Club 3D 7950 Royal King Review

Conclusion

Club 3D HD7950 Royal King Review

Conclusion

We have a fairly strict rule here at OC3D. Whilst we are Overclock 3D, and as a bunch of enthusiasts we adore the fun of overclocking, we always try and score our reviews as if you just got it out the box and plugged it in. Although overclocking is now so easy that everyone should be able to do it, we're always aware that many people either haven't the bravery to try it, or are so fearful of breaking their hard earned purchase that they stick with how it comes out of the box. After all, if everyone overclocked then manufacturers would never sell those factory overclocked models that come with a big price premium.

With the Club3D HD7950 Royal King we're going to make an exception though. To run this card at stock is like buying a Ferrari 458 and using it to go to the shops for some milk. The stock results are, let's not beat about the bush, pretty poor. If you just plug this in and go, you'll be wondering what all the fuss was about.

It's a very Jekyll and Hyde card. At stock it's the mild-mannered, mild performing Dr Jekyll. No, this is a card built to be overclocked. It's made to be tinkered with. It's all about being Mr Hyde. Or, if you prefer your analogies a little more pop culture, then to watch the Hulk just to see Bruce Banner is missing the point entirely.

The overclocked performance, and let there be no doubt about this whatsoever, is staggering. Stunning. Brilliant. Our thesaurus runs dry. In every test the overclocked performance took the Club3D HD7950 Royal King from the ordinary to the extraordinary.

We regularly saw average frame-rates double that of the stock card. No matter how simple or complex the game, the Royal King chewed it up and begged for more. It's a wolf in sheep's clothing. Up there with the best single-GPU cards you care to name. We don't care if you bring a Matrix HD7970 along. We don't care if you have a Super Over Clock GTX680. The Club3D HD7950 Royal King when overclocked will stand proud against the lot of them.



The only thing that lets it down is the decision to use a red PCB, which does limit it if you're OCD about the colours you'll allow into your rig. Although you'd be missing out on one of the GPU bargains of 2012 if you did so.

So we're not going to give it a score based upon stock performance. It would be like rating the quality of a cake by eating the flour. If you're the kind of person who abhors the thought of overclocking, move along. But, and there is no reason why you shouldn't, if you're willing to grab your overclocking program of choice and give it the beans then there are few cards on the market who will out-perform it.

Purely for the insane overclocked performance we have to give the Club3D HD7950 Royal King our Gold Award. You owe it to yourself to see the true value of overclocking your hardware, and nothing will give the same benefits as this card.

     
 

Thanks to Club3D for supplying the HD7950 Royal King for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-11-2012, 10:28:49

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112913230l.JPG

After the brilliant Royal Queen HD7850, we take a look at the Royal King HD7950. Is it as amazing?

Continue Reading

20-11-2012, 10:50:21

Techie103
Nice review Tom! Really enjoyed the video

20-11-2012, 11:00:24

dugdiamond
yay

20-11-2012, 11:30:17

Deejeta
wished my card would clock that high...

20-11-2012, 12:27:29

Computer crazy
Great review, looks an amazing card, however as you said in the video the red PCB is the deal breaker. But otherwise is a great card to look out for.

Would like to see how the 7970 performs.

20-11-2012, 13:18:29

JMMP
As always a fantastic review Tom! Nothing more to point at this card....that red PCB at this days..... Maybe they Could Also start doing green,blue and brown pcbs for each model, so everyone can be happy with the best color scheme possible on the rig! You said everything!! A very well deserved gold award!

20-11-2012, 13:29:23

dalewakelin
It would match my socket 775 motherboard but it does look like something i may consider in the future, great review!

20-11-2012, 14:22:37

airdeano
deffo an eye-opening review..

airdeano

20-11-2012, 15:28:26

loonie
nice revieuw Tom, wot should give 2 of these cards in xfire... Got 2 old 5870 from club 3d, also running at pretty high speeds... I love club3d!

20-11-2012, 15:30:01

SuB
un-be-flipping-leavable performance from that overclock.. amazing

21-11-2012, 05:06:38

DutchMojo
I have been reading that the latest drivers have been a significant upgrade, could this have given an altered picture of the match up with the 680?
Both AMD and Nvidea's recent driver updates have shown big improvements in performance.

That does not diminish the results, this thing overclocks like mad.
If this is not just a winner of the silicon lottery, this card is on my shortlist for my next upgrade.

21-11-2012, 06:06:07

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchMojo View Post
I have been reading that the latest drivers have been a significant upgrade, could this have given an altered picture of the match up with the 680?
Both AMD and Nvidea's recent driver updates have shown big improvements in performance.

