Dell 2405FPW 24" TFT

Specification

Specification

Taken from the Dell website:
"The Dell™ UltraSharp™ 2405FPW 24-inch Flat Panel LCD Monitor is a wide aspect desktop display that redefines the performance of LCD displays with a stylish new design and advanced functionality.Watch DVDs in natural format and run multiple applications simultaneously. The 2405FPW wide aspect LCD also provides 12 ms response time to enable crisp clear images when using the display for fast motion video such as gaming or video editing. With 4 USB 2.0 ports, 2 located on the side, the 2405FPW gives users convenient access points to plug in devices such as keyboards, digital cameras, secondary hard drives and printers. Integrated 9-in-1 flash card reader allows easy access to download photos or files. It also supports advanced features such as PIP (picture in picture) and PBP (picture by picture). With 3.93 inches (100 mm) of height adjustment virtually every user can adjust the display to their exact comfort level and help reduce eye and neck strain. This Flat Panel LCD Monitor comes with a 3-Year Warranty."

Dimensions:
Diagonal Size: 24"
Viewable Size: 24"
(WxDxH): 22" x 9" x 22" to 25"
Weight: 22.1 lbs

Features:
100 mm VESA Mounting, Height Adjustable Stand Included, Detachable Panel mechanism
Image Max H-View Angle: ±89°
Image Max V-View Angle: ±89°
9-in1 Card Reader
16.7 Million Colours
Dot Pitch: 0.270 mm
Enclosure Color: Midnight Gray
Image Aspect Ratio: 16:10
Image Brightness: 500 cd/m²(typical)
Image Contrast Ratio: 1000:1 (typical)
Max Resolution: 1920x1200 (WUXGA)
Max Sync Rate (V x H): 76 Hz x 81 kHz
Warranty: 3-Year


This monitor also has a built in 9-in-1 card reader and a 2 port USB hub with cable included.

I have also got hold of the Dell Soundbar for this monitor, but will not include this in the review as most people will undoubtedly use an external speaker system.

Test Setup
CPU AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard DFI LANPARTY SLi-D
RAM 2 x 1gb Crucial Ballistix PC4000 1:1 3-3-3-8
Graphics XFX 7800GTX 512mb 630/1830
HDD OS: Maxtor 76gb 8mb Cache IDE
HDD Gaming: 2 x Hitachi Deskstars in 74gb RAID 0 Array
Case Coolermaster Stacker on wheels
PSU PCP&C 510 SLi
Sound Audigy ZS
Optical Sony DVD-ROM/CD-RW Combo Drive

I am using Windows XP Pro with SP2 including the latest driver for the Dell 2405FPW and Nvidia Nforce Drivers 81.98.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-12-2005, 22:08:51

Tec
Hi there guys , just recently purchased my new system which details are in my signature and while reading all the o/c info on these forums i just jumped into o/c my system without burning cpu and memory ( 100% load and not heat wise ).

System is running 9 * 300 2700mhz

Mem is running 5/4 Divider 246mhz 2-2-2-5 Settings.

Any other settings it wont boot or i get lost in all the options etc.

So shall i carry on with the o/c or continue stressing c.p.u and memory ( burn in ), what do you guys think ?

20-12-2005, 22:50:19

FragTek
Burn-in and stability test....

Run OCCT or a small fft prime95 torture test for 12 hours... Then run a large fft torture test. Do a few 32mb super pi's and you should be good to go if you can do all of the afformentioned tests w/o errors.

If you pass all of those then bump up your volts and your OC! Obviously make sure to keep your temps within optimal operating zones.

Whats the TCaseMax on that chip of yours? (If it supports it).

21-12-2005, 19:47:18

Tec
Tagan PSU gone busted , waiting for replacement coming tomorrow , i ll run those test and report back , thanks for the reply Fragtek

21-12-2005, 20:27:16

FarFarAway
Cool I'll look forward to it

23-12-2005, 17:46:34

Tec
Buggers , still waiting for replacement and looks like its gonna come after christmas holidays , 3rd of Jan. Oh well , i ll post the results when i fix the psu.

09-01-2006, 01:24:01

Tec
Ok Just a little update on whats happening. P.S.U arrived today so reinstalled the system.

TCaseMax for the chip is 55C

TDP is 38.2 Watts

I ll report back when the test finishes

09-01-2006, 03:13:16

FarFarAway
Cool cool

Screenie and stuff should be forthcoming!

And add a pic of your rig to the gallery!

09-01-2006, 06:31:31

FragTek
That's a decent TCase number, I'd reckon that'd be good for about 2.7ish.

Mine surprised the shit out of me, my TCase is only 49* but it overclocks like a raped ape with the IHS popped off.

Try bumping up your multiplier one notch, that RAM is going to thrive more on higher multipliers where you're able to keep the fsb down.

09-01-2006, 08:09:29

Tec
Well c.p.u is on 2750mhz 1.5v 2000ht

Mem 1:1 250mhz 2-2-2-5 1t memtests 100% , test passed 5 times

prime95 basic fff passed fine so i run torture test and now i am at work.

Before running torture tests etc i run Sisoft Sandra Mem benchmark and got 7209 so it looks v.good so far . Temperatures seems to be around 33 idle and 44+- load. If the tests are passed i ll upping the fsb see if it goes higher.

I ll post the screenshots tonight hopefully

09-01-2006, 08:14:45

FarFarAway
Nice mate thats some good work.

Like the thoroughness in testing to get it stable - all the good OC'ers do it but not everyone does

I'll look forward to the pics!

09-01-2006, 16:19:41

Tec
Alright , does any1 has any spare voltage that i can borrow

2750mhz 1:1 250mhz 2-2-2-5-1T stable on Prime95 small fft , large fft , SuperPI 16mb and memtest.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.6779749/2750.75.png

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.1000482/superpi16mbdone2750_250_22251T.jpg

This was more of a c.p.u clock rather then mem clock. Sisoft Sandra scores 6699 odly as previous run scored 7209 , just couldnt find what i' ve changed while testing, weird.

2855mhz 1:1 259mhz 2-2-2-5-1T - Stable on Sisoft Mem Bench, scored 6948mb/s , stable on windows / does normal programs etc - Passes Prime95 Benchmark - Fails Prime95 small fft havent run SuperPI.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.6562769/2855.47.png

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.1000482/2855_2-2-2-5-1T_6948.jpg

Max boot into windows at 2922mhz 1.67v 1:1 265 2-2-2-5-1T - Ok in usual basic windows stuff - anything else ( Sisoft and any other benchs ) bsod.

http://upload.sysxtreme.com/0.X/0.6779749/2922.13.png

This was just a quick overview and its very time consuming. I ll go more in depth settings and tests in a few days. Probably lighten the timings and try to increase htt rather then multiplier. So far so good
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.