a raped ape with the IHS popped off.

Try bumping up your multiplier one notch, that RAM is going to thrive more on higher multipliers where you're able to keep the fsb down.

09-01-2006, 08:09:29

Tec
Well c.p.u is on 2750mhz 1.5v 2000ht

Mem 1:1 250mhz 2-2-2-5 1t memtests 100% , test passed 5 times

prime95 basic fff passed fine so i run torture test and now i am at work.

Before running torture tests etc i run Sisoft Sandra Mem benchmark and got 7209 so it looks v.good so far . Temperatures seems to be around 33 idle and 44+- load. If the tests are passed i ll upping the fsb see if it goes higher.

I ll post the screenshots tonight hopefully

09-01-2006, 08:14:45

FarFarAway
Nice mate thats some good work.

Like the thoroughness in testing to get it stable - all the good OC'ers do it but not everyone does

I'll look forward to the pics!

09-01-2006, 16:19:41

Tec
Alright , does any1 has any spare voltage that i can borrow

2750mhz 1:1 250mhz 2-2-2-5-1T stable on Prime95 small fft , large fft , SuperPI 16mb and memtest.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.6779749/2750.75.png

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.1000482/superpi16mbdone2750_250_22251T.jpg

This was more of a c.p.u clock rather then mem clock. Sisoft Sandra scores 6699 odly as previous run scored 7209 , just couldnt find what i' ve changed while testing, weird.

2855mhz 1:1 259mhz 2-2-2-5-1T - Stable on Sisoft Mem Bench, scored 6948mb/s , stable on windows / does normal programs etc - Passes Prime95 Benchmark - Fails Prime95 small fft havent run SuperPI.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.6562769/2855.47.png

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.1000482/2855_2-2-2-5-1T_6948.jpg

Max boot into windows at 2922mhz 1.67v 1:1 265 2-2-2-5-1T - Ok in usual basic windows stuff - anything else ( Sisoft and any other benchs ) bsod.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.6779749/2922.13.png

This was just a quick overview and its very time consuming. I ll go more in depth settings and tests in a few days. Probably lighten the timings and try to increase htt rather then multiplier. So far so good
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.