That does not diminish the results, this thing overclocks like mad.
If this is not just a winner of the silicon lottery, this card is on my shortlist for my next upgrade.
Tom said in the video that he tried earlier drivers to make sure it wasn't just the new drivers giving it higher scores, although they did but not by much.

Most 7950s are capable of hitting 1200 though, but this one does seem like a good option, apart from the red PCB

21-11-2012, 06:21:16

Master&Puppet
Yea both my 7950s clock roughly 1 for 1 too (1160 @ 1.2v) so that's not a big deal although TTL's sample looks like a good clocker but there are still some weird results going on...

This is a reference pcb isn't it? I don't understand how it could produce such powerful results?

21-11-2012, 06:48:03

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
Yea both my 7950s clock roughly 1 for 1 too (1160 @ 1.2v) so that's not a big deal although TTL's sample looks like a good clocker but there are still some weird results going on...

This is a reference pcb isn't it? I don't understand how it could produce such powerful results?

Ive said before the ref pcb is more than capable of maxing cores out on air. Most of the mega dandy super dooper overclocking cards are adding things on that are not really needed for 99% of users that will use them on air or water.

This card proves that with a good core on the card the ref design is epic. AMD really did do a cracking job straight out the box on these.

21-11-2012, 11:05:20

Master&Puppet
Good good, thought I might have missed a change with the re-release of the range with the boost clocks or something similar. The 7950 was epic when it came out and still is

21-11-2012, 14:18:59

Skoubo
Nice performance But i would love to se the 7970 ace version's review. If you can get that tom

27-11-2012, 10:15:57

flv1333
I Just needed to sign up to this site and thank you for the great review. This review just made me buy one XD

When its time to upgrade your reviews have always helped thanks!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now on another note... When I get this card I will OC straight away. Whats the max voltage/Temps you can put though these cards? I never before did an overclock on a GPU.

27-11-2012, 11:06:45

JMMP
Quote:
Originally Posted by flv1333 View Post
I Just needed to sign up to this site and thank you for the great review. This review just made me buy one XD

When its time to upgrade your reviews have always helped thanks!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now on another note... When I get this card I will OC straight away. Whats the max voltage/Temps you can put though these cards? I never before did an overclock on a GPU.
Nice!!!
Welcome and enjoy the stay!

10-12-2012, 23:38:05

Fresh
Makes me kinda sad I bought a GTX 670... Looks like a great card though!

11-12-2012, 09:47:39

DeadShaun
This one looks like it's going to be my next card, thanks for the great review Tom!

20-12-2012, 07:30:41

erenhardt
Aside from performance of this beast...
Idle power consumption: 15Watt?
My 8800 GTS 320MB has 50watt when iddle.

25-12-2012, 15:12:52

shannowdr
Thanks Tom,

Was trying to make my mind up on a Vapour-x / PowerColor PCS+ and ended up with the Royal King.

27-12-2012, 13:14:00

Hunk41
This or the XFX 7950 DD?

27-12-2012, 15:30:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunk41 View Post
This or the XFX 7950 DD?


Why not look at our XFX 7950 review.......

27-12-2012, 18:44:43

Hunk41
I wasn't thinking when i posted it...
I will be going with the Royal King since it overclocks like a beast (i hope mine will) and the red pcb looks good to me

28-12-2012, 04:09:53

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunk41 View Post
I wasn't thinking when i posted it...
I will be going with the Royal King since it overclocks like a beast (i hope mine will) and the red pcb looks good to me
I'd have another think before you buy this. Tom won the silicon lottery with his card - chances are you won't. I would recommend that you look around for a different card with a better cooler. Many owners on the forums here aren't keen on this card at all because it is loud.

If you do buy it then I'd suggest that you don't get too excited about the overclocking potential (this is not guaranteed on any card) and you'll probably want to consider playing with the fan profile in MSI AB.

13-06-2013, 18:54:28

Murvelgaist
Running 2 of these in CrossFire and overclock them using MSI Afterburner (ULPS disabled).
1150 MHz core and 1575 MHz memory. Never above 70 degrees.

In benchmarks this setup with a MSI Z77A-G45 and a i7 3770k(lightly oc to 4,2 GHz) result in performance on par with and in some cases even BETTER then a GTX 690. And at half the cost...

22-08-2013, 17:55:31

caspar leo
Mine only clocks to 1125 not very quite either, then again my MB and cpu are nothing special, anywayz am still happy I went with one of the smaller brands just to help the variety. May be 250 shipped was too much as well but hey its not that bad,
I am playing @1440 on the asus PB278Q and was hoping to save cash using the oc head room, crysis still plays on hight around 45 fps and smooth.
Will have to wait till next year to replace this card.
My silicon turned out to be pretty run of the mill in a good way thou but still wish i could take her past 1150 at least.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.